Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Omn Nom

by Mathieu Muller - Compo Entry

OmnNom is a Pacman clone... under LSD. Move with arrow keys, fetch bonus, and avoid the ghosts. Be warned, some kind of bonus... aren't really one.

To start the game, move the character on the blue triangle (play) icon.
To exit the game, move the character on the red square (stop) icon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#145Humor3.29
#181Audio3.37
#607Graphics3.00
#655Theme3.53
#666Fun2.97
#685Mood2.80
#704Overall3.06

Comments

PERECil says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Note that there isn't any end screen when your live count goes to 0. Didn't had the time. Exit the game by moving to the stop icon.

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:00pm

:D I liked it
different lvls are cool

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Title is definitely fitting, I can say that much :D

Fun version of Pac-Man with some weird but cool sounds.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Crazy music, wish it looped. Other than that, pretty decent pacman clone, and I like the way you start the game.

Oh, and I couldn't tell what the bonuses were doing, so I don't know which bonus is not a bonus.

PERECil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:47pm

They are 7 kinds of bonuses:
- Red musical note: Stop the music (because when it gets in your head, you can't remove it)
- Green musical note: Start the music (it's already in your head, why bother)
- Overdose (bigger point): Slow you down. You know... you need to digest that one.
- Invulnerability (yellow star): grants you 3 seconds of invulnerability to ghosts
- One up (heart): give you one supplemental life
- Green, Yellow, Red apple: 100, 200 and 500 bonus points.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:00pm

The damn dots come back! Nice game.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Avoid the crazy installer please and it did not work after :(

PERECil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:31pm

The installer is done automatically by my IDE, it ensures that every dependency is installed along the game. What was your problem?

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Neat game, levels, yay!

danielilett says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:24pm

This was alright. It was just a Pac-Man clone with nice music in the background, and slightly shinier graphics, but it was pretty fun. One thing to mention is that it doesn't have a game over screen when you run out of lives, so I was still running around for a bit, and was confused why I wasn't picking anything up. Still pretty neat though.

samfreeman05 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:50am

I love the song

Bernhard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Yeah pac-man clones! *high five*
Why does the red note exist? NEVER STOP THE MUSIIIC~
Made it up to 9500 points.

codeapparat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Haha, the music is awesome! Overall a fun PacMan clone. I responded to your question in the comments of my game. It's usually best to have at least the option to download the game without an installer for Ludum Dare, cause many probably have XNA4 installed anyway and installers tend to clutter the system's registry.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:24pm

PacMan is alive forever ++

gene-z says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:18pm

I Know this game,, kidding, cool game

hwinwuzhere says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:25pm

The only thing I could thing while playing was: What on earth am I playing? Seriously, so awesome :P

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Packman will newer die! xD

Clonestyle says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:08pm

I liked it overall. The only thing I would say is maybe add some different AI personality, or maybe they just chase you a bit more because it was easy to dodge them but other than that I liked it!

asobitech says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:40am

Just a small note regarding installers. The problem is with Ludum Dare games, is that you've got like over 2000 of them to try out and even if only 10% are installers, that's still 200 games that need to be installed before you can actually play them. It's one extra step you have to take before you can test it out.
That said, I've just downloaded your game, gonna install it and then get back to you with some rating and notes :D

asobitech says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:46am

Interesting variation on the Pac-Man theme. The movement feels stilted as it moves from tile to tile, rather than it gliding. I like the fact you have to run over the play sign to start the game and you can quit by running over the stop.
Respawning dots make it a bit more interesting as well.
The ghosts could be a little less random though.
Love the sound effects and music.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:08am

Hello asobitech, thanks for testing my game. It's my second ludum dare, and the first game I made for Windows. I'll upload a non installer version!

XTremEive says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:44pm

Funny variant of an old classic. I liked the music.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]