Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Planetiod

by laluis1 - Compo Entry

You are stranded on an asteroid, you need to gain 100 fuel to leave, but you cannot die.
controls:
move: left/right, A/D
place generator: space (requires 5+ fuel)
Enter/exit ship: W/S, up/down

working on plantoid 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#533Innovation3.16
#549Mood2.94
#592Theme3.58
#782Graphics2.74
#990Overall2.74
#1050Fun2.42
#2112Coolness24%

Comments

berkano says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:21am

Neat game! Found it a bit hard to figure out what to do, but got there in the end!

eaeduardo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:04am

i like it alot

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:16am

I like the little planet. =) There wasn't much to do here aside from wait, but what's here has character.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:19am

Cool idea! It was a little hard to tell exactly how the charge was being calculated, but I assume the green guy affected the generators somehow. Well done!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:27am

Hard to figure out what was going on at first, but made sense as we kept playing it. Good job! We recommend involving the player more as fuel is generated.

lase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:41am

I had trouble figuring out what to do. Interesting concept though.

erik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:54am

As others have said, it was a bit confusing as to what was happening, and the gameplay is pretty limited. Maybe you could make the fuel generators only work when the player makes the green guy circle the planet? And the green guy could have a bigger effect on the player.

Another issue is that it's hard to figure out what to download, and how to download the file from github.

I liked the characters, and running around the planet with them.

uberscientist says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:55am

I wished the generators showed how much fuel they were generating, would be a cool visual to add like a bunch of +0.001 +0.002 etc... floating out of the top of them like damage in a MMORPG

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:06am

I like the concept - in-game instructions could be a little more informative, and the ending wasn't very satisfying. A little more feedback to the player would improve the experience immensely. Good work!

BSODDevTeam says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:07am

Nice job!

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:18am

This is awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]