Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman Critter Control

by Hoothoot - Compo Entry

Survive hordes of critters as a sole snowman! Avenge the death of your family!

First project made in Dart. It's actually quite neat.

I kinda liked how the combat mechanics turned out, not sure about the overall gameplay though. Would like to continue create something more thought-through with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#193Fun3.52
#371Humor2.77
#386Overall3.36
#412Graphics3.32
#438Mood3.06
#469Theme3.66
#533Innovation3.16
#723Audio2.40

Comments

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Very nice concept! It starts out easy, but after a while you'll have to plan out your moves.
Great artstyle also!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21pm

There's a lot more depth to this than I was expecting. I agree that it's worth expanding, the basic mechanic is quite clever. :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice concept! Really fun to play!

tomdeal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Nice work! At the beginning it is quite easy, maybe the difficulty there could be a bit harder, but in the end it gets really challenging.

Mokosha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Great game! At first I thought the game was going to be really easy. Then, once it got going I realized it's actually kind of hard. It had replayability though!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Very clever and addicting!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:29pm

I like this. The movement is great. The bunnies are great. Great job.

T1MGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31pm

The animation and graphical style is very appealing!

jpcote says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19am

Very nice game! Too bad there is no audio (bug?) :(

indiglo963 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Good progress in game, the difficulties is really well adjusted along the time

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:32am

like the core concept, could easily see it expanded.

redoxkun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Love the concept and love the graphics. Very nice game!

markusfisch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Very interesting concept! Just the hopping sound is maybe a bit too much, but I really like those combat mechanics too! Got 66 rabbits and I'm going to try again!

Very well done!

hogtrick says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Really liked the game. Pretty easy though. Liked the graphics, super fun characters.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Good concept. One minor complaint is that there is no reason to have a limited number of snowballs, since they are constantly respawning (unless I just haven't gotten far enough, in which case you should ignore that).

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Hah, very cool :)

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice Game! It's fun to play.

Teesquared says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I thought it was very funny and fun to play. It was hilarious to see that the more snowballs you pick up the bigger you get.

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:08am

Cute. Minimalistic.

pht59x says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Great fun concept. Good sound effects. Somewhat difficult to control with a non-qwerty keyboard.

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Very nice concept! At first I didn't realize it was a turn-based game though! Good work :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Clever and fun to play.
But The difficulty curve is more like a gentle slope THEN a wall. I think rabbit spawn rate need more tweak. The jump sfx was also a bit repetitive, it dissuaded me from playing long sessions.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:12pm

The turn-based system is great and adds a nice layer of depth to what would otherwise be a simple shooter. The jumping sound of the snowman can get a bit grating after a while but other than that I had great fun with the game!

davidB says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Fun turn based arcade game (remember me super hot,a fps with similar approach).

Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:16am

Love the graphics! I Included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]