Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

noname

by red__hara - Compo Entry

Small one screen platformer, no scene change, no camera movement, two endings. (Can you achieve real freedom with peace?)
Created on Java with RedEngine.

Requares Java (http://java.com/) to play.

Tested on ArchLinux, WindowsXP, Windows7.
If you fail to run the game, please, contact me (rtc6fg4.fejg2@gmail.com).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Theme4.48
#39Graphics4.22
#111Innovation3.91
#134Mood3.52
#169Overall3.65
#424Fun3.22
#592Humor2.44
#706Audio2.43
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

plump says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Great job, it doesn't work.

red__hara says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Wonderful.

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46pm

I'm getting "Invalid or corrupt jarfile LD31.jar"

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Excellent gameplay and graphics. Really liked the way you transition around the rooms. Only thing is I'm not sure if I won or not. I killed the dude behind the screen and got blood on my screen but I wasn't sure if it was over. There was also one more dude walking around (the yellow room one top right)

dallonf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52pm

This is a fantastic interpretation of the theme, and great execution, too! Unfortunately, the permadeath really kills (no pun intended) the game. The combat controls are too finnicky, and guards are too quick to shoot, for the nature of game where you don't really know where you're going to show up when you walk down the hall or through a door.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I really love the idea. However it's too hard for me to grasp what's going on and where is the scren when I just died again :D

I don't ever like games where you die on one hit and don't even see this coming. But I just love idea so much!

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Very interesting game. I wasn't able to memorize all the enters & exits, though.
Here, take all my stars :)

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Nice game :D It's a bit confusing on where the character has gone at first, but i like it! Also when i saw the preview in the game list i thought this was a game on a guitar pedals board xD

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:45am

A really nice use of the theme, but also really difficult, and had a good sense of confusion by having to search the screen for where the player will pop up, it's like one of those card match em' up games but with gameplay. Really good game.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Great game, however it was quite hard to remember which screen the player would end up on next but it made a fun little game.

Shivur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Very original! I like the visuals.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Great game! The idea of the multiscreen is damn good! And the pixel art is.. WOW! Well done! :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:05am

Overall 5! This game is awesome for many parameters!

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Pretty fun to play, nice challenge. You earned a good grade.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:46am

Pretty amazing idea with cool art. Fantastic interpretation of the theme!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

nnice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]