Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Legendary Legionnaire Winter Massacre

by banana4life - Jam Entry

Hey guys,

We are a german team consisting of 4 members. We came up with our crazy game "Legendary Legionnaire Winter Massacre".

You play a LEGIONNAIRE. The ALIENS destroy the SNOWMAN you just built and you want to massacre all of them. To do so you can use your trusty crossbow, sword and a special, secret, MAGIC spell. But pay attention. The aliens have LASER-weapons and some of them ride UNICORNS, their domestic mounts. Stop reading the description and start playing the game. :)

Keyboard controls:

mouse -> LOOK
mouse left -> CROSSBOW ATTACK
mouse right -> SWORD ATTACK
mouse middle / space -> MAGIC!!!
shift -> RUN

Xbox 360 Controller:

left stick -> WALK
right stick -> LOOK
R3 -> MAGIC!!!
L3 -> RUN
back -> EXIT
start -> RESTART

- Jonas
- Katharina
- Anselm
- Phillip

I (Jonas) made a short playthrough of our game for you to watch:

And if you like the music:

Have fun with our entry,
Team Banana4Life

Twitter: @bananafourlife

The second submission fixed 2 cosmetic bugs and added SPACE as an alternative key to activate the magic spell for those of you who don't have a mouse middle button.

Downloads and Links




Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Really fun game. really intuitive and creative

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Fun game. I couldn't figure out how to trigger the magic attack but it was pretty fun without it :p The art, sound and game felt really coherent which is pretty good

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:49pm

-Would've been nice to have upgrades on the main character, otherwise you get inevitably overwhelmed by alien riders :(
-Pretty funny storyline :)
-Music and SFX :)
-Was pretty fun but for a short time :|
-No progression in the main character :(

triplefox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Nice looking and sounding twin-stick shooter. I'm handicapped since I'm playing all these mouse+keyboard games on a touchpad, but I was still able to get a feel for the play since the difficulty curve ramps up smoothly.

Smiley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54pm

LibGDX ftw :)

someone says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Very nice game.
Killing multiple enemies at once is satisfying.
Didn't realise at first there were other attacks. Definitely easier with them.
Irritating bug for me was if I moved the mouse outside the window, it would shoot off to the corner, but then I am using a wacom tablet for a mouse.

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Really cool game!
I'm a bit bad at firing with the crossbow, but the fire spell is really satisfying :D
Great job guys!!

michel94 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:09am

The game is really funny. Nice gameplay, too

Croze says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

couldn't download, link didn't work

banana4life says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38am

"couldn't download, link didn't work"
Anyone else with this problem?

zompi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Fun! :D Graphics are nice, music and sounds are well composing to the whole game and that awesome fus-ro-dah feeling, awesome :D

hjfrew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:19am

I'm a roman historian and I can confirm this is 100% accurate to history.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:43pm

This game is really cool! Nice difficulty curve too.

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Nice entry! I like an idea to use melee and ranged weapons together.

joekinley says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Naaaaaaaaaaa dat stupid final alien ship. Gaaaah.
At first I felt smart stalling one left alien and waiting for healing up properly. Also once I got a double charge of that AWESOME SPACEBAR ITEM. Which I only figured out after I died once on Wave 18.

Then I got to Wave 20, and died. Got to wave 20 again, died again. Can't win this game :(

But it is a pretty cool game. I love that splat sound when I hit those aliens. It was so fun, but a little hard. But so fun. Loved it.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Legionnaires? Aliens? Snowman? "FUN" would be the right word to describe this game.

harley77 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Fun little hackfest. Awesome job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:59pm

This one is quite fun, good job

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:55pm

I had a good time with this one! It gets hard quickly. The balance between melee and ranged is great, with both equally useful in different situations. The nuke effect looks pretty spiffy!

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:03am

Fun game! I like that you can melee attack and shoot multiple guys in a row with the arrows, and that the arrows fire a bit slow. These things mix up the gameplay. Art and music is also great and go well with the game. I can definitely see adding more enemy types and weapon types, but given the time limit there is already a lot of game here.

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Tried twice, but couldn't get that sweet sweet revenge. Atleast I'll be together with my snowman in heaven or whatever that place is where snowmen and legionnaires go.

A simple idea but pretty well polished. Good job!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Arrows sticking into walls and camera shaking were nice effects. Combat had good feedback. Crossbow and sword are smart combination of distinct weapons.

Game could have used a pause button (especially for a reviewer tabbing out to take notes!). Stats don't shake with HUD during camera shake. Enemies could have used a simple intro animation so they don't simply fade in. In my play-through I never got to use magic.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Difficulty scaled quite well. I cheated and hid close to a wall waiting for my victims to walk around and get whacked by my melee, haha. But overall it looked great and felt great. I'm not used to twin stick shooters, but it felt pretty smooth even a I was getting used to the controls.

banana4life says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:03am

Wow! Thank all of you guys for the amazing feedback. Special thank to KudukuForgiveUS for his detailed review. :) But there actually is an animation when the aliens "beam" in. (It is too distinct) The pause button is on our list for next time.

sorlok says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:47am

Really fun, really well made. I loved the spell animation in particular! Very challenging too. Great job!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Quite fun game, well done!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:52am

Pretty simple but complete game!
Good job!

kerstinblabla says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:44pm

I love this game

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:31am

Nice polish here with the sfx and particle effects.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Fun good looking game!

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Awesome game, really cool idea executed perfectly

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Great concept! Reming me Hammer Fight a little bit.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:08pm

i love the fun

Sanguine says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

The music and art were nice! Good mood overall :)

Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Fun game, nice particle effects

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]