Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

On The Field

by redoxkun - Jam Entry

You are a cat that jumped onto the field of a soccer stadium while a match is playing. Avoid all the people trying to catch you staying the longest possible time on the field!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#157Humor(Jam)3.38
#290Fun(Jam)3.33
#352Theme(Jam)3.70
#358Innovation(Jam)3.26
#492Graphics(Jam)3.30
#509Audio(Jam)2.67
#524Overall(Jam)3.19
#593Mood(Jam)2.92

Comments

Cliff Lee(CK) says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Simple concept but need more variety.

pht59x says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Not enough action !

guimonpa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Simple but fun. And hard.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Pretty fun idea, could do with some way of avoiding the players a bit better though - as it is you're doomed to get caught fairly quickly

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Liked it!

leffe108 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Interesting concept, but a bit hard. Maybe add some way for the animal to jump up on the goals?

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04pm

0:23 Secs... Fun but hard!

5k0d says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09pm

funny! simple!

5k0d says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Very funny idea, but a little bit frustrating to play

alfadur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Nice idea! I think the gameplay would benefit from people having some inertia instead of beelining straight towards the cat.

whilefun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:10am

17 seconds! GOOOOOOAAAAAAL! Super awesome entry. One of my favourites so far. Very novel concept! Well done! :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Good fun. I like the simple game mechanic. The graphics and animations were pleasing - the crowd is really cool.

orion_black says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:14pm

No sure if a feature, but if you wait at the starting point for the guards? and just move on Y, they kind of crash into each other and lag for like 15 seconds. So waiting it out at the beginning it's kind of a dominant strategy. Also, a dash of sorts would add a lot to the game.

40 seconds BD

redoxkun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:38pm

@orion_black is a bug.

Hope this weekend will be able to post a link to an alternative version fixing this bug and trying to make it a bit less hard.

Thank you for all your feedback, really appreciate it!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Well, read that only certain bug fixes are allowed (guess that only critical) So, how isn't critical, will leave it like this for now.

Also say that agree with all of you that propose some ways for the cat to avoid people. Would be a great addition.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:57am

Simple and original! I liked the graphics. Good job!

Divitos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:05pm

AI didn't seem aggressive enough.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:52pm

You should have used a streaker rather than a cat! It was pretty fun. The graphics looks nice. The crowd loop would have been better if it was a bit longer. The first game took me ages to find where the cat starts at.

joekinley says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:34pm

That was pretty hard. I couldn't get past the 9 second mark, somehow all those people seemed way faster than me.

The audio was cool, pretty stadium like, but needed a little more variety, because it looped too quickly, resulting in it feeling weird and annoying.

Good job in finishing something.

karol says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Managed to get to 1:05. The best strategy seems to be to move along the perimeters of the field. Also luck regarding the player positioning plays a big role. One time I got caught as I entered the field with 0:00 on the clock.

A very unusual game. Quite fun and surprisingly difficult. I really liked the graphics, but found the sound a bit repetitive.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:51am

This is a great concept, and a fun mechanic. I just wish I had a limited-use, or cooldown dash move so that I could do more than just maximize my distance from the refs. Once they are close, you can't get away. Could only get up to 9 seconds :/

Joror says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:36pm

32 seconds is my max :D a bit more variety would be cool, but good fun base.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Fun, and delightfully simple! Could use an extra sound effect or two for the cat. At first I wasn't sure if it was a cat or a dog.

hbocao says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Very interesting concept. It could use little more variation like special movements or something. Overall, good job!

Riocide says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:46pm

22 seconds! I kind of abused a glitch a bit but funny idea! Audio could have used a bit more work but I like the direction!

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:29am

Genius!!!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:38am

22! simple and fun.

Zi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:42am

I loved everything about this game except for how hard it was!

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very nice concept! But its very hard move into the green, because people run more than the dor, or.. cat!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:02am

41 seconds! Very funny! I like the old style graphics, it remind me about pegasus games.

banana4life says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Great idea, but the AI isn't fun

Dec 22, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Simple but fun game! poor cat. I Included it in part 16 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3EfYtGD2H88

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:03am

I love the concept! Haha I thought it was very funny. The ai is pretty good! I found that I would always get caught eventually. If you continue with this game it would be nice to see some variety, maybe in the people chasing you or with some powerups of some kind. Very nice entry though! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]