Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Animal Roar

by gillenew - Compo Entry

Help the strange animal to collect all the plant sprouts.

**## GAME NEWS ##**
For all who gave your opinions, I'm doing a series of fix in the game, starting with the camera that is now static, moving by rooms. Also added a checkpoint where you take the upgrade skill.
Soon I plan to add the attack on the move and jump :)

Here is a link to the new version (is out of the compo but I would like you to test them as well) > https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/66781112/animalroar_up/index.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Graphics4.22
#439Audio2.90
#446Mood3.05
#634Humor2.38
#644Overall3.12
#793Fun2.84
#1156Innovation1.98
#1211Theme1.62

Comments

maxhaesslein says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59am

I really love the death animation!!

Rundrop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25am

Cool platformer with great animations and art, the attack mechanic makes it hard to attack anything really. Also I never made out any connection to the theme much?

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36am

I'm such a big fan of your art. I love that little guy. He's fun. I almost really liked all the audio, but there's one part of the music that drives me crazy, haha. As stated before me, attacking kinda gets thrown out the window. Very cool, though!

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59am

Really cool art and game-feel, but don't really understand what's the connection to the theme?

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:51am

The art is nice, no connection to theme and the music is, not really doing it for me :\

sheigeno says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56am

..nice graphics :)

RaycoSantana says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29am

Love the art!

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Great art no question!
But no connection to theme and gameplay also seems generic

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33am

The game is well executed :) Graphics are awesome, congrats !
I'll say, as others, that the strike "z" makes it hard to kill anybody.
I've search for the "single screen", and I think the scrolling is an easy answer to the theme.

But well done, anyway !

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33am

Best art I've seen so far! I really like the lil fella, he's cuddly!

I actually did find some use for the attack, since it makes the slimy dudes turn around, but I generally agree that it needs some more work.

I really can't figure out whether I like the music or not. I think it feels a bit too dark for the overall feel of the game?

Oh, and I found the snowman :)

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16am

Really nice!

I also can't see how it fits the theme, but... so what. The art is really really good.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Really nice entry!

Aglavra says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Very nice art and animations, and music too... (Although I wouldn't like to listen to this track for too long). But I also don't see connection to the theme.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:34pm

I died with the jump power, I don't know where to go. The music is some kind hypnotic.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Beautiful art and audio! It's very sad this game doesn't fit the theme.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Cute !

ilikescifi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice game and art style. But i can´t quite see the connection to the theme. Still a cool little game!

colludium says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

It's a great piece of work and a high quality entry (better than many serious games...), but what's it got to do with the theme :/ ? The music's not for me, but the graphics are really good.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Very cool, traditional platforming at it's finest. Combat is pretty difficult, but the art style is cool and I was digging the lofi music. Great job!

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:09am

I liked the art and platform feel quite a bit, though I wasn't too enthralled by a standard "collect all the things" platformer without a new mechanic. Overall it's very well put together. The mechanics and level design just didn't live up the the rest of it, which was quite good.

miotatsu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

wow, talk about polish!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Extremely well made art and animations! Attacking doesn't seem to work, and I don't get the connection with the theme (if there is any)?

Mechamew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Looks and sounds lovely with great mood. Found the attack very disappointingly ineffective but otherwise found this fun!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:51pm

This is a very polished game. Graphics and animation are fantastic.

vidarn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Wow! I don't know what to say. It was amazing!
It's obvious that you're a very skilled artist. The colors and the animations were spot on!
Great job!

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Gorgeous art!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

GAH! Having to start all over again when you die is really punishing! Especially since it's so long, it takes ages until you get to that first powerup, AND THEN you have to walk all the way back...

Despite this, I liked the graphics and completed it eventually. The music gets kinda annoying though.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:57am

Very pleasant to play, nice job!

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Love the artwork here. Gameplay left me wanting more.

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:54am

Very polished game! Even the attention to detail of making the sprouts go all the way down the pitfall to lead the character that way was so professional!

If only you had a better connection to the theme, this would be a contender

reveriejake says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43am

Very cool! I loved the art :)

marvalgames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43am

Nice Look. 48 hours wow. But like others have said. Theme??? graphics are throwback full game ready. Keep it up. Talented

gillenew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:53am

Hey guys, thank you for your support and feedback on the game :)

here are a post where I explaining what I did to make the game and escape the theme xD http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/10/apology-to-the-players-of-my-game/

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54am

Game crashes when I sometimes pick things up? Console says; Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'uid' of undefined

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:02am

Woah, great graphics and solid controls/movement.

The level design could use some work however. (pixel perfect jumping with the 3 blocking snowmen/spikes) and I've only found 1 area where the attack is pretty much forced. But otherwise it's really impressive!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:27am

I like the art. The controls are clunky and attacking is not very useful, most of the time it's better to just skip ahead.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:05am

Great game. No checkpoints is really annoying and the fact the strike is useless against enemies (worked only on snowmen for me).
Art are gorgeous. Music is kind of repetitive, but I enjoyed the experience.

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:05am

Beautiful pixel art. Tight controls, nicely done. I particularly like your use of color. I miss working with color after making a monochrome game.

Manou says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Like your art man!

Gungnir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:55pm

The art is very nice. It's very hard for me to enjoy platforming games like these though.

Would love to see something more innovative from you next time!

Thanks.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Great graphics but mechanically a bit clunky. I mean, it works but a really have no pleasure when jumping. It's kinda flat.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11pm

very solid and visually appealing, but where does the theme fits?

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Love the game, even if it doesn't fit the them. Great work!!!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice retro entry - was fun!

Good job!

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:19pm

The art is fantastic in this game. The audio is cool, the background music "scratchiness" is a bit overwhelming I find but the melody is good and the sound effects are perfectly suited to the aesthetic. Great entry

rabbit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Awesome graphics. Glitchy music doesnt really suit the game.

Cant attack while moving, which makes it extremely hard to hit anything. Especially if enemies are walking away from you.

Collecting coins for the sake of coins is not so good. Its a dead design trope.

Hard to tell when I'm close enough to an enemy to hit it. Hitbox for attacking is way too small.

Really great camera. Buttery smooth.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Attack makes everything even more difficult in this game :) But it's a great game and really good for the compo I would say :D

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:53pm

The pixel art and the animations are very cool, the sound not so. Well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Really cool art, the game looks gorgeous and the controls work well, but there is plenty of issues that really drag the game down. For one, you can't attack while moving or jumping, there is LOTS of just walking around, first you go through a tunnel for a power up and then you need to go it all the way back with nothing changed. And when you die it sends you all the way back to the beginning of the game. You really should have added checkpoints. I also don't see any connection to the theme.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:46am

Great game, nice sound and superb graphics. And that death animation :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:55am

Awesome pixel art, interesting idea for a platformer. on a side note i sort felt that the attacking was very limited and made the game feel dull. limiting because you could only attack when on ground. Anyway good entry

Knighty says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Nice graphics and some weird/good music.
Being unable to kill enemies makes it pretty difficult to get by them if there's bunch on one platform.
Also there is a lack of checkpoints, but you already knew that. :)

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:23pm

When the game started I thought the music would be the Zelda Song. :P
I didn't see the use of the theme, but the art, animations and gameplay is very good!

kiririn51 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Cute art and animations! attacking is a bit frustrating because I can't seem to reach enemies without taking hits. Also, I don't think there's much connection to the theme ^^; but very pretty overall.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:31pm

It felt like the attack was broken, I never managed to hit anything. However jumping and moving felt perfect. Amazing artwork and animations! No connection to the theme though :/

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Nice little platformer - I enjoyed playing it, even if it wasn't linked much to the theme xD

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:04pm

What a nice art! I almost thought you stole the ice-stars from Keen 5! Really pretty.
The mechanics feel a bit off however. Jumping on high platforms is hard, attacking takes ages, and I didn't know where to go(my fault).
Other than that great game!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Incredible!!!!!
It's created in 48 hours ?

renatopp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:19pm

The level design really bother me, but totally understandable given the quality of other things in game, specially the graphics. Nice job.

**you updated the game right after I played** haha

mortus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I can't see how this relates to theme, but the game itself if quite great. Couldn't pass the cliff on the right though, not sure how is that even possible tbh. (Yes, I've had climbing power)

pht59x says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:53pm

The whole game is not on one screen. Other than that, it's a good clone of Mario.

lilag says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:10pm

What a cute little game. :)
I'm not a dev, can't vote :(

Datamosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:28pm

It looks beautiful and is fun to play. I found no connection with the theme and attack seems to be totally useless, I could not kill anything.

Aru Nyan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:29pm

This is a neat game, but really nothing to do with the theme :)

Kuupu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Nice graphics, cool death animation, i did not like those muks as enemies hehehe
But, what about the theme?

shotty456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:19pm

toggling full screen breaks the controls. Other than that Great Game!

christopf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:22pm

AHHH NO CHECKPOINTS! i like the music somehow also it's not my favourite type its working for me. the graphics are the huge plus also the plattforming seems quite nice, hard but fairly hard. But after getting dat climb skill a checkpoint would have been neat.
Well and no connection to the theme as it seems. That's cool but i wonder why you want to be voted on it. Well, why not :D

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Really great animation and art! I really liked the style of this game! Didn't really fit the Entire Game on One Screen theme, though.

runvs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Wow, great retro feel! Especially the soundtrack is great! The animations are also well done and there ist a nice feel tho the world. Also very polished!

kipelovets says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Wow, pixel retro graphics is awesome!
For some reason i can't hear any sound and music both on this page and on 'new version' page, I think I'm missing a lot :(

Alendro says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Nice art. The attack was a little weird. Other than that I like it!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Pretty, cute, nice animations, very fluid. It's rather hard to attack though.

Yes, and dying looks adorable /it's probably the first time I've said that/

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:34am

Nice pixelart, but too small to really appreciate it. Like other said, there's not much connection to the theme. The jump feels a bit too high. You got something there, with a bit of work it can be a nice experience.

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Visually, it is stunning and the platforming (aside from attacking) works well.
I agree with sentiments about there being little connection to the theme.

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:12pm

nice

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:20pm

The art is fantastic - the gameplay not so ...
Audio glitched hard at first play.

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:35pm

nice

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:49am

The music for this entry is fascinatingly atonal. At first I sort of disliked it, but after a while it grew on me. Really nice, smooth animations, especially on death (and the idle animation is cute, too!). I'm another one of the people who found they couldn't actually attack anything and kill it, though... I wasn't sure if it was intentional or not, and thought it was a sort of interesting design choice.

Lack of checkpointing here is really frustrating. I wanted to play more, but couldn't bring myself to start the level more than 3 or 4 times in order to progress past the later sections.

Really love the solid feeling of the jump, it's very polished--and that's pretty much the hardest thing to get right of any platformer. Thank you for the game!

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:00pm

As many others before, I didn't see the connection to the theme and thought it was a pretty hard game. I love the graphics style (I thought, sure looks like Waterfly Octus, just to find out a few minutes later that it was actually made by you, good thing to have a recognisable personal style! I wish I had one).

I only ever made it to the part shortly after the snowmen that you have to land pretty close to and then slash. Checkpoints would have helped a lot, especially sind it got a bit laggy after replaying it several times. I will now try your updated version, I sure want to see the end ;-)

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Wow.. impressive, smooth, nice-looking and overall - well executed platformer! Well done indeed.

doos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Excellent art assets.. Didn't really understand why I couldnt jump as high as some items, DNF.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:35am

Very nice and responsive gameplay. Too bad there is no paralax background in the undergrounds also. Great graphics

zatyka says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:05am

The best visuals I've seen this LD so far. Seriously, professional level quality. I found the gameplay a bit too taxing. You couldn't attack in the air or while moving, and when you could attack, it didn't do much. Also, this game is begging for checkpoints and an easier way to recover health. It took me 5 tries to get to the first power up, and being forced to start back at the beginning each time was brutal. I really would have liked to have been able to see more of the game, as it is quite beautiful, and I wanted to see the other power-ups.

Fortunately, it looks like you're fixing a bunch of this stuff in a post-compo version. I'll be sure to check back and play it.

Also, unless I missed something, I didn't see any connection to the theme.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Some of the mechanics could use fixing, but the game looks great. Nice animation!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Well done, i liked this game ... is the down arrow key used for something ?? ... it has a nice art too ... theme ?? mmm not sure what to say :D ... however, good job

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:38am

the art and animation look very good. I didn't have any sound when playing, though i see other comments about audio so maybe it's just me

Saf says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:57am

Great animation! Would love to play a bigger frame version.. Te soundtrack and the parallax scrolling is well done.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:19am

amazing art and animation, the feel is nice as well. I tried the new non compo version and its too bad you couldn't get that scene shit thing working for the compo, but it is still stretching it for the theme.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Terrific graphics. Nice platformer.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Doesnt fit the theme but looks sweet :3

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Love a good platformer, and this is definitely one. Really well done.

Zayron says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:01pm

This is polished well! Nice art work and audio. I don’t think the attack was working or I did not understand it but over all this was very good. If someone told me this was an old SNES game I would have believed them.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:40pm

The game's pretty hard, but the visual style is very nice!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Awesome game with awesome graphics! Really fun to play well done!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:11am

Decent graphics ! Especially color and light.

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Very nice graphics, I love the first BG.

chakitp says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:51am

Good Art.. But I think it was just like any 2d platform runner..
No innovation..

barryrowe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 3:05am

This game looks and sounds great. I'm not sure how the theme is applied. It's also difficult to attack enemies without dying. It's also hard to tell when an attack hits versus you getting hit. (I thought I was doing well then died :/)

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:55pm

nice pixel-art game. great audio. not that fun though. and do not see the connection with the theme. good work nonetheless!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Nice pixel art and animations. Probably the attack could be improved as well as the level design but it's interesting

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:40am

Neat platformer. Puzzles and challenge were good, though I'm not sure that attack did anything. I'm not sure where the "entire game on one screen" comes into play.

goro says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice game, but I didnt understand how to kill the monsters :(

oxysoft says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:44pm

jesus christ this game has a creepy atmosphere. the music certainly isn't helping

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:52pm

One of the best all-around games I've played; nice art, nice music, nice polish, good platforming. Amazing work for 48 hours! However, this doesn't really feel like a one-screen game?

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:57pm

very nice looking and beautiful, but bland gameplay and no connection to the theme.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I adore the art and music!

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:40am

Very beautiful art! Can I win in this game?

elvaq says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:52am

Aw man, the graphics and sound are so great in this one. But there are just too many questionable things going on in the game design. Very frustrating to play, but I do loooooove the art

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice entry! I like the graphics, especially the background on the ground level with the trees and parallax effect. The screen could be a bit larger/the resolution lower though. The game is also quite moody, feels like an old NES-game or so.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:46am

It really is a shame that you have to start over every time you die. There wasn't much of a theme connection, and the music is terribad. The graphics were very nice, though!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I read your apologies and I think that you are guilty of nothing. The only thing you should have done was to enter your game for the Jam entry, but that's not a real problem. Next time you'll pay more attention to the rules and you'll make a great game like this one.
I think that the art is really well done, you are skilled, and the game is well structured. Not boring and well playable. (You used Construct2 so you deserve my respect! :D)
Some people don't give a singele F**k about 48ld rules, you have been a plain dealer. Respect++;

vicious_br says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Greate graphics game, music and all.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]