Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tobias is Running Alone

by coded_ninja - Compo Entry

The idea of the game is to make every level to fit on the screen and then at harder levels it will be smaller = harder to play. At the end I made this. I worked 30 hours and I hope my next LD will be better. Move with WASD and hit with Left and Right Arrow Keys. Have fun!

Story:
Tobias is a boy who lives with his mother. His mother thinks, that Tobias is a little boy who needs help and care. But Tobias is 190 cm tall and 93 kg. unfortunately it's not small... Tobias helps for his Mom and stay home, "because the world out is really dangerous".
At home Tobias only can play with teddy-bears and with his Mom. But when Mom doesn't see Tobias, he does work-out. This is why Tobias can help really great for his Mom.
But on a beautiful day soldiers came and they took Mom. Tobias remained alone in House. After this Tobias started to go out and found some big friends. They drank a lot of beer... And one day Tobias found a letter at his house. It was from his Mom: "Dear Tobias, the soldiers who took me were bad people, I didn't do any bad thing. Tobias if you love me, come and save me. I'm in a prison full with soldiers, I know you're strong enough to come here and take me out. There is a map on the other side of this paper. Follow that. I'm waiting you, Mom".
Tobias knew, that he needs to go!

Destroy more crates and you have the chance to get more energy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#425Humor2.69
#458Audio2.88
#692Fun2.95
#696Graphics2.86
#749Overall3.00
#760Mood2.69
#976Innovation2.46
#1191Theme2.17

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

Not really buying the use of theme and all the energy system seems to do is make you have to wait a bunch. Maybe if it regened a bit more quickly. It was a pretty good game regardless. I like the blend of action and puzzling.

coded_ninja says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:24am

Thank you for your opinion. It helps a lot

coded_ninja says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26am

The connection between the game and the theme is that the levels are the size of the screen and they'll be smaller.

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:29am

I walked left (walking left), and then nothing more happened. Couldn't get back on screen, no game over or anything. But the music was nice!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16am

Ummm... the idea of the game could not fit into the compo theme, but justify itself the mechanics and playability (which is very very good, with a learning curve almost optimal).

Good done.

coded_ninja says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Thank you very much for your comments! It helps a lot in my future games!

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Lonely mac :(

Fnkee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Haha I absolutely love the character. Great backstory.
I like the concept with the energy, but it got tiring when you'd have to wait for it to recharge. Your game was really addicting, and I got as far as the stage with the floating platforms. Maybe you should add some checkpoints to this, so you won't have to start all over every time.
Good job on the game!

coded_ninja says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:30pm

LexGear I can't export to Mac, because I don't have Mac computer. :(
Fnkee, thank you really much...You made my day better.
The energy is recharging slowly, because I wanted to don't jump just any time, you need to care with that.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Cool mechanic for as for the energy system. However, it is a lot of waiting for things to happen. Since you just wait in front of an enemy to regain enough energy to punch it in the face. Platforming is solid and the beer thing is quite funny. The music didn't really stick with me and came of as somewhat somber and repetitive, but good effort non the less.

Chris Delta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Energy doesn't quite recharge fast enough, I like it as a mechanic, but standing there waiting for my energy to recharge so I can jump up one tile gets old fast.

hajszal99 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Is a really good game, good story. I've enjoyed it. I'm proud of you, my friend!

mauris says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Cool idea and style, but energy system is not balanced :(

Bernhard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Add microtransactions to reduce the wait, it's genius!
Just kidding, punching machine guns is pretty sweet.
But restarting at the beginning was kinda harsh :-(

coded_ninja says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Good idea man! :D Thank you for playing!

grid96 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

A little bit annoying to wait for the energy so often. And a sound when you get hit would be cool too. But cool graphics.

SumGato says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I don't like the energy system. It is specially annoying since you have to start from the beginning each time you die and in some levels there is no other option than to wait until Tobias recovers its energy.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Tobias likes bear. So do I :) Nice little game

JJEvil says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Cool game.

indiglo963 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I miss a checkpoint in the middle, is very frustranting when you play a lot and die near the end. But if your intent was to be a hard game, your game is very fun!

coded_ninja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Yes my plan was to make a hard game. This is why the energy is regenerating slowly, because then you can't jump and can't hit what you want, you need to make plans.

jovoc says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:34am

Cool game! I don't see how it fits the "one screen" theme though. The energy was kind of annoying, it felt like a limitation that didn't really add any depth to the game. But quite a lot of world built out for a compo game. nice job.

Night says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:05am

I like game, it gives lots of fun. It's enough tricky and it's good )) Restart from the very beginning is slightly annoying.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Nice job on the story, energy regen felt a little slow, other than that, good job!

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 5:11pm

I tried to to jump when exiting the first level. Apparently I jumped over the level trigger and fell off the map. It was pretty cool after I figured that out, though! I died on the moving platform level - I expected the moving platforms to pull you along with them if you were standing on them, rather than slide out from under you.

Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Interesting!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:40pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]