Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Round II I

by Gaga - Compo Entry

Warning! 360 Controller required.
(Maybe other controller work, no idea).

Short. Stylized.
Physics playground.

Controls:
Select/Esc - Quit
Start - Play/Replay
Left/Right Stick - Left/Right target
Left/Right Trigger - Left/Right punch

Have fun <3

WEB FILES:
For some reason, I can't get them to work when hostet.
But they should work on any platform.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#145Humor3.29
#304Fun3.37
#340Graphics3.42
#472Mood3.00
#601Innovation3.07
#690Theme3.50
#744Overall3.02

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00am

Looks cool but A. I'm on mac, and B. no 360 controller.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:42am

Would of loved to of player it, looks very interesting, but I don't have a controller.

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45am

I had a controller with me for my game, and I'm super gald to have played this a little.

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50am

Had to dig through my drawers to find my 360 controller for this.

I absolutely love the twin stick punch system, reminds me of that boxing game on Wii fit. It would be much better with sound and some element of challenge to it though.

thristhart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59am

Fun little toy! I had a good laugh when I realized the mechanic and it was very cathartic to play around with. If you have a controller and a windows computer available, it's worth the download and a bit of your time.

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32am

Quite fun. Good stress relief after crunching to get my game done all weekend, so thanks for that. My one complaint is sometimes my punches didn't quite feel like they were going where I was aiming them, so I found it hard to do strange things like knock the lamp over. I would suggest maybe using a raycast to predict where the punch will land and drawing a cursor there, instead of just drawing it on the screen. Overall, a seriously good stress relief physics toy. Fortunately I still had my 360 pad out from testing my game :P

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47am

Haha! Nice work. And nice graphics considering you just used primitives and plane colors!

skyboy49707 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47am

Looks like a fun game but I don't have a controller :(

hazzahazzam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50am

Glad I plugged in my controller. I love games where you just smash stuff, next time make it a zip and not a rar, just easier that way. Also everyone needs to have a 360 controller, there so cool!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17am

unable to dl.....

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:19am

nvm.... looks like dropbox just died entirely. go LD!

Gaga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32am

Thanks for all the good feedback

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:37am

Heh, luckily I had mah 360 controller layin' round. This was fun. give me a punching physics things around sandbox and watch my day go bye bye. Nice job!

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Nice tech demo.

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Hilarious:). I had xbox360 and that was fun. Probably vibration feedback would improve the overall feeling :)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:14am

Nice! I have a feeling that you was not entirely happy with the jam theme, but work your way out :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15am

I do have a 360 controller, and I won by pulling the TV in and hugging it.
10/10 I genuinely love this

Gaga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:17am

Rumble ofc, great idea.
Probably wouldn't have taken too long to make.
Wish I thought of that :D

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:18am

Very funny game. I enjoyed punching everything around. A pity there was not much things to destroy, but at least restarting was easy.

Headmade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20am

I like the physics and art style.
But I didn't hear any sounds which is a shame because that would have added a lot.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

the simulation and joint are done well...

eerongal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:32am

Luckily i have a 360 controller to play it, but that probably wasnt the best choice considering how the comments are looking. Neat little game, though! Good work!

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

Really cool use of the theme. I liked the graphics. Wish there were other ways besides a controller to play it though.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Loved it

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:02am

Nice start

Sanguine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:09am

Really felt like a playground, which was cool :) I would like some more variation (maybe more interesting physics objects to play with), but I had fun while it lasted.

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:58am

It's a very cool toy. Do you have any ideas on how to bring some more gameplay / challenges into it?

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:00am

Table flip to victory! (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻)

MrMordem says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:01am

Maybe a good game, but i don't have a 360 controllers :'(

Meral says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:48am

With sound and more levels I would definitely pay for this. I love physics destruction games and sandboxes. The field you can put your arms around feels a little too restricted. I would have liked to be able to flail them around on the whole viewable screen. Precision shouldn't be an issue with a XBox 360 controller.

This is fantastic. Smashing the lamp around with the dynamic lighting is gold for me.

Meral says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:51am

Oh, two things I forgot. First: The download from DropBox took ages for me, despite it being only a 8MB Archive. Second: Very well use of physics primitives! I assume that's why the performance is so solid too.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I don't have a controller :(

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:03pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]