Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Book

by Bachyard - Compo Entry

A game of dashing and avoidance. Click anywhere to dash to a wall. Hit all the walls to kill all the enemies on screen and net some bonus points. Death is inevitable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Audio3.46
#345Innovation3.42
#416Theme3.70
#500Humor2.56
#610Fun3.04
#637Graphics2.96
#715Mood2.75
#838Overall2.92
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

I quite enjoyed the music track. Pretty clever mechanics coupled with a simple overarching goal makes for a good entry.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39am

Really chill and fun game, but I kept dying for reasons I couldnt understand. A readme would help.

DXsmiley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:40am

Interesting mechanic. I kept getting game-overs and I couldn't figure out why. While the game was working (to my understanding) it was enjoyable.

Logun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:42am

I like the feeling of the ball, but I didn't undertsand sometimes why I died :(
I want to avoid more of those little fire buddy, but I always lost (dunno why) before it gets tricky, very frustrating ! :)
Music is pretty cool !

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I love the physics and the main blue main character.

shubshub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

It was difficult

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I must admit that I wasn't entirely sure what was going on, but I managed to last a while by flinging myself from wall to wall.

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Why did I die ?? Like the music btw. The graphics are colorful ! But why the hell did I die this time. I try again to understand. Is there a death timer ?

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Looks like the hit zone of fire stuff is too big, i keep dying wile being far from the fire balls. But the concept and the physic is good :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Cool concept, and I love the audio. I do seem to be randomly dieing on occasion (playing in Chrome). Otherwise pretty cool.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:22pm

"Death is inevitable" I can see that :)
I had no idea why or when it happens. But it sure do.
Appart of that I like the core mechanic, its very innovative. Maybe you shold add an angle constraint so you can't target nearby walls and avoid big crossing.

Bachyard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:33am

That's really strange. It seems as though one of my enemies is not showing up. Let me try rebuilding it.

Bachyard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36am

There we go! Rebuilt it and it seems to be working from my end. Can anyone else confirm?

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:43am

I enjoyed the mechanic, so different, original, was fun. Music was surprisingly good and simple.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Ah ah, nice gameplay ! Maybe an upgrade system ? Or some powerup scattered in the room ?

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Good music and cool concept. Needs some kind of powerup system though, gameplay became repetitive when I realized that the best strategy was to just go in circles around the outside.

jmborden says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Fun game that is easy to pick up. A high score would have been great icing =). I had fun playing it, good job!

Lynx says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:32am

Interesting concept, but it needs a little fleshing out in the gameplay mechanics... I was kind of able to cheat the game by just clicking the walls in a clockwise or counter-clockwise circle every time and win without much of any risk within mere seconds.

I'm not sure how you can combat this, maybe make it so you can't jump to the one next to you unless you've already been there

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]