Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ld31_goldrush

by mauris - Compo Entry

As the game theme was Entire Game On One Screen i decided to made a simpe adventure. Traverse the pyramid in search of gold! Collect keys, click buttons, step on dangerous traps. Have fun :)

Art was made in 1hr on the last day...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#198Theme3.93
#423Overall3.32
#455Mood3.04
#495Graphics3.18
#521Fun3.11

Comments

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06am

Run with just java -jar ld31.jar

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:14pm

It's definitely not a "Web" version.

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Fixed it:)

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48pm

The game runs very well, and the graphics are smooth, but it's hard! haha good game!

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very nicely put together game; could have done with sound effects & music, but otherwise flawless! First one I've actually looked at the source for :)
It's good to see a game inspired by the theme, rather than fitting the theme coincidentally... *cough* all those snowman games *cough* :P

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Works nicely. It would be nice if the traps weren't quite so sudden, somehow.

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Walk close the walls you can beat the game. The game is challenging and exciting.

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:55pm

A nice start, some method of detecting the traps would vastly improve gameplay though :)

VictorL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16am

Like the art. You really should be careful to escape the traps

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Traps are basically just invisible walls that make you restart instead of not letting you past. Not really a fun thing to be almost done and die, and just have to memorize where all the traps are. It runs well, though.

mauris says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Thank you guys for all of the response so far! Traps are crap I agree, I was adding them 2hrs before deadline and I wasn't thinking about balance enough :( Will do in the next LD!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Traps are well hidden. Maybe too well, very frustrating.

Good job otherwise !

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:07am

cool game :)

ripatti says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:15am

On the last try I found the brown key and then accidentially killed on the very first trap. Agrrr... But the game is very nice!

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:20am

Awesome!

rjhunter says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:47am

I beat it eventually, mostly by sticking close to the walls and being suspicious :-)

I felt the traps were a bit too brutal -- invisible, no warning, instant death, all the way back to the start, player has to remember where the trap was. Still, I did eventually get through so it's not impossible :-)

The controls felt smooth and responsive, although it was a bit weird to move my hands to the mouse for opening locks.

A little audio -- even just a couple of dings and pops made in cfxr -- would go a long way.

Good work!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Nice! Enjoyed playing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]