Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

When Snowmen Attack

by rantt - Compo Entry

Those friendly snowmen have turned on us. It's time to fight back! It's time to cancel the Snowpocalypse!!


Tools Used:
coding: vim/tmux and Phaser.js for my framework
graphics: SpriteSomething, Pixen and Pixelmator
sfx: sfxr/bfxr
music: PixiTracker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#237Fun3.46
#263Audio3.19
#367Humor2.78
#373Graphics3.38
#600Mood2.89
#607Overall3.15
#655Theme3.53
#1068Innovation2.28

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06am

I feel like the shooting enemies were a really innovative addition. Made me have to think on my feet.

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I beat this one too (yes, I'm on a mission to beat every game that was submitted ... not going too well)! Fun.

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Liked it, fit the theme, and really fit the REAL THEME! LOL The particle effect when you hit a snow man. Limit my snowballs, and have a snow pile show up for a second above or below me to get more snow it becomes a different game, a bit more challenging, I believe.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29pm

A bit simple but it works! I really like the music. Also cool graphics :)

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Thanks for playing guys :)
@wer2chosen - I really like your idea (think I'll add it to a post-comp version), I wish I thought of it...lol

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Nice game! I really like the graphic and audio too. I wish I could charge my snowball to make it bigger and take down snowman instantly.

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Pixels and Snowmen... mmm... awesome!
And cool animations ;)

QuexD says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Throwing snowballs diagonally... snowmen break game rules.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Fun game! I beat it :)
Particles and snowballs seemed to have a different pixel scale than the rest of the graphics, if you are going for a pixel look you really should keep the pixel scale consistent!But I might be the only one who finds that annoying :P

Good job overall!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Really fun game! :)

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I made it to the end :) art was cool but the music didnt do it for me really. I had some slight lag once the big shooting snowmen came around. Simple but enjoyable :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:34pm

smooth gameplay, missing a Pause button

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice game: short and beatable :). I liked the pixel-graphics: but I think the article-effects + snowballs disturb the eye (given that they are not pixelated like the rest of the game). But the snowmen especially, were nice :)

rjhunter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:04am

Very good "level design" (if you can call it that in a game like this). Warmup rounds, then introducing the new characters gently before using them in full force.

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Challenging game, I like it! Kudos for the graphics of the snowmen and main characters, they are really cute!

Pastry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Love the music building up with the snowmen in the intro, very intense!

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

This was pretty fun, if a little easy. Way to rep the snowmen.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57pm

It was a little on the easy side, but it was a lot of fun. Loved the retro art style and the snowman animations.

My wife made a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/9Ov0P6zVOiQ

mtanton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Pretty fun game. Extra points for sticking to the real theme ;)

rantt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:00am

Yeah, I love how many snowmen games actually got made...lol. I'm planning on cleaning this game up for a post-comp version so thanks guys for all the feedback.
@badlydrawnrod, that "Mum plays.." was great, very entertaining :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Short and sweet. Snowball throwing enemies were a nice surprise. Too bad there were not all that many waves, mixing up different enemies. I felt like the game ended too early.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Really nice game. I enjoyed it :) I Included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-qEX6yeW8uQ

mikale says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Nice game man!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:32am

Those were some fierce looking snowmen, and the music fit really well to set the tone. Nice job.

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:23am

GIANT SNOWMAN!!! SPACE, SPACE, SPACE, SPACE, SPACE, SPACE!

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:03am

So much snowman carnage! Muwahaha down with the soul sucking theme-sicles!

Wilson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Fun simple game, nice art and audio!

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Nice!Good gameplay and reeeeally cool music!

jimmymcmillan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:16pm

I did it I survived the snowpocalypse!! I was it was a bit longer though. A very polished game.

alvarop says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:53pm

This game was a little bit unfair, as the user had no way to know where the snowballs were going and moving up and down wasn't really that useful in those cases.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:56pm

This is simple, snowball throwing fun. It would be nice if there were more levels but can't fault you for that in 48 hours. Maybe some of the snowmen could have been faster but taken less shots? Just a couple notes. Well done.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Dear fellow vim user ;-)

Really cool game. I was surprised when those friggin' snowmen fired back at me. I liked the game a lot! Sweet sprite work!

nuqu says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Really enjoyed playing the game, the mechanic is solid and the graphics are nice, It gets little bit laggy because of the particle effects!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:50am

Liked:
- The music. Nice beat yo.
- 99% of the graphics. Great pixel art. Nice and easy to tell what everything is, and nice to look at
- The difficulty curve. Got harder at a nice rate.
- The snowball throwing snowmen. Nice addition to mix things up.

Disliked:
- The lag. Became unplayable on Chrome when the waves got bigger :( I haven't seen any other commenters say this though, so maybe it was something on my end. But whatever it was, it wasn't just graphical, as some of my keypresses were being missed as well
- 1% of the graphics. Specifically the snowball graphic. It was just a blue ball with black outline for me, and was in totally different style from the other graphics :(


Overall fun game! I wish I could have gotten farther but lag made it impossible.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice sprites

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice pixel art. I always knew snowmen were up to no good.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:11pm

The whole game sounds a bit freaky.

Insality says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:44am

nice pixel art! I beat them all!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:20am

The character graphics are pretty cool. Background could have used some sprucing up. Lot of fun! It is the first game that I actually wanted to finish and didn't feel like I had to. Liked the tweet option too! haha

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:05am

Fun game! Nice art and nice audio. The game lasts long, and does not get boring quickly.
Good work!

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 2:04pm

It's like a sideways Space Invaders :)

It's a pretty good start to something cool, however there are a few buggy things that prevented it from being more enjoyable:

1. The controls are inconsistent... I'm not sure how or why or when, but sometimes the movement gets stuck... Sometimes the firing gets stuck. I died once because I couldn't move. In a game that is real-time dodging, that's super frustrating.

2. I'm not sure what the restrictions on the shots fired are. It's good to have a restriction or a player could just spam fire, but I feel like sometimes I'm restricted sometimes I'm not. So it's again frustrating.

3. Game sounds are a bit loud and jarring.

rantt says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:02pm

@Tuism, I think the problem is probably lag from the particle effects that @nuqu mentioned. I'm working on a post comp version and found reducing this down significantly fixed my framerate issues.
Thanks again everyone for taking the time to give such great constructive and helpful feedback!

Sestren says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

Nice music, and the gameplay was straightforward and fun.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Great entry! Very simple but the gameplay feels good. The fact that the snowmen could throw diagonally was a great touch and added more challenge than I expected. My only nitpick is that I tend to dislike games that let you fire forever as fast as you can press a button. I'd rather have some kind of cooldown that I have to contend with to make my choice to fire meaningful. Otherwise there's no reason to stop firing, so why have a control at all?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]