Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Jumping n' Jumping

by Eduardo - Compo Entry

Jumping n' Jumping

Z to JUMP;

ARROWS to move;

Try to catch as much 'gems' (the rotating thing) as you can. Each time you get a gem, you earn more jumps! Each 10 the game get hard!

I used:
GIMP and KRITA to draw the tileset and sprites;
SunVox to make the music;
Tiled the place the tiles in the right place;
Haxe Flixel as engine;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#113Audio3.51
#133Fun3.65
#153Graphics3.81
#254Overall3.52
#371Mood3.14
#482Theme3.65
#516Innovation3.18
#587Humor2.45

Comments

jackrugile says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:03am

This turned out sick! The jump mechanic is so fun to play with. I love that you are showcasing your art skills in the back too with the parallax effect. Keep it up, man!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41am

Amazing game! I love it :D

seanographies says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48am

This is fun! I enjoyed the jumping combo mechanic, that certainly keeps the game fresh. I really like that cavern background in the game as well, very cool.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51am

Pretty cool. Your character is super hard to control, though, and having paralax scrolling without the screen actually going anywhere is disorienting.

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19am

Nice art! I like the jump addition mechanic, but I feel like the game moves too fast to utilize it.

drludos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Very nice game. I like the gfx and sounds, and the gameplay is entertaining and the jump combo mechanic is original. The challenge is adequate, but it's frustrating to get back to "0" whenever you hit the spikes :p
Good job!

TagliatL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Coool!
Sounds and music are good and the gameplay is fun :D

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23pm

awesome concept and well implemented! great work.

My only concern is that the enemy doesnt provide any feedback when it about to shoot.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Looks and plays great! Would have been fun to have a bigger area to play in and some more air control so that the extra jumps mechanic could really be explored. Nice work!

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

Great gameplay!I'll keep playing it :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45am

Not bad. But movement too smooth. It's hard to jump.

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

This game was a blast. Great mechanic and nice art. I really don't have anything bad to say. Just port it to mobile. Congrats!

Fnkee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Allright, I got to 36! The concept rocks; it's nice and simple, and the obstacles increase in unique ways for every 10th points (at least so it seems). It's amazingly difficult at first, but once I got the hang of it I got further every time. Graphics and music are top notch, and extra score for sweet parallax effect on the background. Good job! [;

anissen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Cool platformer! The mechanic took a little experimentation to catch on to but I like it - simple, yet innovative. Most of my deaths felt "unfair", I died before seeing what killed me - usually around 12-14 points...

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Super addictive and cool game. I Included it in part 6 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Sw1gBeS2zkc

xhunterko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Great little game! Only complaints was that the controls seems a bit floaty which threw me off as it got harder. Not bad though!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Nice game, great art and gameplay. My only issue is that the hazards are unpredictable, the cannons could flash a bit before they shoot for example. And I haven't yet seen what it is, but something keeps spawning in middle of the floor and kills me in instant without me having time to react something harmful is going to even spawn there, sending me all the way back to beginning.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:23am

Ahaha simple addictive game. love the concept "getting awarded more jumps". the game reminds me of i want to be boshy! great entry!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Amazing! Totally addicting. The controls are perfect -- they require you to really learn how to use them well. The graphics are beautiful. Restarting immediately when you die takes a lot of the sting out of losing. I'll definitely be returning to this later to play some more!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:07am

Simple but awesome! Level progression kept it from getting stale, and looks great with the pixelart and parallax. Go HaxeFlixel!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Great! Love the graphics and sound. At first I thought the game might be a bit too easy...then the turret appeared and shot me in the face :D

I like how you have to budget your jumps, it creates tension and requires constant decision-making. Do you just use 5 jumps to get that gem above you, or save your jumps and use the platforms - risking to get blown to bits or falling into spikes?

Another game to put on my favorite list, will definitely save this for later!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:30pm

nice, very simple but funny game, visuals and sound were great, well done

yodamaster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Fun to play. The cannon is too mean.

TrentSterling says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Really awesome jump mechanic!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Really neat artstyle and gameplay. Only the jumping felt too hectic and unprecise.

Belvar says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Quite fun and fast-paced.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Really enjoyed the jump mechanic in this one, it has a lot of potential and gives the game a lot of strategy. You made really good use of the parallax scrolling on the background too, really adds depth.

The weakest aspect probably has to be the audio, the music is too quiet to be recognisable and doesn't balance well with the sound effects.

Aside from that, great job!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Cool gameplay, amazing music! A bit too hard.

BlackBird says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:46pm

The jumping idea is pretty neat although I didn't quite understand how it dropped back to 3 on me at some point. The movement control left/right felt too twitchy and was very hard to actually move around with accuracy.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Really fun and incredibly harde game, I just would have wished the platforms were a bit bigger, cause it's really hard to land on them with so fast movement. And those turrets are really hard to avoid.

The controls had issues in Firefox, but it ran fine in Chrome.

My best was 36.

mortus says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:04pm

That's quite fun, but I don't understand how do you get more jumps. It takes me at least two to get a gem in most cases, so saving isn't really possible. Do I miss something here?

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Awesome entry! I loved the mechanics of how many jumps you get. It took me a little bit to figure out what was going on, but once I did it was really fun. I kind of wish there was some way to 'complete' it or some sort of goal to hit. But the graphics were very nice (reminded me of Kyle Pulver's stuff) and the audio was very fun and fitting! Awesome stuff. :)

Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:31pm

It's a very interesting concept you got here, but I have problems with the controls. Took me a while to get the first gem (sorry :D). Art and music are nice. Good job!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Love the visuals !

Eduardo says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:47am

@mortus You can get more jumps when get a gem. You can jump three times at first, and you get more 2 jumps when get a gem!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:50am

@BlackBird When you lose (the cannon get you or you touch the spikes), the jumps goes back to 3. or when do you have less than 3 jumps and is on the ground, the jumps goes to 3 too!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:54am

Thanks a lot everyone for the feedback. I'm already working on the next version, with better controls, more content and stuff. I'm posting updates on my tumblr as well: http://square64.tumblr.com/

Thanks again! :D

Kyatric says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:24am

Looked and sounded nice, but the controls with inertia did not felt very nice to me.

Moreover, on my first try, the introduction of the new shooting block at 10 points ended in me dying pretty quickly in what felt an unfair manner all to land back at 0 points.
That felt pretty frustrating added with the controls.

Congratulations on making this game in 48 hours !

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I rally like how jumping feels!
Great job

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:07am

Great mechanic. Cool graphics! It reminded me of Cave Story.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:53am

Wow this game was really fun to play I loved being able to chain jumps together like this. I must admit though that the only thing bogging it down was how floaty the jumping was. A little hard to control imo but then again I did have some lag for some reason. Great game I hope you continue it.

-AlucardX60

Kuupu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:02pm

really nice game

wish i could stay forever with my extra jumps :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]