Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

RGB

by Conk - Compo Entry

RGB: Fast paced shooty game, destroy the black hole, while avoiding the black edges and enemies.

Pickups change your colour & weapon.
3 enemies, they do different things.

I mean it's a really simple game, I dunno what to say.

If anyone can beat it, well done! Because I can't!

I joined a little late as I forgot about the compo completely! Have fun and thanks for playing!

:D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#24Fun4.00
#73Overall3.82
#93Audio3.61
#189Theme3.94
#257Innovation3.57
#272Mood3.27
#316Graphics3.49
#485Humor2.58

Comments

Zolkren says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Cool game, kind of relates to the theme.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Great game! The high variation of the walls caught me off guard (in a good way). :)

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51pm

on mac :/ can't play

Simon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Great entry! This is really cool and beautiful. I like the fact that you actually tried and made something of the theme with the varying screen shapes. Well done, I love your game!

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05pm

I actually had a pretty fun time with this! Shooting while red feels real nice.

madameberry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:12pm

This was unexpectedly very fun! It took me a minute to realize the sides of the screen counted as something that hurt, and then when the screen started moving that really threw me!
"Doesn't look like much" is a pretty alright subtitle for this game, because it doesn't look like much and then it becomes something kinda great.

PnDAA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Well can't beat it eather :(. Really well done, I got some fun !

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Nice, solid game. It has fast-paced, easy to figure out how to play, and kind of addictive. Well done.

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Very nice mix of retro mechanics and beutifull graphics

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

What more can you ask for, its fun, fast, easy and reminds me of my mother. Wait. No seriously, great job!

Newt_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Very sleek and fun to play. Nice sounds too. If possible though, I'd ditch the installer.

Conk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Swapped the installer out, cheers for the feedback (:

Valon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:05am

Great game. Nothing more to say really. The visuals are very nice even tho they are simple and the gameplay is smooth and fun.

I played multiple games. I suck at it tho.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:46am

Great gameplay; fun and challenging with good mechanics.

Thermite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55am

Hard as nails, but super fun. Amazing music too. Great job!

Yazara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Very cool game! And really innovative! :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:42am

Solid game. When the screen started moving, it really added something to it, it was a nice twist. Honestly, the only thing I didn't like was the music. It annoyed me pretty quickly. The rest was on point. Great job.

qristofer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:59am

Insane! Surprising wall attacks and cool power ups made me like it more than I expected. The music is suiting for the game and good for 48h. Didn't win ofc. ^^ gg

BretHudson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Amazing amount of variety in powerups, screen transitions, and enemies! Wouldn't be surprised at all if this ended up being one of the top games.

Wakka says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Man that was AWESOME!!! Really fun shouting game with great music, and a screen area that keeps changing shape. One of the best entries so far!

GrabenGroup says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:23pm

2:34 is my best! this is very cool briliant use of the theme :)

resty says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:02am

Great game, full of fun. But seems hard to finish.

Hempuli says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Pretty fun! The screen shrinking and moving was really cool, and they way destroying enemies healed me made the quickly increasing difficulty more manageable. Once I had damaged the enemies enough, they were so small that seeing them among the other visual effects was a tad frustrating.

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:40pm

this theme is very interesting. I love colors theme in games. congrats, dude.

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:56pm

This was reaaally good, easily one of the best. Well done, I enjoyed this a lot.

Integershift says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Fun game fun idea overall a solid entry was a bit confused of the consequences of actually being hit by the enemies other than that fun game actually an interesting idea here.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:44am

Really love the simplicity and how you made that go from minimalist to super crazy and back again. Provides a real great challenge and a load of fun.

Didn't see if you had twitter handle anyplace. But I showcased your game in part 2 of my LD31 Showcase series. http://youtu.be/fh8a6LSGnpk

Keep up the awesome work.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:13am

I really like this entry. It's really tough, but it looks and sounds great while you're losing so drastically. Controls are simple and smooth. It is hard to tell sometimes what is "shrapnel" and what's an almost dead circle enemy. Probably by design. Great work.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]