Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Eternal Bee

by palmar - Compo Entry

Tiny pseudo 3D game, made in (and with, of course) Love that tells about suicidal bee that flies throught space and suffers.
UPD: Made a SFX EXE archive, so, you can rate the game faster, just download and run, no unpacking.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#104Mood3.58
#220Graphics3.67
#371Audio3.00
#733Overall3.03
#856Innovation2.69
#970Fun2.57
#987Theme3.18

Comments

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

The bee sprite is very pretty.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice little game, I like the mood and the visuals

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Cool game, good graphics and sad that you had opted out from the "fun" statistics as I thought it was fun. :) Good luck with the game and Merry Christmas!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Did you opted out from the fun-category by accident? Interesting mood, while I'm not sure "what to do" here :D

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Well that was different. Cleanly executed. Good work

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:44pm

That was a interesting experience, great graphics.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Wish it was on mac, looks interesting

eckcz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Oh my god. It's real 3D. I kneel before your skills. Great art, great game!

Diamonde says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Super cute game! The audio and the graphics really play well together.

bushmango says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16am

Thanks for commenting on my game, Four Seasons!

Really good mood, just wish there was more gameplay. It's like SPACE DESERT BUS (DESERT BEE?)

palmar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14am

I think that I'll have more experience with pseudo-3D like this after the end of compo.

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

I can't tell - am I supposed to avoid the rocks and prolong the bee's suffering or crash into them to take the easy way out?
It's like, deep and stuff :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:37am

Very well done pseudo-3D effect. I wish there was some more engaging elements to the gameplay. It's a visual treat, though, so I enjoyed it.

jpmit says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Is this a metaphor for the human race? How long will we suffer until we run out of time? Excellent graphics, well done!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Love link not found, gives 404, so can't play on Linux :(

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Scroller shooters will newer die! xD

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Really love the atmosphere of it. Even though really simple gameplay-wise, it fit the theme and the topic just too well. Nicely done!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Really cool! I wonder if getting a higher or a lower time is better...!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I suffered for 57 seconds, and really enjoyed myself. I liked the spacey synths and simple but effective pixels. Sprite 3D or no, it looked good. Some perspective on the bee sprite, and maybe some variety in collectables would have been a nice move... maybe even something that gets in the way or attacks? Space Wasps? Space Bears?

Nice work on your entry, and thank you for sharing it!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:49pm

It looks and sounds cool, great mood

Renaldo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Beautiful starfield. I don't know what you meant the game to be, but your execution was graceful.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:39am

This is a short but very interesting experience you provided here. The realization is just neat, the nice stars field, the smooth controls, the cute bee... Plus the ending is quite touching. My only complaint would be that it's a bit hard to evaluate distance with honey and something you just can't reach it. But maybe that's part of the design ^^ Well done anyway.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:39am

something* => I meant sometime, sorry.

palmar says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Frozen Fractal, not working? Hmm, try to RMB on it and choose "Save as..", or use this direct link here:
http://palmar.org.ua/game/bee.love

cxsquared says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Nice zen like game. The graphics and audio really add to the experience. Nice work.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:55pm

This game is actually quite sad. Given there is no end to the suffering (apart from heaven) I don't know if I ever want to play it again. If I could at least be given hope that I can save the bee in some way, like a space ship in the far distance, then I would probably play for a loong time. Oh yeah, stereoscopic 3D and like a joystick would have been kick ass. Really nice little work!

calavera says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:16am

Awesome! Is there a way to get honey that im missing? I really enjoyed suffering.

seraphki says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 3:27am

Like the game, enjoyed the graphics and the music; also really like the simple and clean nature of your website. =3 Cheers!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]