Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Deadly Dungeon

by Axebane - Jam Entry

Descend into the dark depths of the Deadly Dungeon... because your cat Mr. Jenkins has gone missing and you must save him! Level up, get stronger, hoard gold, and attempt to save your pet from certain doom in this real-time, retro dungeon-crawler.

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys: Move player
Left-mouse button: Attack (hold down to keep attacking)



HINTS/TIPS:
- The higher your level, the faster you attack, and the more damage you deal to enemies! Hold down the left-mouse button to attack as fast as possible.

- You can run away from enemies, but some of them might decide to follow you and ambush you later!

- If your health is very low, try exploring the areas of the dungeon that you've already visited: you might get lucky and find a healing potion laying around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Fun(Jam)3.80
#111Theme(Jam)4.05
#122Overall(Jam)3.75
#147Mood(Jam)3.62
#265Graphics(Jam)3.75
#304Innovation(Jam)3.36
#438Audio(Jam)2.87
#521Humor(Jam)2.56
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

callum.thepro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

The game is fun to play but I wasn't really sure upon what the objective was. A very innovative idea using sub-screens though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Super retro! Love it! Would be cool to see some random generation on the map maybe, but other than that it felt solid and looks pretty and by the time I had explored the whole dungeon to find the boss, I felt like a badass. Good fun! -CC

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:03pm

First comment! I really like this game, it reminds me a lot of Wolfenstein-style and it's really cool you have a procedural dungeon. Neat use of space having both the dungeon map and attack screen on the same area!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Fun but enemies are to hard.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06pm

This is incredible! The concept is great, I love the minor details like the sword being an attack timer, and mechanically it just works. Leveling may be a bit quick but I'm honestly pretty grateful for that as the game starts off very challenging but quickly becomes more fair. This has some serious potential for being expanded on! Well done.

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Yay! I saved Mr. Jenkins! :D
Cool game, wish it was a little bit more challenging (I really enjoy almost impossible rogue-like games), but it was really cool anyway!^^
Take in consideration the idea of expanding this game after the LD, it really has great potential! :D
Thank you!^^

P.S.
Those snowmen freaked me out 2 times! D:

local minimum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Deadly hard but fun and that's a great lot of game fit into one screen and one Ludum weekend. I never did rescue the pet but I had fun running around getting slain. It was great that it was so easy gaining levels. And great that the game allowed for click and hold.

One thing you could try is to give the character some awareness of where enemies, potions and coins are on the map in the area close to the player and visual feedback on picking up the the trail. Because I was at least a bit too stressed to read the thing about the scent.

Some suitable music on top of everything at you have a very good game.

Threef says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I leveled up to level 6 and it became boring. Then I started rushing through dungeon and realized that enemies were actually following me. That was fun. But later I seen that your map is not generated which makes me a little sad (because I'm spec in proc-gen).

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Well.. apparently I have been slain. Anyway, I've liked your game. The dungeon system & map is very unique :)
Many stars!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Really nice! Like others have said - it would be awesome to see some Proc-gen, but I liked the touch with the added snowman. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:56pm

A bit hard but I liked the retro aspect a lot and the concept does fit the theme. The top screen should definitely be a lot bigger though.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:19pm

No character rotation? Liked the retro feel, and the map with mini-view as opposed to the view with a mini-map :)

yanisvieilly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Just the right difficulty. Graphics are really cool and I was hooked instantly. I love dungeon crawlers and you made an excellent addition to the genre!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Retro jewel!!! Loved it! But, can you do something with your gold? Maybe I haven't played enough...

mephisto says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:33pm

I didn't die even though my HP was 0 and the XP bar is showing 1500/125 (I assume that's not how it's supposed to be). I like the concept and the graphics though.

CosyCave says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Got overwhelmed a few times but managed to save Mr. Jenkins in the end. It was great fun.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:46pm

I like the use of the theme in this case; having a 'minimap' taking up the entire screen and the combat area being much smaller allows for a much larger and more expansive dungeon (Which looks like something out of Heat Signature). The combat is kind of delightfully simple which may not really be everyone's cup of tea. At times I was wishing there were a way to dodge or block attacks instead of every battle slowly chipping away at my HP which I have no way to regenerate without potions. (Please correct me if I'm wrong). Is that a werewolf you find that chases you from room to room? I didn't get a good look at it while I was running frantically between rooms for about five seconds before it murdered me. I'm sure you can defeat it by clicking on it enough, but I didn't think to try because I was panicking so much. The sound of the sword is very satisfying.

twick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Really enjoyed playing. Brought back some retro memories and I love adventuring.

personalurban says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Good job, plenty of fun, everything seemed to work perfectly (no mean feat) it all made sense.

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Great, creative, and moderately fun to play. I feel the screen space could have been mapped better (player screen in the middle?), that attack options were limited (couldn't figure out the shield), and that the objective was a little vague. Still, great game!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:36pm

WOW! Very innovative use of the theme, and great execution. Fun to play, awesome feel. I really dig.

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I had a really great time with this (and found Mr. Jenkins!). It gave me so many vibes from Dungeons of Daggorath so the nostaglia factor was strong. I'm normally not great at dungeon crawlers because I have a hard time mapping 3D to 2D in my mind, so I looooooved that there was a map. It made the whole thing more enjoyable. Also nice work on the attack feedback. I wish that potions were click-to-pick-up instead of mouseover so I could save some of them for later. Seeing the shield made me think there was going to be some kind of defense mechanism. Dunno if you had that planned but ran out of time, but might be nice to add in post jam. Great job!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Very old-school, so interesting=)

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Very nice!I think I'll play it much in the future.Thank you!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:06pm

awesome little dungeon crawler! :D Killing stuff feels really satisfying, kept me from getting bored.
Could have used some music though.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:28am

Very nice. One of my fav.

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:20pm

The first time I played I was bugged out, and wouldn't gain levels, and couldn't die. I refreshed the page and it worked fine after that, not sure what happened.

I enjoyed playing the game, I might would have liked a larger character space, and a smaller map but that is just me. Visual it was great, and the sound effects all sounded good.

nkling says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Great idea. Love the old school feel.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]