Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Fido, Fiona & Fidel

by pjimmy - Compo Entry

You have to solve a maze, but you can't look at the remote screen in which the game is running. But fear not, you have the help of Fido, Fiona and Fidel.

Fido is loyal, but an idiot. Fiona is smart, but lazy. The only one you can fully trust is Fidel.

Goal: There are 3 goal points to find.

Controls: Arrow keys to move through the maze, ENTER key to Pause.

Hint: The maze is 19x19, and you begin in the center.

This is my second entry in this competition. Any modern browser should run this game without problems. At least 800x600 resolution is advised. Please rate and leave feedback.

Hope you enjoy ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#144Innovation3.80
#152Humor3.25
#202Theme3.92
#549Mood2.94
#723Overall3.04
#726Graphics2.80
#799Fun2.83
#824Audio2.16

Comments

drludos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:53am

Very original idea, I like it! :)
It's a bit hard to play, especially when following the dog instructions, but congrats on creating such an original game!

jpmit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:42pm

cool graphics!

Louisload says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:43pm

ahah super awesome idea! this is very fun :D congratulations! I love animals

hectorhon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:48pm

My imagination's limited, couldn't find my way out of the maze T_T A good player hook would be to start with easy levels, and slowly move on to the harder ones.

I like the graphics and the sound, it "fits" nicely.

PS That cat dozing off had me laughing. The internet loves cats!

5T4MP5 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I really like the idea. It's a bit frustrating, having to more or less guess who's hints are right. However, it is frustrating in a fun way. This is a very clever application of the theme. Well done.

camdensegal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Very interesting idea! Couldn't quite get a handle on how to interpret the critter's directions to make it through but just random wandering and fidel got me through

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28pm

This is a really interesting game! I didn't actually make it through the maze because I ended up somewhere that said HOT and then couldn't get much further because I was getting colder? Nice concept though good job :D

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice game idea, It is actually really difficult to play, I don't seem to get any further than to a Hot zone surrounded by walls.

Very amusing art and sounds though, I overall liked it ^^

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32pm

I enjoyed this game a lot. I think it might have been a little better if it were a little clearer what the animal's intentions were. But it's a great idea.

sputnik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Good idea! A bit hard but I made it out of the maze by raging on my keyboard!

MoltenMustafa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

That was a unique experience. I thought the idea was neat, guessing which pet you should believe when the parrot is yelling HOT was surprisingly intense. The audio kind of confused me though, as I couldn't really tell why the thumping sound occurs. Overall I thought it was nice and a very interesting take on the theme, great job!

Boberro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Fidel is the only one you can count on :)

mattpattie says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:18pm

that was hard! but fun :)

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:22pm

A very unique game. The sounds were a bit much, as I kept going, but nothing too terrible. Not having a visual was hard but as that was the point of the game, I think it worked out well enough. I would have liked some quieter, less overwhelming sounds, so I could play a bit faster without a headache.

nbilyk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:25pm

What are the thumping sounds?

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:48pm

An interesting take on a maze.

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Very original and innovative game idea, with a clever and humorous implementation. Though I'm not sure if I would call it fun! In any case, it was an idea definitely worth trying.

It makes me think of playing a tabletop RPG like Dungeons and Dragons, being lost in a labyrinth I can't see, relying on DM clues that may or may not be true. Under the right circumstances that sort of thing can be fun.

This is the part where I'd try to leave some sort of useful feedback on how to improve the game, but, really, there's nothing left to add or take away without fundamentally changing it into a different game. You've basically converged on a local maxima.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very nice idea!
Took me a while to complete the maze)
Very original

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Original e intrigante.
Nice use of the theme
Gostei da proposta, mas achei complicado. Quando eu acreditei estar entendendo o jogo, eu ficava perdido.

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:19pm

a very interisting idea

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I absolutely love the idea.

Wezley says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Really neat concept! Nice job!

eusekerci says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Great idea, great graphics, but a lit annoying sounds :) well done

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:08pm

smart!

Dyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

cool idea. didn't pass(

wooltech says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Nice twist on the theme. Fun to solve!

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:40pm

What a weird idea. Reminds me of a mini game in The Incredible Crisis where you massage a woman in a ferris wheel. ANYWAY. Rad game.

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

Cool concept. I like the graphics the animals are great. I liked it, nice job.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

Haha nice!!! A bit confusing! Liars!!!

pancakecity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

AHHH I LOVE IT

shadow64 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28am

Thanks for stopping by and playing/rating Natquik. Your compliment was VERY generous and definitely appreciated! I really like the idea for this game, unfortunately after playing it twice I'm still having a little trouble hitting a goal point - it seems like maybe I'm hot because the space is two blocks away, but I'm surrounded by walls? Something to look into.

You may also want to tweak the sound a little more. Right now the thumping (snoring/purring?) is very low and the parrot is very high. The contrast in frequency can sometimes be painful for certain people. (I did not find it painful, but it's right on the border, so something to consider for post-compo.)

Overall it was a fun play and an innovative game that I've never really seen before. Thanks for sharing and congrats! :D

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00am

It was really hard to follow the instructions. I was confused at first and really thought that they were random! A nice idea and game, thought.

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:49am

Entire game on one screen eh? Can't see the screen eh?

Well it's a difficult game. Can't really tell who I'm supposed to be paying attention to! When the dog tells me to go up and the cat says go left and both directions lead to a wall!

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

To be honest, I clicked the thumbnail for your game because it looked so weird, like a piece of 1990s Microsoft Word clipart. But when I played it, I was like, holy crap, this is actually really fun. I love that the concept of 'all on one screen' goes two ways-- the actual game is on one screen, and the game you can't see is on the TV screen. Fabulous execution of the theme!

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:35am

Nice idea, good use of the theme. Clever use of the animals perspective, with humor thrown in.

Integershift says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

Very interesting concept I enjoyed making my way through the maze trying to understand what Fido and Fiona are telling me.

otaviogood says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

i need a give-up key so i can see what i'm doing wrong. :)

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16am

The animals kept leading me into walls.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:06am

Pretty interesting. Never seen anything like it honestly.

I think it could be interesting to carry the concept further. Maybe a platformer where you can't see the obstacles or the enemies but instead they are described? Could be cool.

Enjoyed it! Thanks!

Lissar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:50am

This was pretty unique! I've never seen anything like it. Super confusing though.

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:23am

Original Idea, Implemented well. Graphics have a nice charm about them. Good Job

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27am

Yay managed to get out :D

Cool take on the theme, really. Sound is a bit annoying though.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:45am

Original concept. Took a while to get the hang of, but I like this game.

Akurn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02am

haha this is funny. Does HOT mean I win? because I couldnt move anywhere but left or right

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Funny game, nice work :)

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Very interesting game idea! Was not easy, but hey, that's the challenge :-)

Good job!

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Great! I like the theme, and the parrot was excellent.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:49pm

interesting game! :D

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:38am

I really liked it, reminded me of maze games I used to make back in the day. Being an old school dungeon crawler, I mapped out what the parrot was saying and was able to find all the goals. Well done!

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:20am

Very interesting and innovative way to create a maze game! I didn't really find the cat and dog to be super useful, I just guessed my way through with the bird's help and check every wall for the most part. Good use of the theme too, I like it!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:32am

The artwork in this game is absolutely adorable.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:09am

Great gameplay and interpretation of the theme. Very hard. Loved it! Great job !

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:39pm

wow, thanks for all the feedback ;) really appreciated! :D
I left the sound for last, so it was a little rushed. For next versions I will add better sound effects, or at least a mute option. I could also tweak Fiona's AI a little and reduce her time of sleep, maybe that will also reduce the difficulty of the game.
Again, thanks for all the feedback, keep it coming ;)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Unique game, very original. Great execution of the them!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Very cool idea, but a bit too random I guess.

The graphics are AWESOME!!!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Love the idea, very original. I too had trouble deciphering the character's movement and ended up hitting random keys to find my way. Solid idea, think it could have been implemented a bit better, but good job. :)

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:08pm

good idea and suprisingly hard...

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:38pm

What such an original idea ! I liked the concept, even tough its very hard to find a way following strange and contradictory pets instructions. XD
Would like to have, as a final reward, a recorded replay view of all my game, to watch (and laugh) while seeing me stuck in invisible obstacles... :D

Esjaji says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Difficult, but rather fun concept! The screaming was a hilarious touch, and it looks great, too!

Esjaji says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Whoops! Completely replied to the wrong game there (Yay for mindlessly switching tabs!) For the /actual/ game, I really rather liked the game! Very clever idea with the hot and cold maze theme, and the visuals are really rather charming. I did struggle however, but I quite liked the challenge Very good effort!

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:15am

I did not get it :( T_T I got near the end I think.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:59am

I felt it could be a pretty fun game! I felt frustrated how hard it was though, I felt it could maybe just be a bit harder.

StrayCat says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:33am

Nice theme interpretation!
I have a terrible sense of direction, so I couldn't solve the path but trying to guess around was fun. Good work!

cyrixd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Great idea! It was a little hard, but I loved the concept of unreliable helpers (especially through lovable companion animals :)). I got there in end, nice work.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Great idea, but I found it frustrating as it seemed pretty random! I'm sure there was method in the madness somewhere. Good job anyway :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:24pm

hah nice idea

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Very hard, but great idea. Nice use of the animal characters.

Felladrin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:20am

Good idea!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:56am

Took me a bit but I finally got it. Wasn't really trusting the cat and dog at all, but I guess that's how it's supposed to go, based in the description. Maybe I just wanted it more like that traditional logic puzzle, one constant liar and one constant truth-teller.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:19am

Neat idea. The concept took a second to grasp but works well. The audio is a little bit grating after a while. Good job.

komjaur says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:48pm

good game

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:36pm

This was a neat idea, nice job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:04pm

This is an incredibly inventive interpretation of the theme! Games like this are why I love game jams :)

From what I gather (SPOILER!), Fido will always point you in a direction, but the wrong one (or perhaps a random one?), while Fiona points you in the right way when she decides to help, but hardly ever "updates" her direction, which makes her wrong most of the time. Finally,
I think Fidel's distance-to-goal check doesn't take walls into account, but even if it does I'm okay with it; I prefer when rules aren't outright explained, but rather hinted at (exactly as you did), leaving the player to experiment and layering the puzzles.

One of my favorite entries, very elegant gameplay and humorous to boot. Quite Looking forward to your next LD!

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:57pm

nice idea BRo..

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:36am

Very original idea, i got lost easily, very hard to really know where to go. An interesting concept but i think the gameplay could be more engaging.

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:30am

The characters are just hilarious!good work

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:13am

I like the idea of the parrot saying when you are going on the right path and when you are not. You have to imagine the maze in your head! Quite original.
I find it really difficult to play, though... But I keep trying! haha

MintArcade says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Really clever theme interpretation. Really fun and innovative game. Thank you for the really fun game.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Clever idea, well done.

dekart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Awesome idea, I did't grab it initially, but then it was pretty fun and challenging. I think it will work great for kids.

Aske says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Really cool!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Wonderful concept; would be great if it were extended so that the hints came from other players.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Cool one, very innovative, 5 stars on that ... could it be solved with the right hand rule ? you know, the right hand always on the wall

Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:16pm

weird game)))
fantastic colors and sound

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:19pm

God dammit dog! stop contradicting yourself every move!
Really awesome idea!! I wish I could see the labyrinth when I finish it!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:26am

Got too hard to visualize anything, but I understood the game after a while, and not a bad concept.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:29am

Fun and original!

Zi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:56am

Loved this game. I finally "got" Fiona half-way through, once I realized a very important fact about the animals and their... views *cough* *cough*. Once I figured that out, it was easy to get to the goal! :D I also figured out an exploit to get Fiona to wake up, hehe.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:34am

Such a cute game, loved the whole idea of it.

kalugny says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Very original idea and cool presentation

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Really clever idea for a maze game!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Very cool idea. I couldn't find much sense in the pets' hits and ended up feeling stupid for following instructions from a cat :)

doos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Kept getting stuck at the top left when the exit is just below that and to the right.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Really like the game :D. Very innovative. On the other hand the noises were hurting my ears. But don't let that get you down overall its a really fun game.

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:02pm

very hard but cool idea!

Poupi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Nice work ;)

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:22am

Nice idea!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:04am

Found the way out, but I don't think Fido and Fiona helped :) Great concept!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Funny game. Kinda difficult, but clever.

Madball says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Nice game! It's very detailed; diagrams, for example, were funny. It's quite difficult to complete. I'd like to see a map after I finished the game.

woodenrabbit says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I was pretty terrible at it, but the game idea is really cool! I like the dynamic between Fido, Fiona and Fidel :)

local minimum says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:53pm

I didn't really understand the animals' instructions, I found some warm spots, but I suppose those were not the targets. Basically it is way to hard first level, how to interpret the characters need to be introduced with very easy mazes before something as complex as 19x19.

That thumping sound that comes (also now when writing since web version is embedded) is really quite horrible, I'm sorry to say, and what it is supposed to indicate is all but clear.

From the, what I think are brain displays of the cat and the dog, I guessed I should listen more to the lazy cat, but it too was not agreeing with itself, so even though I tried to use the hints of the animals, I was basically just pushing different directions. Maybe the parrot should say things like "Bad" and "Good" instead of "Cold" depending on what how good the player's move was.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:23am

Love the hard mode just go for it thing man, good stuff, and the logic part was probably fun to write! I can tell you really thought it out, nice work!

yosh says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:27am

This was really hard!!
But I loved the concept, really creative :)
I'm still not sure I cracked the way the cat & dog give hints, but I eventually made it to the end B)

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:08am

I don't trust that cat, he looks shady.

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Funny characters, but I could not normally play this, because it is unclear what to do, sorry(

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:06pm

That's quite a hard maze though..

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Very creative idea! A bit hard to get into since you never quite know whom to trust (sometimes Fido and Fiona pointed in different directions but both were blocked by a wall) but I guess that's the idea :D

Would be nice to start off a bit easier (smaller maze and/or just 1 goal point for example) and then make it harder as it goes on, but if you're willing to butt up against a couple walls, this game is quite fun as it is.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 12:09am

this is really great, at the beginning I did not know what cold meant. also I dont think the dog is useful at all? not sure. but hey its pretty cool game.

If you have a feature where you can see a map and your movement history after you finish, I think it could sell.

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:55am

I like the idea a lot, maybe you could make a game like this with no graphics, only guided by sounds and a lot of mazes, for people with visual disabilities would be very nice, in my opinion, great job!

alhvi says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:55am

Really nice idea. I was trying to decipher if there was a pattern in the animals' movements to decode a message, but could not find it, seems like random. In my first try I just ended up pressing random keys and got into a hot place surrounded by walls. At the last attempt managed to finish the game by cheating (using a spreadsheet and writing down the map) XD Maybe the map is too big, or could be better if you could improve the AI. But it was fun to try, very original. Thank you for trying our game too :)

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Interesting idea.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:01pm

took a bit to figure out the mirror effect but I like this idea! G

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Cool concept !!! haha screens in screens :] pets faces made me laught =) I think i found the exit but i just hear a different sound then everything cames cold again aha

gameattack says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Very cute ! quite funny ! I am so bad at this, though. I ended up pushing arrow keys randomly.

MaesK says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:08am

Nice idea! A bit confusing, but I've never seen a game like this before, good work.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Amazing idea!

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:23pm

this the best fitting game I have seen. quite enjoyable and definitely the most innovative approach. great job!!

apiotrw says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:34am

Nice idea. I think you could improve the art a lot.

Canyon says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:51am

I found this game very difficult. I admire the concept, but this design requires the player to place a lot of trust in the game, and when the game in question is made in 48 hours, well it is harder to justify that trust.

But, I think this would work well as a mini game inside a more conventional game, where trust has already been earned.

Dunric says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Nice!!

nsindrajith says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:42am

good game...

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Awesome :) !

Vaclav says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Hahahah so lovely.

error031 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:15am

Nice idea, I liked it very very much! :D

Xanjos says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

Pretty interesting concept of playing something that you can't actually see and can only rely on the sometimes unreliable information of others. Quite hard though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]