Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Same Insane

by hazzahazzam - Compo Entry

My second LD! Made in 15 hours with love.

You're a turtle trying to complete the level, you have the same map design each time, however each level something is different.

Source is a zipped Unity project. (Music removed otherwise too large, you might get some errors because of this.

Tried to make spike hitbox as forgiving as possible. (So don't complain about it :D).

Sound effects: BFXR.net
Music: abundant-music.com
Art: Photoshop
Made in: Unity

There are 20 levels for you to enjoy!

I removed humour voting because it'll be 0 anyway.

Theme was pretty bad, hope I did well.

*NEW* Timelapse: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VMOEc1KcarM

Without further ado, play my game! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#90Fun3.73
#96Theme4.13
#198Overall3.60
#326Audio3.09
#411Mood3.09
#495Innovation3.21
#809Graphics2.70

Comments

Dew says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:38am

Great idea! I never realized that replaying a level could be fun xD

Jack31081988 says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 12:59pm

This is fun! first i had trouble with the resolution, but then we had a lot of fun

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

Really good job with getting so much playability out of one level structure! That's a lot of different mechanics to have to program within the time constraints!

The one that beat me was the gravestones one. Man that was difficult!

If the turtle could just have his little feet plod I feel that would add a lot to the visuals.

Changing the hue was a real nice touch - on the grave level it was the only way for me to know I'd died! Also looked super awesome if you died quick (RAINBOW MODE ACTIVATE).

A death counter I feel would certainly add more to the game.

Thanks for making this and best of luck for the competition!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34am

Hi!
Hahaha really hard! Its awesome how everything changes everytime you die.

laxeot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:03am

My favourite from the compo!

wilham7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

Loved the game, very creative and gave me a good amount of entertainment!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11am

Nice clone of This Is The Only Level! I would've liked the jump to feel better (it's hard to control) but otherwise it's fun.

Vtor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20am

Congratulations!

bryanegraham says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:27am

Not going to lie, I refreshed the page and played again. Great game, and super faithful to the theme!

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:36pm

One of the best uses of the theme I've seen so far. Really nice.

bofink says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Really responsive controls! :)

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56am

Cool use of the theme! I liked the different challenges on the same terrain. A sound when you land may make it easier to time your jumps especially on level 8 (where I got stuck)

Sublustris says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57am

NintendoHell and 8BitHard :) love it.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22am

Gosh i love this style of game. Had to tap out at level 8. I'm weak

kts_kettek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:36am

Grave Stone Simulator 2014

Samm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:41am

I thought it was worth having a humor vote!

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:46am

Very nice game! Don't know why you removed humour, I quite enjoyed a few of those challenges. Simple but engaging enough, was fun puzzling out each level.

resty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:47pm

it's fun! just finished all the levels~

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Really cool idea. Some of the level changes are really cool. I like the way your familiarity with the map plays against being unsure of how the level will work. Nicely done.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:45am

I loved your use of the theme!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:12am

Now why would the controls be backwards with the level title "Is This Australia?" haha! movement feels quite awkward but still fun to play! great effort! Nice music as well!

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:19am

Nice use of the theme! Got through all the levels. Level 10 almost stumped me.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:44am

The most charming turtle I've ever had the pleasure of killing repeatedly! Great game!

ALobker says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:11pm

So frustrating!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:59am

I remember some flash game with an elephant similar to this. Also thought the movement was a little slippery and sliding all over the place.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:22am

I really enjoyed this. Looks simple but very good and colorful. Very clever use of the them and challanging gameplay. But I could not get past the level where I move with the mouse. The level was bigger than my screen(shitty old monitor). I hope you can fix this somehow because I really want to finish this!

Shivur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Fun game !

jpmit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Cool game. It had me hooked! Decent take on the theme as well. Great music and graphics.

MaesK says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Nice work! Reminds me of a certain elephant... But it's great, this theme deserves it. Great game.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Neat track, but I felt like it sampled this is the only level a little too much. Be that as it may, I still played through the entire thing :).

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:13pm

This is truly wonderful! Humorous, fun, creative and one of the best takes on the theme! This was really thinking outside of the box, thank you for the experience!

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Great use of the theme! Definitely frustrating in parts, but replaying the same level over and over again highlighted the new challenges in a way that made them more amusing than upsetting :).

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]