Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Wreck a Goblin

by ajopart - Compo Entry

Wreck a Goblin (LD31 entry).

Made in 24 hours for the december edition of Ludum Dare.

This is my personal version of the classic "Wreck a mole" arcade game.

As the mage of the town, you must eradicate the goblin invasion. Be careful, they can defend themself. Crazy goblins.

Engine : Construct 2
Graphics : Photoshop/flash
Sound : don't dare ask

Features :
- Amazing SFX, like... lightnings
- A great wizard with a beautiful outfit
- too many goblins.

Controls :

Left click : sends lightning balls on the goblins and captures it. Each captive goblin can be used as fuel to manipulate the "magic hammer" spell. The magic circle at the feet of the wizard tells you how many "magic hammer" spell you can cast.

Middle Click : actives the spell "magic hammer" when fuel (captive goblins) available

right click : when activated and fueled, right click on a goblin to close the exit of his tunnel with the magic hammer spell

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#220Humor3.10
#482Theme3.65
#500Graphics3.17
#631Overall3.13
#646Mood2.84
#681Fun2.96
#829Innovation2.72

Comments

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:03am

Nice game :D
I think the middle power should have been automatic when you press the right click, but other than that i loved the game and the humor :D

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Don't understand what the circle is and how to the refill the hammer, but great job :D !

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Nice game, buttons are a bit complex to remember and use powers, bit difficulty is very well paced. Good work.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice and colorful. Levels are a bit long though. Good job!

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Loved that you took simple idea and turned it into something cool. Just if levels were little shorter. Never the less very fun game.

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41am

Very nice take on the wack-a-mole games! You added a lot of depth to the game, it nows feels more strategic (can I use the hammer? Where do I use it?). Also, 5/5 for the humorous goblin quotes, they made laugh! :)

My only complaint is that the goblins shoot too fast, it's hard to avoid getting hit (especially as the capture spell has to travel to them), so the game is quite hard. You should add 1/2 second delay before the goblins shoot to fix that IMHO.

Deity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21am

Cute game. Controls a bit strange with the middle-click/right-click stuff but well done.

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27am

Wonderful game, really cool art glad I watched your timelapse

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16am

I would retry this entry later, but I liked the first try, so, well done. :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:03pm

This was more fun than I thought it would be :) played for a while. Simple idea taken further. Good job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:52pm

This was quite fun, especially on the last level! Good use of screen space too, difficulty seemed just right :)

qristofer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:45am

Funny goblins. :D A pretty nice clicker. Perfect length for a ludum game.

chakitp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Nice game. But it would be be more fun if u have include something more..
I got bored after some time..

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:57am

Cool!some music would be nice but great overall!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Nice little game - good job!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:43pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]