Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

CORE!

by Slepice1 - Compo Entry

My first game for Ludum Dare. It slightly violates the theme, but I'm satisfied with my work, though I didn't includet all features that I wanted, and yeah code is incredibly ugly.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#355Fun3.31
#682Theme3.51
#744Audio2.36
#750Graphics2.77
#781Overall2.98
#988Innovation2.44

Comments

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Hey, I enjoyed this :) and it was bug free which is always great. Everything worked pretty well and the AI was actually kind of competent.

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06pm

feels nostalgic! reminded me of the old tank game. well done. :)

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Why only Humor and Mood to rate? :(
This game is so nostalgic, the walls breaking reminds me of Super Tanks for NES, so good! :D
Wish there were more mechanics into the game, like more weapons or different type of enemies, but still really cool!
Thank you, i really miss game like this one! :D

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Wel, i don't know why your game violates the theme.. It is fun to play :D

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Man.. i see a good idea x) how say ankota nostalgic x) good work :) if you have time also check my "weird tower defense" :-D

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Only humor and mood uh?
It's not a good idea to use middle mouse key. The game itself is fun.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Solid entry! I wish you would have more rating categories though..

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Ow, I must check rating categories that I don't want to include :D, now it's ok.

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Really great entry! I wouldn't say it violates the theme at all.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28pm

It's fun to play, remind me of the Tank Battle in NES era. It will be better if you put the number of bullets collected on screen.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53pm

reminded me of the old atari 2600 days.. good job :)

duon44 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Pretty cool little game :)

pixzleone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Enjoyed!

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Basic defense game with no apparently no bugs in it. The game needs more to though, it is rather repetitive. Some upgrades would be nice!

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

controls were smooth
and of course the nostalgia

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Haha, really a fun oldschool game, really smooth, congratulations! :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Very fun to play. The gold drop + price on shop is really well done. Good balance. And I also like the way the base of the tank move ( jerky8 direction vs. fluid 360° for canon ). The game would have benefit from a score : tanks destroyed, total gold or anything that help player keep tracks of is own improvment or challenge friends.

bitserum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:18am

This was great, i love these types of games so i had fun.
It would be awesome if there was more upgrades that improve the tank, not just repair. Building walls is great touch.
Awesome what you did in 48 hours. Great job.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:42pm

It was a bit annoying that I couldn't tell from the visuals how much health an enemy had and that the enemies always got one hit in before I could react. Other than that, solid gameplay and a very theme-fitting idea. :)

overallcyber says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:01am

this is actually quite cool. It reminds me of the old days...

Divitos says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Overall addicting game play!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:14pm

This is fun! It has a retro feel, I think from the old Combat game, and I like that it's single player. I like the balance to it.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]