Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Avalanche

by uvwar - Compo Entry

Try to fullscreen your player if at all possible, and be sure to crank up your sound for maximum enjoyment.

Can you climb the precarious peaks to reach your goatly kin?

W,A,S,D or Arrow keys to control, Spacebar to jump.

In case you can't get enough of the music
https://soundcloud.com/vrolik/goatmusic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#23Humor3.93
#57Audio3.81
#157Mood3.46
#182Graphics3.75
#495Innovation3.21
#535Fun3.10
#560Overall3.19
#1103Theme2.88

Comments

YM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

Ye gods, "Entire Game on One Screen...and the surounding walls, the ceiling and the floor too" How big is your monitor?

The music was nice, pretty comical actually, but it faded out to almost silent as soon as I moved the goat away from the start position.

I must admit, I can't get beyond the little avalanche, I'll try again later.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Fun game! Physics and audio made me laugh! Good work!

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I couldn't get the goat to jump, he did once or twice but most of the time I was stuck on the platform. I like the art style, but seems a bit unfinished.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:56pm

A very relaxing game with very pretty low poly visuals.
I think you should fix the pretty clunky controls and the very unprecise collision detection

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

The integreated music is just wonderful and how it mirrors the events in the game. A game where it is almost funnier to die than reaching the goal, now that's something. Great work!

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Such a funny game!
I can't stop laughing :D

EvilObjective says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

I loved how the music changed as you fell. I also liked the low poly graphics.

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Fun idea and really well executed. Pretty hard. Didn't reach the top after multiple tries. The microscopically small goat makes it extra tough but somehow also makes it cooler :)

Having that animal plummet all that long way to its death is just funny cruel :) Especially with the sound underlining that long fall even more. The avalanche is well done and quite a surprise when it happens to you for the first time.

Really nice animations. Overall the graphics work really well. Great job!

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:11am

Oh my god, This is amazing!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13am

The controller is ok, and it's a good idea I just did not like the music.

stasss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:44am

Very nice artwork. Interestinf camera work, but confusing.Great job!

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

audio hurts my ears! i like it! great game!

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Weirdest game I've ever seen in my life. And yes, dying is more rewarding than (probably) reaching the goal, because the 3D sound warping is incredible. "Maximum enjoyment" indeed. Definitely do fullscreen if you can't see the whole picture.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:06am

Pretty neat concept but I don't feel it fits the theme.

mahu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:10am

WHOA! this game is so frustrating!!!
nice graphics by the way! =)

Meral says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:36am

[Insert that melody here]

Thank god I played this right before going to bed.

[Insert that melody here]

Nice job on the graphics effects when elements break apart and gather at the foot of the mountain.

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:16am

It so funny!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:24am

hilarious - i love the falling goat and how the pitch of the music changes - genius

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:14am

The soundtrack is just epic!Good game overall!

admix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:00pm

I like the music, nice ^____^

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:38pm

The music makes this hilarious, I wouldn't mind the wonky controls if the collisions were little better. Guess it just adds to the humor.

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Good game and humor. Poor goats :(

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:51pm

i enjoyed this game, I mean look
Goats = +1
Being a goat +3
The animation +5
the music +6
the difficulty!! Oh i died lots and lots, Fun game.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Relaxing game... I fell in love with it... Amazing graphics! Well done!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I love the visual style and music (though it started to grate on me). I found the controls to be pretty tricky and didn't make it to the top after several attempts. The collapsing platform made me give up.

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Nice music ^^

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:55pm

A trolling game :D I like the idea of it. Thanks for making this game!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:21pm

really weird !
it makes it funny in a way, but the music soon started to get on my nerves :D I still like how the sound deforms with the falling
It's pretty hard also, I gave up before reaching the top - falling felt way funnier

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Wasn't a big fan of the audio, but enjoyed the graphics. Well done. :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:30am

awesome game :)

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:31am

Hardest game of LD31. Managed to beat it after a couple of tries. Totally worth the effort!

Ashtom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:27am

Funny settings that made me laugh. Pitching down the music when the goat is falling was a nice touch. I was a bit frustrated by the controls and couldn't pass the first avalanche. Might try again another time.

sebasRez says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I gave this a high humor because the music made me laugh. Not so sure if it fits whats going on but I also think it really improves the experience. Man that little sucker is hard to control too, and I know there isn't a lot of time but a little how to would be helpful even if it's just wasd jump. I also really liked the colors and the look so nice job!

erik says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:19am

Controls and physics are frustrating, and I'm wondering if it's actually winnable. But I'm impressed with the effect you were able to create with the visuals.

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:10am

I want the goat music to be the music theme for my life

Warboys says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:45am

Honestly I couldn't get past the Avalanche on my 4th try and by that point the AWESOME MUSIC was driving me insane. Can it be won?!

Nice humor and I love the low poly style... and that dreaded music :D

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Cute idea, but SUPER frustrating controls. Jump simply does not seem to work if you are next to a wall. If the player goat didn't constantly bounce to the music, and could jump when next to walls, it might be more fun, as a suggestion.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I smiled at the music. Great idea about that. I liked the shadow, it really helps maneuvering.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]