Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Keep Watching

by Ken Scott - Compo Entry

Whatever you do, keep watching the screen.

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move Character
Space - Attack
WASD - Move Player
Mouse - Look/Rotate

Created by Ken Scott

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#119Innovation3.88
#219Theme3.90
#313Mood3.22
#512Overall3.24
#561Audio2.69
#626Graphics2.98
#958Fun2.59

Comments

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08am

Nice idea. I liked the atmosphere. The only thing you could improve is the quality of the sprites.

anael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23am

bit confusing controls but good idea

DanHayesGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31am

Just a tip, clicking on the web link gives me a download. Try removing the "s" from "https" in the link, that should give us the web player in browser. :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43am

Fresh idea. But gameplay on screen is boring. I belive you can do something more dynamic and doesn't require additional control buttons.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:50am

Nice :)

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12am

Good idea, but camera move move too quick. :)

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47am

Really well implemented idea, very slick.
As Yaroslav said above, it would be cool if the game screen had a little more to it, more interaction.

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02am

Extremely fun concept.

prymidion says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:14am

Interesting concept (and defiant of the theme! This game is the definition of a game taking place on multiple screens hahaha.)

As other commenters have noted, I would have liked for the action on the screens to be a little more exciting. Having the player freeze when slashing made the combat not very exciting.

Lissar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17am

It's an interesting concept although I found it a little annoying to play! Maybe that was the point?

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:23am

Wonderful idea. I wish the controls of the character were tighter, but very well executed overall.

bofink says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:24am

Sweet game, I like the idea! Though the look sensitivity is a tad too high. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Man I was creeped out at first, thought the things behind me were people watching me play the game. Haha, good fun. Although not sure if there's an ending?

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18pm

The high mouse sensitivity ruined the game for me. I like the music though.

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I just get a download link when I try to play the web version...

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Hard to play but highly original. I wish your web version was working, just upload it on a site like itch.io

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:17am

This is one of the coolest ideas for the theme that I've seen so far. So much potential.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:26am

Controls were a bit difficult at first, but got the hang of them fairly quickly. Wish there was more to it than just killing the enemies in the arena, but it is an excellent idea! Would like to see more to it.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:57am

This is a really cool concept! I'd love to see where this could go if you had a chance to make the main game and the meta-game progress into different stages.

The controls in the meta-game could be more responsive, and the mouselook seems too sensitive.

The look of the game is great, with a single screen illuminating this dauntingly sterile room. Nice work!

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:45am

Fixed Web upload. Haven't addressed any of the control issues to keep true to the spirit of the competition.

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:10pm

haha . i love that

kothead says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:07am

Played several times, and only then understood that I can move a viewer. Awesome idea! But controls of the character are stiff a bit. Anyway, well done!

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:41am

Very cool way to deal with the theme. I like that !

oranebeast says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:03am

Interesting

Sestren says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:39pm

I like the approach. Using the light cast by the TV screen and the sound to find the right screen added to the atmosphere. The controls inside the 2D game were way too sluggish and unresponsive, in my opinion, though.

Nekith says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Nice idea! Double control, yeah!
But the maneuverability of the sprite on the screen is not really good.
And you could have featured an end or death...

doos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:22pm

This reminds me of the time I was locked in Dixons overnight.. :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:22am

This has a clever premise, but seems to not be much more than that. The game inside of a game is not compelling enough for me to actually want to search for it when it moves to another screen. There is a lot of potential in this idea for making the player confused and unsettled if you were intending the player to feel like that. The music loop was too short, but was good at indicating where the active screen was. I think the Doppler on the audio when you move around was really strange sounding, and for the most part the sound effects were too harsh (especially the attack sound). Moving the character around inside the screen was really strange feeling since he didn't seem to always play the right facing animation. Also forcing the character to move on a grid felt bad, and the attack felt frustrating since it forced you to stand still. I really wanted the game inside of the game to have a goal, or at the very least some kind of failure condition but it did not. Sometimes the enemies would hurt you from getting attack since they got thrown back from the direction they were moving in, which felt frustrating as well. The lighting on the active monitor was a nice touch to indicate to the player where to go, and I rarely had too much trouble repositioning. If there was something in the interior game to make the player feel rushed to find the new monitor, I feel like this idea would work a lot better. If you plan to keep working on this idea, I could definitely see it going somewhere. If not, I hope you join us for the next LD! Thanks for making your game!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Nice subversive interpretation of the theme!

I love the idea here, but agree with some other folks: the game in the screen is a little lackluster - if it was tweaked to be a bit smoother and faster-paced, this would be the start of something excellent.

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Cool concept, what's going on? Why am I in a tiny room? How can I afford so many TV's HOW DID I GET HERE?

jk good game

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]