Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Jungle Night

by BitOfGold - Compo Entry

Private, You are left alone in the jungle. How long can you survive?

- NES palette
- roughly NES resolution, upscaled with vignetting and scanlines.
- Tried to make a warm, dark chiptune background music.

I used:

- Phaser.io (HTML5 game engine)
- Spartan (texture generation)
- Photoshop
- Soundbox (tracker/synth)
- jfxr (sounds)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#49Graphics4.18
#194Audio3.34
#305Overall3.45
#308Fun3.36
#371Mood3.14
#592Theme3.58
#808Humor2.09
#1081Innovation2.24

Comments

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26am

Love the graphics, how each pixel is visible... Great work...
597 was my score...
I did notice that the projectiles have some extra pixels at the edge of the sprite when fired in certain directions (like right) and the hitbox seemed a little big...

Music is pretty well fitting too, and the sounds are not harsh or annoying...

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:53am

Really great look to it. I just wish you could hold down the mouse button to shoot repeatedly, too much clicking. Maybe one alternate/powerup weapon would have been nice to add some variety. Graphics 5 stars, nice and distinctive look.

dekart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:25am

The art and music are awesome as well as the dynamics! Probably opponents are too large and move too fast for such small screen, especially wasps. Some indication of being hit would help too because it's hard to understand when I've successfully escaped attack and when I was hit.

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice game! :) Really like the pixel-art-work! Slick font too. Everything seems to work really well.

One thing though: probably use a different key than "fire" to start over when you die. (I immediately skipped to see what score I got; around wave 14.)

[+1 for using Phaser ;)]

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:27am

This game looks very good, and plays well! I like the sound effects of the creatures when they die, also.

I wish there were plain arrow key controls in addition to WASD, for those of us with non-standard keyboard layouts.

madameberry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:10am

Really like the graphics here! There wasn't really any innovation at all, but the controls were really satisfying.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35am

Cool game! I only wish there were some alternative form of combat - the gun seems a bit lacklustre later on.

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:17am

My hand got tired of clicking, then I gave up. Some more variation would have been nice.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Lovely graphics and audio. Fun to play. Good job!

Bernhard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Whoa rough night in the jungle!
it got very hard once the wave start immediately filled the screen :-)
Agree that additional weapon/powerups would have been awesome.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Love the graphics! I Included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/81u-vDEfxwU

Gins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Really polished little game, very fun to play and with room for future expansion. Power-ups or loot drops would be cool.

Appocket says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Really great arts & audio, keep up the good work!

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Enjoyable game, good job! Having 4 hearts and but losing them gradually rather than in chunks felt weird, but that's not a huge criticism! Well done.

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:47pm

The graphics are amazing, they look really well! The game might be a bit simple, but I just had to try and stay alive for as long as possible.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:53pm

The ambiance in this game is fantastic. Graphic and music fit perfectly with the game. I like the one hit kill too.

I died after wave 13 just because my finger got tired of clicking. May be wait between the waves is good or after each wave ask the player when they are ready to take on the next wave.

BroCade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:48pm

pew pew! Fun game!

rantt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:13am

Love the pixel-art graphics. The music and sfx are all really nice too. Fun game, great job :)

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:50pm

I like the art. It would have been nice to have slightly more varied gameplay, because it lost me quite quickly. Great effort!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Nice game. Good gameplay and stylish pixels. :)

mikale says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Woah, awesome job!! Graphics are unique.. and fast paced gameplay. Sweeet:)

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Amazing music!! Cool snes like graphics (you said nes but I guess its more closer of snes!). Gameplay gets a little repetitive after a while.

runvs says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Cute game! I like the retro graphics and the palette very mucht.
some score screen would be great since i often died and did not manage to look at my score and so couldn't tell how good i was.

alabebop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Really nice shooting game! The art is very well done, audio goes right to the mood :)

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Really nice visual effects and presentation.

+ Points for making it super accessible via Phaser.

Would have loved to see different guns and variety in gameplay

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]