Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Sacred Glyphs

by mokesmoe - Jam Entry

Left Click: Place tiles
Right Click: Remove tiles
R: Reset/Clear
Esc: Quit

Draw the sacred glyphs.
Create a world from nothing.

If you are lost refer to the references above.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#260Innovation(Jam)3.46
#478Theme(Jam)3.58
#668Fun(Jam)2.84
#739Overall(Jam)2.93
#758Mood(Jam)2.67
#798Graphics(Jam)2.60

Comments

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

I have virtually no idea what's going on, and I would really like to :(

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:46am

Wasn't sure what to do, you can't change the colors?

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:44am

A bit confusing but nice concept!

Geti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:55am

Couldn't get it to work :/

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20am

This game is pure exploration at it's finest. Well done!

-AlucardX60

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:23am

Incredible. I could play with this for hours.

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37am

Excellent! Reminds me of Conway's Game of Life. Fun to mess around with and experiment. Would make a perfect iOS/Android game. Perhaps with more combinations? I would definitely try for that, free or sold. :)

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01am

The game opens, and it just shows a dark-blue screen (Perhaps the background color of those screenshots), won't rate the game but it doesn't work for me, sorry .3.

cyrixd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I liked the concept, but there was so much input delay when drawing/removing that it was frustrating to play :(

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:57pm

At first I didn't get it. I thought it was a broken pixel editor and drawing the sacred glyphs was a joke about how it was just a pixel editor, like, "In this game you can do anything... because you can draw whatever you can imagine." but then more like a sick joke because it only drew white pixels, so you really couldn't even draw what you wanted. It couldn't even do the one thing it said it could do, and that wasn't even a game, it was just drawing stuff, haha. But then I saw the one pixel turn orange. I suddenly realized this was in fact a game! And that moment in itself was worth it, and I realize it was even crafted by you to happen that way. After that, the previously confusing reference material became extremely valuable in figuring out how to beat the game. How to actually draw the sacred glyphs was harder than it seemed! I really liked it when the pixels fell, because then they had gravity, and that made my mind view them as having more existence, or physical presence, and i am talking about single pixels here. The mechanics of the different parts and how they interacted were very unique and they made me have to solve things in a way I have never encountered before in a game. Well done, I am glad I did not give up too early, it really worked out my mental muscles.

alvarop says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:50pm

I had a hard time getting this game. I could only make a yellow pixel.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]