Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sledge Masters

by roktom - Jam Entry

ANDROID : http://www.filedropper.com/sledgemasters_2

Would only like to say that this our first project published to LD, as well as first with Unity and blender.
Please tell us your honest opinion regarding this game, as we must to choose either to continue on making this game, or forget about it. It would be mobile platform orientated.

CONTROLS :
Left - A or left arrow
Right - D or right arrow
Jump - SPACE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#242Graphics(Jam)3.78
#267Fun(Jam)3.36
#478Humor(Jam)2.63
#485Overall(Jam)3.23
#517Mood(Jam)3.00
#666Audio(Jam)1.50
#862Innovation(Jam)2.40
#1014Theme(Jam)1.88

Comments

Mindcake says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:12am

Great atmosphere

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38am

Looks so cool, but I have Linux and can't run unity in web. Could you build to Linux or is that not possible?

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

Yeah sure. Will try to port

belva1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I like the game but doesn't match the theme..

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Fantastic art! Would make a good mobile title once it is fleshed out. Fun idea.

Cuniculator says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Cool idea! Nice graphics and funny snowmen. Although the rotation of the sleigh and the actual movement seem a bit off (especially with bigger turns) the gameplay is quite good!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28pm

You will obey the snowman! Loved the game!

duon44 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28pm

cool snowmen B-)

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Love the game's mood, the controls are simple and easy to grasp but I'm not sure if it fits the theme. Other than that, a bundle of fun.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Good game, the controls feel ok until I tried to make a closed turn and couldn't :(.

I'd say go for it and keep on polishing it!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Cool game to play. Graphics look quite amazing and the theme of the game really gets me into the christmas mood. This game would benefit so much from a little bit of sound and music!!! I would definitely play this on my phone if it had some way of progres. Usable items, powerups ala mario cart like boosts etc. Also, bro tip, clear the first few meters so people can test the controls and adjust to them. Sometimes there spawns a snowman right in front of you. Since you are Jam contestants, get some 'opensource' music to accompany the game.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Hi, I like the graphics and feeling of riding down the hill.
You should definitely adjust the movement, to make it more real, like in classic snowboard games.

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34pm

doesn't match the theme but nice game. I like those snowmen !!

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Nice game, snowmen everywhere! I like how the sledge trembles to reflect the speed of it. Also, looking it from certain angle (ignoring shadow coloring) it looks like a trophy stand, which makes it even funnier :D

Harsay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Someone wanted a Snowman to become a theme.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Beautiful game but sometimes seems a bit impossible. Maybe it's just me :3

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

low poly and snowmen and low poly snowmen! Awesome game.
Thanks you for this christmas mood!

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Really a cool game! I could honestly play forever. Thanks for making the Unity Port!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Great game, especially when you pass the number 30 :D
You should let the players hit the snowmen with the left and right sides of the sledge, and only die when they make a frontal crash. It would make a game more fun.
At least I would give it a try. :D

darthballs says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:13pm

nice game
snowmen are creepy

Almax27 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Quite fun although I found the collision areas a little frustrating and the shadows from chunks behind me disappearing onscreen rather distracting. Not sure if the placement of obstacles was completely random but there were occasions where I felt like there was no way to get past a given layout, having preset chunks that link together may have been a better approach. Controls were good although tight turns threw the split of axial movement into sharp relief, may have been easier if the sleigh only moved in it's facing direction.

Loved the visuals and never got tired of seeing the snowman with shades, seriously 'cool'... *cough*

MintArcade says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:43am

Nice and fun game, but don't fit theme. Some snowmans looks like really cool dudes.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]