Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Second Thought or Please, Don't Touch Anything

by Four Quarters - Jam Entry

Here is some puzzle cryptographic game we named "The Second Thought". And "Please, Don't Touch Anything".

We were arguing about name for a long time and didn't came to the agreement.

The game has eleven endings and it counts as complete only if you managed to discover every one of them. And you get something special each time you find one.
Alt+Enter - fullscreen.
Hold reset lever to erase your savegame.
After you launch the game you'll have to wait a bit till it's loading (just a couple of seconds).
Also there's an android version, but some in-game buttons are small so it plays well only on big screens. Or you can use stylus.

Enjoy and make sure you've read the instruction!

P.S. It's 5 am here and we're glad we made it.

Dmitry "limbo" Lagutov - programmer
Dmitry "deceiver" Karimov - artist
Alexander "finlal" Vartazaryan - artist
Alexander "blinch" Goryeslavets - music, sounds

UPD_1: We've added a guide.
PLEASE, TRY TO OPEN ALL OF THE ENDINGS ON YOUR OWN BEFORE READING IT.

UPD_2: We've slightly updated the game, removing a couple of tiny bugs and merge sounds in one of endings

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#15Audio(Jam)4.18
#19Mood(Jam)4.19
#20Overall(Jam)4.09
#27Theme(Jam)4.33
#39Graphics(Jam)4.48
#65Innovation(Jam)3.93
#74Fun(Jam)3.79
#88Humor(Jam)3.66

Comments

jpcote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

Awesome game ! hard to find all possibilities. Thanks for this !

Divitos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:51am

Amazing graphics, and great sounds!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25am

Great game! It really creeps me out for some reason!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:38am

I can't figure anything out but that's probably just because I'm an idiot. Will rate when I have more patience.

prymidion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09am

Pretty cool! I wish there was a bit more rhyme or reason to the button combinations (or maybe I'm just an idiot), but I enjoyed finding the various creepy endings. The upside down inverted city was very creepy.

Overall, very well done with respect to atmosphere: graphics, sound, and themes come together in a good way.

Finlal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:11am

Thank you all for your feedback !

We will add a guide for those who just want to watch the game .


One of the ending of the game is really creepy.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41pm

I liked how you encouraged exploration and how everything had meaning without looking like it.

Played on a Nexus 7 (2012) and it worked well except for one instance (which might've been intentional: it kicked me out of the app)

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Really nice. kinda hard without the guide, but puzzles make sense in the end.

deepnight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:56pm

A very good gameplay idea :) I loved the way you have to figure out the way this machine works without any kind of instruction.

The art especially is TOP NOTCH.

Good job!

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Really great, amazing graphics and music too.

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Woah, this game is hardcore. Whoever came up with those puzzles is a sadist ;-) I like puzzle games but this is really hard. The art work is great and if you DO discover some endings, the outcome and the badges are rewarding ;-)

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Amazing! The graphics were beautiful!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Loved the sense of mystery and great mood. I tried to find the endings, but some seemed a bit cryptic. Cool game!

Lonely nerd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45pm

spent 3 hours of my life, opened all the endings, liked the game, you rock!

Finlal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great thanks lonely nerd!

SerpentWeb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

It's awesome. Really awesome. I played this game 2 hours and not open all endings.

Great work dudes!

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Amazing visual and animations! I discovered 4 endings, but I guess I did it just by random clicking :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Pretty neat!

deepnight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Ok I came back to your game and just spent 2 HOURS trying to figure out the solution. I'm stuck on the 5px matrix (4th ending). I'm tired. I need some sleep. I hate your game. I love your game. Dunno.

I will come back tomorrow.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Spend two hours on it with my neighbour upstairs and I could finally go throught all the sequence.
Maybe the longest time spent on testing a LD game, I love it :)

Finlal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Many thanks to those who have joined the game!
We were afraid that no one will see more than two endings and then quit playing.
Nice to see when trying to beat the game.
Thank you for your support!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

Very awesome game with some great pixel art and lots of little secrets. Perfect for the theme! - CC

eerongal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:17am

Interesting game. Also, crashed after i pressed the button in the TV....

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:19am

Really well put together, it's very stylistic and nice. It felt good to uncover a new set of buttons or whatever. Good work!

Finlal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

"crashed after i pressed the button in the TV...."

It does not crash the game , is one of the endings, run the game again and you will be credited +1 ending

Waschtl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:41am

So I figured out four endings on my own without the guide you provided. After that, I was pretty much clueless. Then I used the guide and I must say that there are clues on screen, but your way of thinking is kind of complicated. :p

On the other hand, I really loved the atmosphere. It reminded me of "Papers, Please". Great art and great sound!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:46am

It's really interesting, and quite creepy. Neat-o little thing you've made.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:12am

This game is so awesome!!! Nice graphics, great soundtrack, cool design and gameplay.

The only help I needed was the I II III panel. After that, I got the trick and after some time, I got all the endings!

Overall, I must to say that this is one of the best games. Congrats!

voidqk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:05am

5/5, fantastic!

Insality says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:35am

ooh, amazing puzzle game, so sweety!
awesome idea and implementation

Tipyx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:35pm

*click click click click click*

MOAR CLICK

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:52pm

10/10 AWESOME!
You guys are have done a great work, really. The art is really nice and the concept well thought. I still can't find some combination ;P

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Masterpiece! It's hard to play without guide, but that didn't break my expirience.

Praron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Really good idea and beautiful art, but puzzles are bad and hard :c

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Very nice work! I have only found the first two more obvious endings, but will be playing more of this. I really enjoy the music, and pixel art style.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:26pm

Great idea, I could only find two endings though :(

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Neat idea, good job!

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:53pm

wow!
awesome!
love the graphics <3 puzzles <3 everything
got five endings in about 40 minutes. i'll definitely keep playing

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:23am

Fantastic Graphics,awesome Music and great gameplay.Just love it!Bravo!!

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:24am

Mood, graphics and audio are super. Gameplay wasn't really for me. Got three endings.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:06am

Frickin' brilliant. I've so far gotten six endings and I'm going for them all!

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:35am

Awesome graphics :D interesting game
i tried my best to solve the different endings, but they seem to be designed by and for a mind out of this world (extraterrestrial?) xD

lots of stars for you guys, good job :)

Finlal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:01am

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:35am
"...they seem to be designed by and for a mind out of this world (extraterrestrial?) xD "

Maybe influenced by the fact that we are from Russia :)

Gungnir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Great game but it made me feel a bit stupid haha.

Thanks.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Fantastic animations, and sound and everything!
Enjoyed it a lot, the endings are brilliant.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Finlal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:01am
"AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:35am
"...they seem to be designed by and for a mind out of this world (extraterrestrial?) xD "

Maybe influenced by the fact that we are from Russia :)"

Nah I'm from the US and managed to get all but 2 of these c:

Finlal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:11am

"BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:59pm

managed to get all but 2 of these c:"

very good attempt , I hope you unlock the last two also с=

Knighty says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:40am

I did it! I found all the endings on my own! Amazing game.
The 0-9 number puzzle stumped me for awhile, because I thought it was related to the letters on a telephone.

Finlal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Knighty says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:40am
"I did it!"

Congratulations!

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Really cool, certainly a great mood and really nice audio and graphical polish!

Finding the hammer & smashing the screen and then having the game close on me was certainly interesting :D

jhice says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:32pm

WTF I dont understand the game :) I had a first explosion but cant go further, I click everywhere trying combinations, but nothing. Will get back to it...

Finlal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:00pm

jhice says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:32pm
WTF I dont understand the game :)

I advise you to see Guide from "Downloads and Links" :)

madahin says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:44pm

OK, that was awesome. I have to admit that i could not find all the ending without the guide... good graphism and sound, provide a good challenge, was really fun. You guys have made an excellent work !

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Really impressive. Got me hooked for quite a while, but couldn't figure out a number of them, so thanks for the guide!

jhice says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Okay :) Very hard but the retro style is great! Best rating until now from me.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Atmospheric and mind bending. It is refreshing to see something different that doesn't go to "cute".

GFM says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Wow, this is highly polished!

The puzzle that made me look into the guide was the I II III. Also, on the 49 buttons panel... I knew what to, but I didn't know where exactly to draw... =X
I also didn't know how to turn the switch left... I tried moving it (click+drag), but since it turns the switch right when you click on its center, I got kinda confused..

And the binary one I got by look. Was trying to input 366 and, accidentally, inputted the right sequence.


Well, I'm not that good with puzzles nor point-and-click games, so I think this is pretty good and do-able. =D
(but, yeah... too hard for me XD)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:00am

The button animation and overall design is amazing, loved seeing what would occur even if I wasn't quite sure how it all related. Great unique entry that I can't stop playing trying to uncover all the different endings.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Loved this one, very innovative i really enjoyed trying to solve all the senarios although i wasnt able to find all of them this was very entertaining! great entry

Kitch says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Really nice concept, and the whole experience was really cool. Only got three of the endings, but that's pretty good for me, as I'm terrible at these sort of games:)

Good job! Thanks!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:39am

Really fantastic job on this. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did, but the way things are put together it creates a really wonderful atmosphere. I played the postjam update btw.

First off, I like how things are just difficult enough to figure out so that you're about to give up... but then you do a sequence right and something new to play with pops up. It's a really wonderfully rewarding experience fiddling around with things and being rewarded with new ways to interact with the game because of it.

The music and sounds create a really nice layer of immersion, though I did find the red button sound to be somewhat annoying after a while. But it's forgivable. The music especially is actually really nice to just listen to... I've got the game running in the background and it's lovely.

The visuals were also really nicely handled, and adding a little image for every type of ending was a nice touch. Everything just really meshes well with itself.

I ended up finding 6 of the endings myself before giving it a break. But I'm leaving the game very satisfied, rather than frustrated or bored. Also, nice use of the theme. Great job guys, it's a really nice little compact experience.

peterkirk says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:50am

I played for a while and managed to get most of the endings. I did eventually have to look at the guide. Excellent work.

Backterria says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:50am

just came here to say hello again and how one of a masterpiece this is!I'll be playing it forever i think!Top 5 ;)

Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:11pm

pros:
- best game i played till now
- i love the puzzles and the simple mechanics
- gfx and sfx are awesome

cons:
- the bar puzzle is too difficut/not intuitive to be the puzzle that lead to many others

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Really well done. Great presentation.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:15pm

One of the best I've seen so far.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:24am

Very cool. Original idea, I love the decayed feel of the pixel art. :) Good job!

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:50am

Gorgeous and really well polished. Kinda hard, but well that is a puzzle game :)
Great work !

ppupae says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Awesome work! I'm 25 minutes in with 1 puzzle left, all the clues makes sense so far so I am sure I will work out this damned green panel soon! Beautiful artwork and really nice audio! Impressive little game!

greytram says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Excellent game!
Love the graphics, sound effects, music and the overall attention to detail!
I wonder how many hours it will take me to discover every possible ending :-)
Very well done!!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:04pm

This is...pretty well done, but it's also quite frustrating. I mean, there aren't any instructions. I decided to ASSUME that you use the mouse to control it--in a real game I wouldn't, but since this is a game made in a limited time I'll cut you some slack. (Really, all you need is a sentence that says "Use the mouse and see what happens". Otherwise, how am I supposed to know what I'm allowed to do?)

Anyway, apart from that...I blew up the city a few times, and for a while I was convinced that was the only thing possible. Then I realized that if you mash the button for a while more stuff happens...But none of this stuff makes any sense or has any motivation behind it. I turned the video upside down, or something, which I guess counts as an ending? Ultimately it all just seemed pointless, though.

crazyrems says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Your soundtracks are fabulous !
The puzzles are quite hard to find I didn't find how to use the I II III buttons.
A very nice game.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:05pm

BEST. GAME. EVER!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Really nice graphics and mood. Even with the guide I couldn't figure out how to get any ending other than the apocalypse one.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Very neat concept, and it looks great! It's a compelling machine to play with and try to explore all of the possibilities of.

Well done!

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I really enjoyed this game. It's actually perfectly suited to the games I love to play. I would like to point out a possible bug, and that's during the "Wait a minute" ending, the game freezes "stops" but won't let you reset. You have to exit out.
I really hope to see more of your work in the future! 5/5 all around from me.

Dexyne says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Something great! Good graphics and ambiance!
Not finding all the endings actually but I will try!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:08pm

You did good in every category. A great Ludum dare entry for sure, almost perfect for the format of the rating :)!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Look very nice wait for a html5 version :)

Finlal says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Sorry, but HTML5 version is very specific to build. Believe me, we tried.
But, don't give up ;) We are now working on the full version for almost all major platforms ;)

dunin says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Cool mood and hard puzzle (maybe too?...).
Congratulations!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:37am

A really nice idea and also very funny

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:18am

Very nice! ;)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Plays really nice on my phone. Great puzzler! You could make a series of games like this, like the room escape kind of games.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:26pm

That's a very neat idea. I love these "locked in a room" puzzles somehow. Graphics are great, music fits well too. Awesome entry!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Love the progression! Also has really nice graphics, well done! :)

Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:58am

cool

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:37am

Overall a really good and fun game. I managed to figure out 7 of the 11 endings but got stuck on the number panel. I love the graphics and all the different endings.

stasss says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:25am

Nice game! Looks really cool.

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:13am

It's all five stars! Best entry here!

madameberry says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

That was fantastic!
The hammer ending really surprised me.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Congraz, this is a very cool game with clever puzzles!
Love the old televison-style animation.

Well made!

banana4life says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Very interesting

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

2 Endings left, I'm giving up :D. Nice pixely graphics.

Pitzik4 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

This was quite the experience! The graphics and animation were beautiful, as others have said. The only puzzles I couldn't figure out on my own were the simplest ones... the 1234 buttons and figuring out that you can press the red button more than twice. Well, OK, I also had to look in the guide to figure out where, exactly, the points of the pentagram were, but I didn't really have any way of figuring that out as far as I know.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:13am

I think you did a great job with this. I'm interested in sitting down for a lot longer and trying to figure out the whole thing. At first I didn't even realize it HAD other endings, or that it had ended.

I like that you sort of have to pick up on that and notice the small changes. It's very cool. Also, the music is nice and the UI gives the whole thing an eerie yet relaxed atmosphere.

Nice job! Congrats on getting it in and thanks for commenting/voting on Natquik! :)

marekmarek says ...
Jan 6, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Such a a great climate! I love the concept. How do I contact you? Any www address?

Finlal says ...
Jan 8, 2015 @ 12:46am

"marekmarek says ...
Jan 6, 2015 @ 1:47pm
How do I contact you? Any www address?"


You can contact us with mail - blinchik116@mail.ru

Toaster58 says ...
Feb 26, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Excuse me, I just wanted to say that the link to DL the Windows (post-jam or not) version leads me to a 404 not found... Would it be possible to have another link or to fix that, please? I'd like to play your game, it looks great.

Finlal says ...
Feb 27, 2015 @ 8:40pm

All fixed!

kanyka says ...
Mar 27, 2015 @ 9:00am

404 error once againe
for windows and android links

sararyCow says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I just discovered your game and I think it would be great to play it but the links for the windows or android do not work. Can you upload new ones please?

DeltaF1 says ...
May 17, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Still getting 404 errors :(

Four Quarters says ...
Dec 7, 2015 @ 6:26pm

All UP again!

Mar 26, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Why is Humus created when weeds are killed?

Catur_Ridwan says ...
Feb 19, 2017 @ 2:55am

Hey ! I'm Your Fans woooh. i repeat(30){Very} like your game , your art, your music. and allovit !. can u give me the sprite && object please ? >> {just for learning}

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]