Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Context Quest

by Harrs - Compo Entry

Retake a fantasy world from a legion of monsters in Context Quest, a minimal RPG that takes place entirely on a single world map screen. Click on zones to bring up the context menu, and use the six options inside to purify the map one zone at a time!

Okay now with the pitch out of the way, Combat is done by clicking on the square you're on, same thing with gathering. You can get new equipment to boost your attack and health by gathering items and crafting them into new equipment. There are also a variety of usable items to heal you, increase your attack power, or deal damage to enemies.

I'm going to be updating this, I ran out of time before I got to add some stuff I wanted to. I'm going to be adding a tool-tip and proper zone descriptions going forward.

I hope you like the game, thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2251Coolness14%

Comments

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Interesting game!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Interesting concept! Very grindy.

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

Overall a pretty neat concept. It is a little tedious and carpal-tunnel inducing. Maybe you can work on the combat and gathering mechanics to make it more involved than "click to win". Still, I like the vibe to it and it definitely taps into the addictive, incremental progress psychology that many successful RPGs are built on.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

I feel like it needed something more at the end. After clearing all of the regions nothing happens, it just keeps going. It was a good start at something, but the interface was a bit irritating. It should just travel on click, and open the menu if you're already there, so you don't have to click so many times just to move around. The feeling of progression through the middle was good, it just didn't have the staying power to be as long as it was.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:39am

Pretty fun! All the clicking did get kind of tiring, though, heh. I like the music a lot. The colored-squares aesthetic is neat, but I think it would be really cool if you could get some fantasy art. Also maybe some little story bits or events that happen? Maybe make the world feel more 'alive'. But that's all wishful thinking; the one thing that really bothered me was that I found it hard to accumulate stuff to craft. Like, I conquer the first land, and I can craft stuff if I get Herbs and Spices. And yet I gathered a dozen times and never found Spices. It's like, the player is interested in the crafting, but they just get told "No you can't do that" until they get the message and stop trying. But I'm sure you can figure out how to fix that. ;)

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:24am

Liked:
- Graphics. Simple, but consistent
- Content: an impressive amount
- Music: was jamming

Disliked:
- Amount of clicking: carpal tunnel inducing
- Lack of story: needs something awesome to go with the music!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:07pm

The music is intense. I liked the minimalistic concept! I had some trouble figuring out what to do, I was able to travel to two regions but there wasn't much feedback when using the context menu options.

Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:22am

OP Sword Get!
Carpal Tunnel Get!

This game was very addictive (with cool music that helped me get into the trancey nature of Clicking Forever), but by the end it also became physically painful ;~; On the other hand, I did feel like I had played an entire grindfest RPG through the course of about an hour or so, so it was like... an RPG, just condensed. I appreciate that. I ended up getting to the end without using anything but equipment.

The one thing I'd change is that a lot of your descriptions of weapon costs and whatnot get cut off, so the grinding becomes kind of unbearably frustrating--I don't know how much I'm supposed to grind, or what I'm supposed to grind, and so in order to get the swords I needed to beat the final island I went and just ground all my metallic stuff up to 100, and hoped for the best.

This was a really fun entry. Thanks for the game!

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:14am

I had a lot of fun with this but OH MY GOD THE CLICKING! Seriously, took a fifteen-minute break to google how to map a keyboard key to left mouse click on a laptop without a numpad, didn't find any options I liked, and now my right arm is lying on the floor twitching and looking up at me sadly.

Also was unable to craft scrolls of annihilation because they took "parchement" and all I had was parchment, also wanted to make the Unassailable Fortress or whatever it was but the crafting ingredients were listed as "Magic Ore x100 Adam."

Anyway, I liked this well enough to kill my hand on it, so that's something! Music was nice too.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:44am

Where's the ending??? I really liked the style and progress through the world. My poor fingers and mouse though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]