Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Space Guardian

by Jonathan - Jam Entry

Defend the Earth from a natural disaster: waves of asteroids are on a collision course and it is up to you to stop them! Space Guardian is reminiscent of classic arcade games like Space Invaders and Asteroids.

My High Score to beat: 187 (Wave 14) ;-)

Special thanks to Robert del Naja from Massive Attack for his permission to use his track WS (RAW) for my little Ludum Dare entry!

*** CONTROLS ***
- Move: left/right
- Fire button: left CTRL
- Restart: R key

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Wow... well done! I liked it!!

SandKing says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06am

Someone played this already? Wow, thanks! :-D

codehead says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:57am

I need a bit more practice.

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:32am

Haha, me too. 25 is what i got. The tune from massive attack matches very good in your game. The controls are very hard imo because the movement of the flak is quite fast = hard to aim. But well done maybe someone can break your highscore :))

Wertle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Nice game - well executed. I wish there was a bit more granularity to the angle of shooting as sometimes I couldn't actually shoot an enemy until they got closer. I didn't get too far into it, so I'm not sure if there are more enemies that do anything different, but it would be interesting to see what you could do playing around with the waves.

ceosol says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:05am

Fun little game. For future development, I would look into the firing mechanic. Since you are spinning the (satellite???) thingy around the planet, it makes it hard for precise shots on far away asteroids. You can be firing away and missing, notch the satellite a little and be missing on the opposite side. It almost makes it more worth while to wait until the asteroids are right on top of you before firing.

Jonathan says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:31am

Thanks everyone for your feedback! I'm thinking that maybe when you tap the left/right control I could try moving in a half-increment? That might give us that little fine-tuning we're looking for. I'm not sure: can we update the game post-jam for something like controls?

ndebruyn says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Excellent game, played until 39.

eforen says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:13am

It was too slow for me personally. But I did like the game overall. Good job.

Jonathan says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:21am

Hey everyone, I uploaded a new version where I tweaked the controls to allow for fine tune adjustments. A happy side-effect is that it meant I could up the speed of the ship, and I also increased the rate of fire a little. It's definitely more fun to play: my new high score to beat is 187 in wave 14! ;-)

Enjoy these changes made especially with your feedback in mind!

Jonathan says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Fixed a bug with the high score wave, sorry! ;-)

Halleflux says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:58am

Why isn't audio a category for rating?
Apart from that, good game. It reminds me of MAD a bit.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Pretty cool! Certainly more complete than a lot of games I've seen, heh. Honestly I don't have much to say, there aren't any, you know, obvious areas that need improvement. Perhaps sounds for shooting and destroying rocks...Anyway, good work!

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:07pm

189 on my first go :). Great looking and sounding game!

Jonathan says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 10:14am

Halleflux: I didn't include Audio in the ratings because the only audio in game I got from Massive Attack (see the credits in the game info at top of page). Maybe I could have been evaluated for how appropriate the track was to the mood of the game? But otherwise I'm not really responsible for the audio and didn't feel I deserved getting rating on it. Maybe that was wrong of me? I wonder how others view this?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]