Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cubical Cube

by Sutivu - Jam Entry

-------- Description--------

Cubical Cube is a puzzle game made in unreal Engine trough blueprints only. I did all by myself exept for the music.


======= HOW TO PLAY =======

ESDF to move around and MouseWeel to zoom in/out
Use mouse click to rotate the camera.

or

Use Gamepad (Rb/Lb to rotate the camera).



I'm avare of the camera issue, just dont had time to polish :/.

- Html 5 version Soon inc. -

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#397Innovation(Jam)3.20
#408Graphics(Jam)3.47
#500Overall(Jam)3.22
#528Audio(Jam)2.63
#607Fun(Jam)2.91
#619Mood(Jam)2.89
#808Humor(Jam)1.77
#902Theme(Jam)2.91

Comments

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:32am

I certainly enjoyed the levels that I played of this game, but the graphical jumpiness gave me a bit of a headache. Definitely fun, though!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

Really nice! A bit hard to see sometimes where you are and where you're going. I would've played more levels! :)

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35am

The controls just plain stopped working whenever I went to a different side of the cube :(

Wampus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35am

Short but sweet. Good design, worked well, enjoyed it to the end.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40am

It's a shame my pc sucks. The game lags too much for me.
Also, avast said there was a virus in it, I guess it was a false positive.

Sutivu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:59am

Aw I forgot to implement the Graphics Settings, selecting Low donc change anything sorry :/. And for the virus it's strange, bit deffender didnt said me anything. I made it with the unreal editor so yeah false positive dont worry :).

friken says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:04am

nice work. simple but well done

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09am

This game looks fun. But when I move the cube to another face of the big cube, it seems that I cannot move at all. And it is slow on my computer..

Omer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

Hmmm, am I missing something here? The controls became unresponsive once I reached a new side of the cube.

vairse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54am

Beautiful menu, polished graphic effects, but the controls didn't fully work. We couldn't get past level two, as only two directions were responsive, and scroll stopped working after switching sides.

RetroEpic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Really liked this one. Could work on some of the feedback and making the rules for moving more clear, but I enjoyed playing it a lot. Well done!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Interesting gameplay. But yeah... camera makes it very difficult sometimes.

//Very big size of the game considering simple graphics.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Its a interesting game with nice soundtrac and it's beautiful and simple. Sometimes back cube stayed behind big white cube and i couldn't see myself, i wished i coulda rotated the camera. Anyway it's a nice game. Congratulations.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Nice idea with attractive visuals. I think adding the ability to rotate the camera around the level would help, there were times I got stuck and couldn't see why because I was behind the level geometry. Otherwise, it's pretty solid.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Cool game dude !

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Hm, not bad! If you're planning to work on it futher, definitely consider smoothing out camera and making it a bit more dynamic. Other than that, the idea is pretty nice!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:40pm

The visual style is really simple but really nice. Quite an interesting idea too, especially the 3D nature of it, and having to keep in mind all the different sides of the shape at once. I would have to repeat the concern about the lack of being able to move the camera angles, but I know you had limited time and you can't necessarily do every feature. Cool stuff anyway.

woz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:45am

I really like the idea, but the camera issues definitely get in the way. Camera movement should be much smoother, and sometimes it flips out and it's impossible to see the black cube.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Good game, I had to turn down the settings since it was fairly laggy but good work nonetheless.

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Annoying camera other than that a pretty nice game ;)

5k0d says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:14pm

froze for me in the second level...couldn't do anything (Win7)

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Simple and clean. Good job!

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:19am

Please do something with camera

Sutivu says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:17am

Read the description, I'm not gonna modify the exe, it's a jam game. (RB/LB or mouse click to rotate the camera)

Sharky says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:24am

Can't open .rar files :(

NPException says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Brilliant concept!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Really good graphics and quite innovative gameplay, but man, the controls and camera make it quite hard to enjoy. In case of a post LD version, why not 1. rotate the camera smoothly instead of jumping around in 90° steps instantly and 2. that angle on the scene.. it's rather unintuitive and you never know in which direction exactly the keys take you (or you have to actively think about it for each move, well at least I had to) - I know it's helpful as it allows the player to see 3 sides at once, and you already picked a "biased" angle hinting at which side is in front instead of neutral 45°, but still, it kept confusing the hell out of me. But that could just be me I guess.
Overall pretty high ratings from me nonetheless, and there's surely some potential there for a really cool game.

Johnro says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:52am

I'm having a bit of trouble running your game. Looking through the folder, I have no idea which file I'm supposed to open. Is it one of the .dll files?

Victor RENE says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:07pm

This game is fantastic. Except for the camera angle problems, the puzzle nature of it makes it click with me! Good job.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]