Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rescue the princess

by eruiz00 - Compo Entry

A little metroidvania inspired game, all in one screen.

About 20mins to finish, if you read and see the changes in the world screen. Not easy. Not difficult.

Windows, Mac, Linux, Android and Web, thanks to marvellous and impressive LibGDX...

Cursors, and keys z,x,c. touch controls enabled.

Zoom mode for those who have a nice tiny screen... (key c) although it was not the idea (nothing to do the last two hours of the compo :(

Android version:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61844766/rescuetheprincess/Platformer-android.apk

Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Theme4.14
#193Overall3.61
#208Audio3.31
#210Graphics3.69
#313Mood3.22
#458Fun3.18
#528Humor2.52
#679Innovation2.96
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

Manou says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38am

It's very hard but the idea is very original and I loved the retro NES graphics ! 5* innovation

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:46am

Great idea, I love the music too.

Larzan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:47am

Nice one, a complete game with several levels on one screen indeed, like it :)

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:53am

I'm loving this game! Great mood and really hard!
Immediately saved in my bookmarks, I have to finish it! :D

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:03am

Ummm... have finished now. 15mins. I know it's hard. I's a shame the zoom mode could not left you see the new areas of the cave when they appear. It was a unzoomed game originally. And this should play unzoomed.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45am

The mechanic of moving in and out is really good. It gives perspective on the old nes games the the long journey our old friends travelled to save that princess. Bravo.

PERECil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:50am

Cool game. However, I'd like to have a bit more air control on the player.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55am

Is the jump height tied to the framerate? I couldn't jump over the wall to the first yeti unless I was zoomed in. But other than that and the lack of air control, I think this was a good game with a great idea, nice graphics and good music

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I like the retro graphics a lot, very good. Also the controls are great, especially for the mobile version.

Very well done.

headchant says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:05pm

It is quite hard. Mainly because of the jumping but I love the graphics! Great music and sound effects.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Very good themed game!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:29pm

It's a shame that a low frame rate modify certain physics conditions. I have to think about the platform engine.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:54pm

The look of the game reminded me of Ghosts n Goblins. It's quite a hard game, but that fits well with its old school look and feel.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Difficult game - reminds me of Dark Castle a little bit - that's a good thing. I couldn't figure out how to find the treasure in the lake which I think might have made things more difficult for me. Graphics are retro but crisp and nice. I did have some control issues trying to play it on my tablet but it was fine on my computer. Swimming controls were a little frustrating. Overall, great work!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Ummm.. for all players: LOOK the SCREEN CHANGES when you speak with a GHOST, touch a CHEST or kill a BIG ENEMY

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Neat! I love the various stages, surfaces, monsters and such. The web version did not play well tho, so I downloaded the windows jar.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I really wish I could play this game until I've rescued the Princess, but I can't because it's too hard because of the controls. The controls feel really off.
Really good implementation of the theme, great graphics, but a little polishing can make a great difference.
Great work!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Cool game!!!! One of my favorites! Love the retro look!!

jepster says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:16am

Aww, I can't execute the .jar file on my OS X Yosemite :( I'll try the web version later!

InToGames says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Really ambitious. I thought the idea and graphics/audio were great. The execution's a bit off but when you consider the time-frame it's hard to gripe. Impressed that there were little sub-goals in there too -- well done with this :D

Tifu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Jumping is too difficult to precisely manoeuvre the character, I could only get past the red bats by sacrificing over half my lives... and then I get the chest telling me I need to go back to the lake? Impossible for me. Seems like I'd really love this if the jumping was improved.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:55pm

New version uploaded, with all fixes needed:

Now the player is controlable on jump
Unzoom on messages and secrets appearing moments, to let the zoomed version of the game be as logic as the unzoomed
New enemy type on the bottom cave
Some errors fixed
Some tiles remastered, and collision function fixed
Better touch control in Android versión


Android version:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61844766/rescuetheprincess/Platformer-android.apk

Enjoy!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]