Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Culture Screen

by gltovar - Compo Entry

A Quirky puzzle game. The goal is to survive as long as possible, for the highest score. If a little microbe is crying, and you let it go off screen you get a strike. Three strikes and it is game over.

Over time the microbes get sadder. If they happen to bump into microbe it likes (the eyes determine which color they like) it will get happier. The microbe it self will pick a target, and only that target will make it happy. The joy is fleeting, only the first bump with that other microbe will have any effect. If they get happy enough they reach nirvana and make the microbes around them a little bit happier while moving to a different plane of existence (ie: disappear)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#180Mood3.42
#240Innovation3.60
#278Humor2.95
#305Graphics3.50
#338Audio3.07
#587Overall3.17
#655Theme3.53
#855Fun2.76
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Cool idea, but i got a little confused on what i should do - there is no indication of what the player should do to guide the microbes (clicking with the mouse anywhere does not seem to do anything, maybe some visual feedback would help?)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19pm

I like the idea but I wish I had a little more control over microbes and not completely left it to "simulation". Nice job!

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Interesting concept. The player needs to interact with the game more than just choosing spawn points though.

bigbazwa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Didn't quite understand if I was having any effect on the game at first, but nice graphics.

pk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:41pm

It's cute but I felt I had next to no control over the game outcome as they choose a target at random and won't get even slightly happy if I hotdrop their target colour on them.

Downtown says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I really like this and played for quite awhile, but as others mentioned it was hard to gauge progress.

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

It's cool and the graphics look good, just would like to have more control as a player :P

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

"Stop crying little one! I'm trying, I'm trying D:"

uvwar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Not 100% sure what was happening but I love little cell/animal simulations, so nice job!

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

I can't say enough how much I love the pure intuitive nature of how you can tell visually what a character wants. That's so cool. Short of a little "thought bubble" over someone's head, this was a really great way to convey that info in a new way. Love it.

wooltech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

Fun, although sometimes a little frustrating when I'm watching the poor lonely ones cry themselves off the screen and can't do anything about it! Well polished.

anissen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Very neat little game! I liked the mechanic and interaction being very simple but like Tiago I had a hard time finding out if I was doing the right thing. Good/bad behavior should probably be more clearly indicated. Loved the graphics!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:01am

Kinda nice. But I half expected to do a little bit more. Like click to plop down the monster. Or the timer would go faster. Still, not bad!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:03am

Seems rather impossible to lose though.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:59pm

cute and creative game, well done

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Cute graphics. Nice idea...

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:22am

I found this really creative and refreshing. It's a little jarring to have so little control over the game, but once you understand what's going on, it's a really relaxing and unique experience. It would be interesting to have the countdown timer indicate what color the microbe's eye will be, instead of just what color its body will be. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]