Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Frankfurt Ludum Dare Venue - Keeper

by gladers - Jam Entry

For all you Binding Of Isaac fans out there.
We proudly present, Keeper.

This is the first time Ive used Unity to make a game, so bare in mind a few simple things might be missing :)

A game for 1-3 players with over 200 weapons for you to collect!
Everything you collect you can then throw back at the enemy!

*** Keyboard - WASD to Move. Arrow Keys to Fire ***

Special consideration was made to allow for enemies to spawn in 1 room, with effects to warn you of a new wave of enemies.

--------------------------------------------

Local 3 player coop (more work on this coming soon)

Keyboard - WASD to Move. Arrow Keys to Fire
Gamepad 1/2 - left stick to move. Right stick to Fire


--------------------------------------------------
Credits
--------------------------------------------------
Coding - me @Gladers
Voice / Creative direction - Mikayla @RowaniteGame
Start game graphics - Claudiace (@Cal_Cla)

Also thanks to Lab75 for hosting Frankfurt Ludum Dare venue and everyone for assistance, testing and support.

Full credits can be viewed in the Downloads and Links section!

-------------------------------------------------------
Mirror windows download:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19323047/Keeper-Win86-v2.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#118Audio(Jam)3.67
#235Humor(Jam)3.17
#363Fun(Jam)3.24
#411Mood(Jam)3.16
#464Theme(Jam)3.59
#468Overall(Jam)3.24
#482Graphics(Jam)3.32
#723Innovation(Jam)2.70

Comments

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49am

It´s actually very creepy! Big up for the music and the smooth controls.

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30am

Very creepy game. I wish i could kill the skeletons. Nice little game :D

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:38am

Hilarious and sweet! Well done! =)

Lynx says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Neat game concept, you do have a collision issue with the top and bottom walls though, when you stand next to them and fire, your items sometimes get blocked and destroyed by the wall

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Really really nice audio, the music is great

gladers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Hi Lynx, I plan to patch the wall issue. Thanks for playing :)

Brassawiking says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22pm

I really like the idea of collecting a really huge bunch of random things to throw =) Can be a game with many easter eggs in it.

CWolf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Cool game. Enjoy the gameplay, art and music. Overall well done.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Good graphics and music. Very simple and used gameplay, still the controls are responsive, so it's good.

But it needs to make some fixes: the "bullet"'s collisions need some adjustments, the skeletons statues are annoying and the enemies, in their "big" forms are too big for the scenario.

Overall, it's a good game but need some changes to be better.

gladers says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:54am

@Shackhal thanks for the bug list. We are very happy to announce that we fixed these issues :)

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:08am

Great Audio!
This game looks promising.
I just do not understand why he is throwing random things, and I got a brilliant pizza in the beginning.
I got to the first time the giant eyes! There's more after that?
Because the game seems repetitive through so far.

gladers says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:13am

@hoyt hoy - Yeah you almost got to the boss battle!

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:44am

Noice! I like all the changes you made on the final day. Mikaylas Pizza voice is rather amuzing (and more than a little CREEPY)

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:45pm

The music is really good, as well as the graphics. Well done :)!

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:51pm

A little trashy but i like it, nice pixelart!

vidarn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:54pm

This was awesome. The graphics were awesome. Throwing random shit was awesome.
Great stuff!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Nice take on the Binding of Isaac formula and nice moody background music. I really liked the way the items you picked up would become part of your firepower.

Would be nice if enemies flashed or responded in some way to being shot at. It was hard to tell if I was doing damage or not until they died (which was fine for the eyeballs once I got a feel for it, but frustrating for the skeletons, which could not be destroyed).

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:42pm

It was fun!And music is cool!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:50am

Graphics are nice, but the animation of the main character was a bit odd, and somehow different from the background style. I didn't know at the beginning what was the thing with the objects you were collecting from the monsters, but I realized you use them later as weapon lol I wish the skeletons were moving or something, but I guess they are just for cover.
The music is creepy which I think is good for this game!

Yarek says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I like the game it's nice and quite fun :) It's like playing the Binding of Isaac

Pepelumen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I Love it! Very funny, I really like the art of the "weapons" :D
I missed some feedback when you receive damage.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:05pm

The atmosphere of the game was very well crafter but the gameplay was quite boring to be honest. I would've wished a leveling system of some sort, and a bit of enemy variety would be nice. The roguelike type of stuff is always entertaining though.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Nice controls. You're not explicitly mentioning the music anywhere, if you made it or not. If you didn't make this yourself, pleace uncheck "Audio" rating and add some credit information to where you ripped it off. This is all considering that you did borrow it from somewhere. Elsewise, that is some hefty orchestral sound for a Ludum Dare :P

gladers says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:31pm

@SinistraGames Credits are listed, always have been, its also included within the downloaded versions of the application

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:17pm

got pizza, game was good

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Liked the controls, well done!

rojo says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:16am

Being able to chuck so many different projectiles at the enemies was definitely pretty fun. The audio for that last boss was pretty creepy, and the graphics were pretty solid as well. Good job!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]