Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Get the fick out

by elkiwydev - Compo Entry

INTRO:
Silly game about a drunk man, exploding chairs, wild fires, and far-west style saloon..

STORY:
All the people presents in the saloon want to kick you out, and of course you do not want it.. You just want to be drunk and throw chairs at people.

FEATURES:
- Three randomly generated rooms with random tables with random chairs random random random..
- So and so enemy path finding..
- Fire's propagation system
- Chair throwing system
- Drunk walking
- Particles!
- Awesomeness!
- Endless game ( Yes, there isn't actually an end now :\ )

CONTROLS:
WASD or Arrows to move,
Right click to pick up chair,
Left click to throw chair.

TOOLS:
-Engine -> GameMaker:Studio
-Image -> GraphicsGale (Mainly I used the internal sprite editor in GM)
-Audio -> Audacity/Bfxr

OTHER:
- I'll not build for Web. I can do it with GameMaker but it simply do not work fine, I prefer to have only one version which runs smooth and clean.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#78Humor3.58
#217Fun3.49
#313Mood3.22
#318Audio3.10
#408Innovation3.32
#485Overall3.26
#682Theme3.51
#721Graphics2.81

Comments

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26am

Well, that was fun. Saloons are, in general.
I would have liked the graphics to be more literal instead of those tiny little dots for characters. Music was great, but I thought the sound effects didn't fit good to that.
And... I won't ask why. :)

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Really great game! I love the drunk walking and general awesomeness of throwing exploding chairs at people.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:41am

Lots of fun! I like the attention to detail, like your player wobbling around and the fire spreading. The music is quite fitting too. Also: Exploding chairs. That's always a plus.

lion123 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02am

Fun game, exploding chairs, being drunk. Makes sense :D

moldfire says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06am

Good game though occasionally I got stuck in a wall and had to restart, though I think that's more my computers fault.

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

Solid game play, graphics is good. :)

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26am

randomly generated levels ? I like that. The controls seem quite strange : the player slows down and accelerates without explanation... maybe it's because he is drunk... But what Ficking concept... Congrats !

reheated says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:49am

I wasn't expecting explosions! Fun and hard. I enjoyed setting up a wall of fire and coaxing people into it. I tried and tried but couldn't kill the boss - what am I missing?

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:54am

Destructible environment is great here and exploding chairs are fun. On the other hand, the amount of particles is little over top.

elkiwydev says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:48pm

@reheated the boss is intentionally very hard, it should take around 7 chairs to kill him..

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05pm

There are some tiny bugs, but nothing game breaking. This is a very solid entry. I had a lots of fun playing this game. Take my stars!

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:07pm

couldn't pass the first door...

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Good fun :) Didn't shut down properly though, leaked and crashed the game I was playing :( I didn't mark you down for that, but might be something you want to fix :P

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I'm probably not drunk often enough to really get this game. It suffers from a few little bugs, and I found the 'action' a little too small, I think there were better ways to cope with the theme.

I can totally see how this game could be fun, and the graphical effects are hilarious, but I guess it's just not for me!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Very cool adn fun game :3

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice...

Pretty funny particles, sound effects and screen vibration.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I like this. Graphics are bare but fitting, sounds also fit well. I like the drunk controls, although it makes the whole thing really hard.

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Like the music, like the fire, and that stuff is destroyed! I didn't understand how to play at first, and the "How to" hidden by the level. But after reading about the controls here it made sense. Great job, I had fun playing!

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Very cool game! I had some trouble figuring out what's what in this mess of pixels, but overall a very fun experience! With exploding chairs!

mauris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:31pm

- Chair throwing system this is just amazing! Love the movement, love the idea!

AndresGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:35pm

That was a lot of fun. I think there may be a bug because the first few times I played the background screen was brown and could hardly see. Would have liked to see a drunk dude milling around.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Music was nice and calm, couldn't get through the first door, when I full screened, it froze, and stopped responding,

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

The concept of this game is awesome, I never though throwing a chair inside a saloon would start a fire, but what the hell would I know, I didn't live in western times! The game mechanics are great, the drunk walking whilst frustrating makes it that much more fun to play. This is an awesome game. Good work!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Nice

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Heh.. really nice. So real:D cool mechanics.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:50pm

awesome game! :D I love it

Domicuc says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:45am

Really good work! :) Also check my project,if you have some time x)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:06pm

nice, very funny game, well done

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:13am

Great concept!

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The bleeps and bloops don't really fit the saloon motif, but I really liked how it played. The player and enemies were a bit small though and kinda blended in, making it hard to get very far.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:29am

Kinda fun! I like the music and the general vibe :) It's pretty hard to hit anyone though, but I guess that's not too surprising.

I couldn't manager to defeat that buff dude though.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:30am

Kinda fun! I like the music, graphics and the general vibe :) It's pretty hard to hit anyone though, but I guess that's not too surprising.

I couldn't manager to defeat that buff dude though.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:41pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]