Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hidden Village

by Cruion - Compo Entry

NOTE: Chrome Unity web player plugin is currently borked. On Windows, a standalone exists. Firefox reportedly works. On OSX, Safari works. On Linux, not sure unfortunately.

Hidden Village
--------------------
You are the mayor of a little hidden village in the forest. Recently your village was discovered by travelers and as a result a large number of visitors are starting to arrive. Note all of these visitors are friendly though; some will attack you, others will influence your people away to the big city. Your job is to ensure that you defend your people and ensure that your village grows.

Your village can specialise in five different skills; one will be your major skill while the other four will be minor skills. You can learn other skills from visitors to your village.

Make sure to talk to each visitor otherwise they may talk to your villages into leaving with them.

Grow your village to be a city in its own right.

Each of your skills have their advantages and disadvantages when up against other skills so make sure when you are defending from an attack you carefully consider which skill to attack and defend with.

Lastly visitors don't like one another much, they won't stay close to a campfire when someone else comes.

To get started select your village's five skills.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Skill Matrix
------------
ATK v vs DEF > | Green | Yellow | Red | Blue | Brown | Grey | White | Black | Purple |
________ Green | - 1- | - 0 - | - 2 - | - 2 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - |
_______ Yellow | - 0 - | - 2 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - | - 1 - | - 2 - | - 0.5 - | - 1 - |
__________ Red | - 0.5 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - | - 2 - | - 2 - | - 0 - | - 1 - | - 1 - |
_________ Blue | - 0.5 - | - 1 - | - 2 - | - 0.5 - | - 0 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 2 - | - 1 - |
________ Brown | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - | - 2 - | - 1 - | - 0 - | - 0.5 - | - 1 - | - 2 - |
_________ Grey | - 2 - | - 0.5 - | - 0 - | - 1 - | - 2 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - |
________ White | - 1 - | - 0.5 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - | - 2 - | - 1 - | - 2 - | - 0 - |
________ Black | - 2 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 0 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - | - 2 - | - 0.5 - | - 1 - |
_______ Purple | - 1 - | - 2 - | - 0.5 - | - 1 - | - 1 - | - 0.5 - | - 1 - | - 0 - | - 2 - |

------------------------------------------------------------------

GOAL: To have over one million people in your village.

CONTROLS: Mouse to click on skill icons and visitor attention icons.

FEATURES: 9 different skills to acquire which that has different attack/defend properties against other skills. Random generation of trades and attacks.

CREATED USING: Unity3D, Visual Studio 2013, Illustrator, Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#283Innovation3.53
#574Graphics3.07
#817Overall2.94
#934Fun2.63
#2185Coolness20%

Comments

csaunders says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:35pm

It looks pretty nice and I like the icons/art.

I had a bit of a hard time understanding what I was supposed to do and the attackers moved a bit too fast for me to figure it out.

davesoft says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:33pm

With a little more art around the icons and their meaning and this would be amazing. Good work! Really good :D

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:42am

I had difficulties figuring your game out

ShaunJS says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Hey man, congratulations on entering!

I can't lie, it took a lot of time for me to work out what to do. Despite quite lengthy instructions they still didn't sufficiently answer the myriad of questions I had about how the game worked.

I think 'Skills' was an odd choice of word for what appeared to be something akin to 'Elements'? It wasn't until I saw your skill matrix on this page did I get the idea of what these things were about.

I think there's quite a large number of these skills! It's very hard to remember in your head what-beats-what where the only relationships you have to go on are colours and very similar symbols. Elements often work because of intuitive relationships (Fire beats water, and so on) other than color "opposites" it's very hard to keep an idea of the skill relationships in your head with so many to track.

I unfortunately gave up on trying to understand the "Attacks" I tried very hard to understand what the formulas represented and while I could see the multipliers from relationships taking effect, I had no idea how to decide what would fight against what, whether there was any random chance involved or just what was happening in general. It seems like a shame because it appears a lot of time and thought was put into this system but it is very unclear to a new player.

That all said I like the concept of procedurally making continuous interesting "yes or no" choices based on resources, risk/reward, pros/cons etc. It's a similar flow to games like FTL and some elements of Civ. I definitely think the idea has a lot of potential, the main issue is just that the game can be a bit of an informational brick wall! The ideas underneath seem like they have a lot of merit it's just very difficult to approach.

Hope that was useful / not too harsh sounding!
-S

sensenmann666 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Very interesting game and well executed. Although i was not really sure what i was doing. Maybe it would help to display the combat rules more clearly.

pancakecity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:44am

I am very interested by this game. I found that it was hard to conceptualize the skills and their relations to one another, due to their abstract nature.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Looks nice, but it seems really complex entry-level. A tutorial would've come in handy.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Very hard to understand what to do or not, losing inhabitants without knowing what to do to regain/prevent them to start, have no clue of what the kind of "tribes" are doing, not doing, and wich one can help me to grow my population.

gladers says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:08pm

A lot of effort has gone into this, really well done. A pleasure to play :D

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Took me a long time to figure out what was going on. I like the planetary symbolism! Good job :)

Sestren says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:19pm

It took playing it a second time before I started to understand what I was doing. Very little is apparent the first time you play, and I still don't fully get the Attack versus Defense strategy, although I did eventually figure out how to make successful attacks most of the time and how to keep my units up.

Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:10pm

i couldn't get how things worked but it was fun to watch what was going on. also i liked the visuals it was pretty cool :D

mohammad says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Its ok, gets kinda boring soon. Not alot to mess with, all you do is just click on the guys next to the 3 campfires and either fight or trade. Thats pretty much it.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:14pm

All the bad guys look like me =(

In a overall 5 stars! =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]