Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Maybe Fish'n?

by biscuitdough - Compo Entry

Honestly, I don't know what happened.

Restarted on Saturday morning, ended up with, uhh... this.

Controls: arrow keys.




Hint: if you get stuck at first, go hang out around the fish. Their hitbox is a little strange.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#325Humor2.85
#408Innovation3.32
#444Theme3.68
#586Mood2.90
#731Audio2.38
#841Graphics2.65
#906Fun2.68
#967Overall2.77
#1818Coolness36%

Comments

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Nice and relaxing although a bit confusing. Especially when I had to collect the guts of the fish? O_o

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:58am

The game is a bit weird to me but I still find the concept interesting. You are playing three games together - probably I suck and there might be four - and all of them receive the same set of command. I have to say I have no idea how to play the "get part of fish" and "snake" game at the same time while operating the boat. I just leave the boat there.

And I have no idea how I win or fail the game...

elvaq says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:20am

Nice opening scene. Pretty weird and cool. Sound really helps set the mood but the snake game kind of breaks it

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:14am

Downloaded and extracted, but the game refuses to launch for me... :(

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:16am

sorry, it may have some issues with integrated or old gfx cards :(, think I accidentally used some gl 3.0 features.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:39am

I actually really enjoyed this. The boat part I wasn't sure what to do, I think the point of the game is to win each game and move on to the next. Catch a fish then get the phone, then get snake big enough and then the DDR part and finally a pong style game? Good concept, could use a little more direction. Let us know whats going on maybe, though figuring it out was half the fun for me.

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:00am

Hahaha not bad, not bad at all :<

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:02am

Nice, i like water visual.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:06am

Welll, this is a weird game, not sure I get it either... But the water shading is amazing !

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:07am

Ha ha, man, you sick! :o)) I beat the game and full of emotion. Thank you!

p.s. green snake on green background. Seriously? My eyes bleeding.

rvmook says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13am

Weird game, got me hooked for 15 minutes though! Controls were a little off at times especially for the rythm type game. Not sure if there was anything after that one, but couldn't get past it. Sounds of the snake game were a bit to harsh and got annoying while trying to win the rythm one.

Shampop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:55am

Cool idea ! I like the superposition of all the stuff. It make something chaotic, but fun ! But i think i had a bug at the 5th stage, with the fish wall. I can't have any impact with the ball hiting the wall, i don't control anything, and can't destroy it. But it is still pretty great !

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:19pm

MSVCP110.dll is missing, sadly couldn't run the game.

Meral says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:34am

@BabaJaga: I got the same thing here.
@biscuitdough: Which version of vsredist do we need?

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Chaotic, but in a way. Playing breakout like 'uh, uh, uh' :) .

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Interesting and weird, but tbh I had no idea how to do snake and dancing at the same time? o_o perhaps thats just me? beautiful water, especially the shape of its horizon or w/e

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]