Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Galactic Core 2-D

by daftcube - Compo Entry

Digital Daftopotamian brings to you, Galactic Core 2-D! Galactic-Core 2d is a simple 2-d multiplayer space combat game. Made in 9 hours, this simplistic space shooter can support up to 16 players and has 3 different ships. And all of this happens on only one screen. May the best captains emerge victorious!

-Made using Unity and Photon Unity Networking

--UPDATE: Web Version is now fixed. Thanks for pointing out my error.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#424Fun3.22
#563Graphics3.09
#630Audio2.58
#631Overall3.13
#874Theme3.34

Comments

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

Web version doesn't open, tries to download the webpage instead.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

If you are using dropbox, just put the two files that Unity makes in your public folder. Right click on the html doc and "copy public link". Thats what you need to share on your entry page :)

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55am

Fix the download

Carl Graves says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

Can be difficult to find any other players to play with. Some bots would have been convenient.

DevWouter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

OS/X version works for me, but the problem with multiplayer is that you need to have multiple players. Tried a few games but the firing looks strange due to it firing on a single spot instead of a line along that spot...

stevehb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

OS X version doesn't seem to work, just spikes the CPU, and web version just download the html file

Jaloko says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

Played this game multiplayer with a friend. Was a really fun experience. One of the best games I've played so far.

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

Was able to open the OS/X version (web version was just a downloadable html file)

Flew around for a little bit, and the controls seemed nice - although wasn't really able to test out flying without another person to play with.

daftcube says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

The web download should be fixed. Thank you everyone for the support!

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:49am

Excellent 2D multiplayer game, just a couple of optimization issues, with the lag of the other player's ship movement, also when you collide with an enemy ship nothing happens? Oh well great effort, thoroughly awesome effort :)

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:17pm

I wasn't able to play multiplayer because there wasn't anyone online, but it looks promising.

thristhart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Played this with my friend for a couple rounds. Seems like it could be interesting to see with a full 16 players! Fighters are way too slow to be useful, though. Hit feedback would have been very appreciated, because it's hard to tell at the moment whether you actually hit at all.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:02am

Looks really cool, id like to play with some people.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01am

I like how it looks, game with full teams would be fantastic!

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:58am

Wanna play with other players.

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Very awesome game! 5 stars straight across! I love space based games haha and this one even though simple, is absolutely amazing.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:36pm

nice job guys

daftcube says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Thanks everyone! This is my first submission and I worked really hard.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:19pm

The online works! So cool! Networked Ludum Dare games are always a treat :D

Also, I'm a OS X user (10.9.5), and it worked for me

daftcube says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:20pm

We player with _8_ people! It was AWESOME!

Mixer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:05am

Sweet game! Played against myself :D Really cool!

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:16am

Bots would have been a big plus for this since I couldn't find anyone to play with. I liked the old school feel. overall good job.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]