Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Crate Commander

by quadtree - Compo Entry

Note: Be sure to extract all the files into a folder before attempting to run the game. Running the game from inside the .ZIP will NOT work.

I have provided .BAT files that should launch the game in various resolutions.

I've noticed a crash issue on Windows 8 machines in power-saving mode. If you experience a crash on startup, make sure your computer is plugged in (if it's a laptop, of course).

Crate Commander is a game where you must keep as many crates intact in the cargo hold of a ship as it performs wild maneuvers.

Controls:
Click to power on the force field that lifts things under the cursor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Graphics3.86
#270Innovation3.55
#385Theme3.73
#404Humor2.72
#472Audio2.86
#614Overall3.14
#739Mood2.72
#811Fun2.82
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:25pm

My antivirus says that this is a malicious file :/

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Looks sick graphics.

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45am

Looks very good but I don't really understand how i'm supposed to control the game

sharp911 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:58am

Interesting. But really nice graphics.

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:28am

is a nice effect when the walls break.

I feel like there should have more game mechanics rather than just the physics simulation.
for instance invaders that you have to chuck out of the cargo lock.
This is because otherwise the only strategy is to clump up the valuables securely and wait.

Directional lights may work be more suited rather than just point lights.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Wow !! really amazing visuals on your game ! I didn't really manage to win (i destroyed everything instead) but the engine is amazing !!! GREAT!!!
Cheers!

slarrimer says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:23am

The interaction with the crates is a bit difficult to figure out. It makes the game a bit frustrating. I like the way they break apart though. It's nice that the interior walls break apart too.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice game, cool graphics!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:32am

It's actually kind of hilarious watching the crates fly around and destroy stuff (and themselves)! A couple things I thought were issues; first, there's so much stuff on the screen, you don't know what's valuable crates, debris or broken wall. Maybe make the crates certain colors that really stand out? (And be sure to show the player a guide, like, "This is a crate, valuable, this is a wall, not valuable".) The other thing was that I really didn't feel like I had much control. The force field whatever could stop the crates from careening around, sorta, but ultimately it didn't have much effect. I guess I understand that you wanted it to feel chaotic, but I ended up feeling sorta helpless. But honestly I think that's just a polish issue, you've got a good start on something here!

xaedes says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Very cool idea. The graphics are really nice.
But as Chaoseed said, its hard to determine which crates are valuable and which not.
The power of the force field was ok, I just tried to put everything in one corner so I can control it.
I could imagine other kinds of controls that are unlocked during the game. Would be very interesting to play.
Great game!

01rafael says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Doesent work on windows 8.1 :(

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Fun physics game, really difficult trying to save all the crates. Great job!

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:04am

Is it just me or that it's play that slow?

schnerble says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:30am

Interesting idea - pretty cool physics sim. Nice graphics and music too - though my laptop really struggles with performance for it :| I ran in 1024x768

eusekerci says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:24am

controls are really hard :/ but greate innovation

Hempuli says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:06pm

The game ran at about 3-4 FPS for me, which made playing really tough; possibly due to this it seemed like I had little control over things happening on the screen. That said, the art is nice and I really like the visual effect of stuff breaking down into pieces!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:34pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]