Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

HeadButters

by brombatti - Jam Entry

HeadButters

Play with a friend.
But if it is not possible we added an Intelligence artificial. ^^

Commands:

Shoot button / Add player 1: F
Move player 1: WASD

Shoot button / Add player 2: right ctrl
Move player 2: ←→↑↓

Shoot button / Add player 3: H
Move player 3: IJKL

Shoot button / Add player 4: NumPad0
Move player 4: NumPad8, NumPad4, NumPad5, NumPad6

Powerups:

Red apple: Gives you permanent extra power knocking back enemies. The more you get, the more you become a beast.

Ice (blue) apple: Gives you one spit, to be shooted with your respective action button. If you hit your enemy, he becomes frozen and unmoveable for a little time, so you can knock him out easily.

Go ham yellow bird: If you pick him up, he flys around you for 10 seconds protecting you from any knock backs.

Red confusion: This item is supposed to trick you inverting your commands, because of the fast gameplay, maybe you will get confused or knocked on it.

Don't let them knock you out!

Our Participation in Ludum Dare 31. Let feedback ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#33Fun(Jam)3.95
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#157Overall(Jam)3.68
#158Audio(Jam)3.53
#229Graphics(Jam)3.82
#285Theme(Jam)3.78
#373Mood(Jam)3.22
#426Innovation(Jam)3.15

Comments

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Very fun to play with a friend ! It creates a lot of tension to captures the balls and score the most ! I just found that it was a little bit difficult to know what buttons to press to add player 1 and 2 (the graphic of the buttons to press was too much pixelated to see correctly)

Bogden says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:07am

Awesome game! Couldn't figure out what the red and blue powerups did, but the game feels great, and the credits falling in is hilarious.

huggabugga says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:11am

like rayman1900, I can't see what button to press to add player 1. I've got player 2 in, just can't figure out player 1.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:13am

Fun game. The graphics and gameplay are cool. The only problem was that I couldn't see what the actions buttons where, so I just smashed the whole keyboard to find out.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

Os personagens tão bem divertidos, as animações bem boas também.

O movimento escorrega numa quantidade legal pra deixar desafiador, o esquema do créditos foi muito bem feito tbm.

Ta muito legal esse jogo, parabéns.

brombatti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36am

rayman1900, Bogden, huggabugga, el-pepi, we are trying to figure out why we are losing quality at the web build buttons. But we added the commands and powerups explanation at the game entry description. We recommend downloading the windows build. Thanks for letting us know!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:21am

Great little multiplayer game. I love how it looks, the sound is great, and the gameplay concept is solid. I only wish there was a bit more to do. Overall, great game.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:00pm

I played with my girlfriend, it's very good. Some characters need some animations, right? It's fun to play with a static animal.
Two cents: it's very fast to win (or lose), so you can make rounds with different levels to make the gameplay longer. Not too many thinks, you can put blocks and holes.

victorafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42pm

I loved the game! the graphics! the bulls... until now this game is receiving the best rating I gave until now!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Fun game mate! I can play with my bro xD.
If you have some time check my project too x)

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

A arte ficou muito massa, manolo! Parabéns.... como joguei contra mim mesmo, não aguentei passar tanto tempo perdendo e ganhando ao mesmo tempo :D

Parabéns!

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:02am

Good game!
This idea was very common in this LD, but here was good used. I like the characters, the gameplay is easy.
Multiplayer was more funny.
I died sometimes fall out of cenario, it was a good limitation.
Nice work!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54pm

While the gameplay wasn't exactly anything new, this was a very polished and tight rendition, and I loved the little animation touches. Nicely done!

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:20pm

It was really nicely done, cool charadesigns and pixel art, catchy music, and a simple but effective gameplay!
It might lack a progression curve, something that makes it harder to survive the longer the battle lasts (like Smash Bros maybe) because the fights quickly become repetitive in spite of the items feature.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:57pm

nice game! Too bad that it does not allow single player as it hinder fun somewhat (a good AI would be amazing here). Cool sounds, music and graphics. Nice job

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:44am

Good to see another 4 player game! I like characters.

Acuity says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:07am

Would have been nice if there were indicators for which powerups you picked up, but this is REALLY fun!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:07am

YESSH. Solid multiplayer game, wish I had more people to play at the same time. I found the yellow bird to not be that interesting of a powerup but I'm sure it's better with more players.

brombatti says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:50pm

LTyrosine We are implementing an artificial intelligence at this time. We want to have done so during the time of jam but prefer to prioritize and get testing and balancing the experience of local multiplayer.

Taldius says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:47am

Nice game, it reminds me a lot of Mario Party.
Good job!

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:14am

Really fun! The powerups seemed a but strange but overall a lot of fun to mess around in :)

Nice job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:27am

Very fun to play in multiplayer!

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:28am

Nice game! It's great fun to play with other people because the controls are so simple.

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Wow!! this is crazy man hahaha
very cool to challenge friends, thank you for this :D

Venturelli says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Really cool, love the graphics! Only bummer is rounds being too short and requiring time to re-setup everything again. Apart from that, a stellar entry!

brombatti says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Update

Add artificial intelligence for those who want
play alone ^^

sputnik says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Good game!

Eddy93 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Nice Entry, I'm definitely gonna try this with some friends soon

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Great fun to play with friends, tested with my brother. Very easy to grasp the controls, and fantastic music to boot. Great job!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Hilarious, but very hard to control. I understand that that's the point though. :P

igoramendola says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:22am

Excellent work and very fun! I haven't a friend to play with, but I enjoyed playing against the CPU. The AI is pretty challenging. The game has nice graphics and very good music. Nice entry ^^

Rodaja says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Hi, we've included this in this list of local multiplayer ludum dare games

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/24/the-perfect-games-for-the-holidays/

Check it out and spread the word!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Fun game! I Included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

Rodaja says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Artificial intelligence is way overpowered, we were three playing and we tried to throw it out the first, but it would usually beat all of us.

It also takes a bit too long to play again, finishing a game should allow to just restart instead of re-selecting characters.

Graphics and gameplay are good, further developing could make this a cool game. Nice job!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:04pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-31-huv4hmz6

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Cool and simple, crazy fun to play with friends

FrederickK says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Woah! Very impressive!
Too much Mario Party? Hahaha
Very well done, the art is good, the audio is fit and the mechanics are nice.
Good job guys! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]