Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

A Fine White Line

by Taunia Sabanski - Jam Entry

::-------:: a fine white line ::-------::

WUH-OH!

You just murdered someone.

Quick! Get rid of the evidence before the Police arrive!

You have 3 minutes.

::--------------------::

Art & Sound: Taunia Sabanski

Programming & UI: Rachel Rios

::--------------------::

Instructions:

- Move with WASD/Arrow keys.
- Open your Inventory with the "I" key.
- Pick up items by standing next to them and clicking on them.
- Use items in the inventory by clicking the item you want to use, dragging it over another item, and clicking again.
- Use items at labelled locations on the map.
Travel to the labelled location, click on the inventory object you wish to use, then click the location on the map.

::--------------------::

Thank you for playing and rating our game!

::--------------------::

ALTERNATE WEB DOWNLOAD: https://www.dropbox.com/s/yokbkzcwz4jltjq/afwl_SubmissionBuild.zip?dl=0

(This is if you want to download the file as opposed to playing it online.)

** Yes, there is a dupe bug. This is the one large bug and it's a hilarious one. I'm not sure if/when Rachel will be able to fix it, but it's not game-breaking. If you do something creative with it, post screenshots! :D I'll do a whole blog post on them if I get enough! **

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#69Innovation(Jam)3.91
#73Audio(Jam)3.82
#105Mood(Jam)3.73
#120Theme(Jam)4.04
#191Graphics(Jam)3.90
#207Overall(Jam)3.60
#281Humor(Jam)3.04
#337Fun(Jam)3.27

Comments

Iak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:03am

I still had a few little problems like that I couldn't clean the hammer on any sink, the one in the room where you find the towel doesn't work for some reason. (at least when I clicked it nothing happened).

Figuring out where exactly I had to click on the Incinerator also wasn't quite obvious.

Other than that, I actually really liked the game. I could imagine a more advanced version (post LD) of the game with several different murder scenarios to clean up would be pretty awesome.

Aevek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07am

Really cool. I managed to get a weird dupe bug by trying to clean the hammer wrong by just dropping it on the sink though. I liked the puzzle solving, and would have loved to see more. But I know how this kinda thing goes. Loved the idea of all the blueprints are on one screen, that definitely was a cool interpretation of the theme. And the visual style was not something I've seen before, but awesome nonetheless.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:25am

This was so intense :D The art style was super cool, and apart from that "duplicate item" bug (which did not prevent me to win the game on my second try), it ran very well. Hard to imagine it is the work of someone learning Unity from scratch. Kudos for that! The sound design in this is also stellar, as the timer runs out the whole escalation of police noises made the whole thing super tense. Really a superb entry, I think you could really, really take this further!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47am

Iak: "I still had a few little problems like that I couldn't clean the hammer on any sink, the one in the room where you find the towel doesn't work for some reason. (at least when I clicked it nothing happened)."

Yes, the hotspots may have turned out unusually small. I'll see what can be done about that -- it's causing a bit of a problem, it seems.

"Figuring out where exactly I had to click on the Incinerator also wasn't quite obvious."

Just clicking anywhere on the incinerator will do it. :) It's one of the larger hotspots, so it's not too easy to miss. Maybe you were clicking on the hot water tank? We didn't get a chance to label everything, unfortunately. :( Just objects essential to the scenario.

"I could imagine a more advanced version (post LD) of the game with several different murder scenarios to clean up would be pretty awesome."

Oh, yes! This was the original idea surrounding the concept. :) The entire scenario was supposed to have SEVERAL more steps. Other maps and crime scenes (and ones where you play the detectives!) were considered as well. We definitely know where you're coming from.

Thank you so much for your kind critique! :)

Aevek: "I managed to get a weird dupe bug by trying to clean the hammer wrong by just dropping it on the sink though."

Yeah it's a pretty amazing bug. It's not game-breaking though, so you can have fun with it and still win, as long as you fulfill the "win" prerequisites. :)

Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm so glad people are enjoying it. :D

GSM Productions: "This was so intense :D"

Thank you! That's what I was going for! :D I'm SO glad you used that adjective!!

"Hard to imagine it is the work of someone learning Unity from scratch. Kudos for that!"

Glad to see you found it and played it, and enjoyed it! :) I think Rachel's pretty floored (and most definitely exhausted) at all she managed to do by the time we submitted (with only two minutes to spare!).

"Really a superb entry, I think you could really, really take this further!"

It might just be taken farther! :D

Thank you everyone, for your positive and constructive feedback so far. It really means a lot after the stress of crunch! :)

taaboo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13pm

A fine game it was albeit a bit buggy. I found that the interface didn't work as intuitive but the overal feel of the game is cool. Impressive work not knowing unity.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:03pm

taaboo: "Impressive work not knowing unity."

Thank you! :)

If we ever decide to develop aFWL beyond LD31, the interface would definitely be more interactive and intuitive, with far more visual cues (as was originally planned).

There was a lot of stuff left out, not necessarily due to time constraints, but due to the programmer's general unfamiliarity with the development platform. :)

theomg says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Really cool art style and really nice use of the theme.
I think a little more indication of what is interactible would be cool though.

CosyCave says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:57am

I noticed a funny hammer duplication bug and thought the colliders were a bit off at some places. I really like the art style and idea of the game. Music fits well and gives a nice feeling of urgency along with the clock ticking down and wailing sirens when you are about to run out of time. Overall I think it was a great entry and especially the mood was great. I wanted to play some more.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:04am

looks great, love the thrilling music

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:19am

Pretty cool idea, and the music/sound is really good. I'm under the impression you intended on having more steps, since it ended pretty quickly (I'm guessing you ran out of development time), and you had a lot beautiful rooms designed out that you didn't get to use.

I also hit the bug where items duplicated as I used them on areas of the screen (I think the issue is that if you drag an item it still thinks there is a copy in inventory), but I was able to complete the game so no harm.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Great game! A little frustrating because there is not a lot of feedback for clickable areas which are really small. In the end I lost a lot of time by just trying to click the exact pixels even though I knew what you were supposed to do. I love the music / atmosphere which built a great sense of urgency without the need of fancy 3d graphics.

Great job overall!

phaze112 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:15am

Items are buggy and I initially thought I had to click on the labels, but the graphics style is fantastic.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:56am

well done indeed, I would play more of these for sure. All in one screen for the most part (inventory scrolls in from outsides, so thats technically -1 theme)

locknic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:03am

Awesome game. Shame about the wonky hitboxes causing actions to be really difficult, but it was really fun other than that. Would love to see it on ipad with more content.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:33am

It's a fun game, I really liked the unique art style and the audio, but the controls took a bit time to get used to, mostly because everything was so small, also I found the hammer and a clean towel, but nothing else, am I supposed to walk randomly and look for evidence, or did I miss something? but overall, a great unique game.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:57am

This is amazing. Loved everything about it. The only complain i have, is its hard to see sometimes, what is what. Anyway, great exhibit!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:38am

i had trouble interacting with things, which lead me to holding a bloody hammer standing in the basement when the cops should up... typical Wednesday. using a floor plan as a level layout was quite clever though a little tough to stare at for a while. maybe i should take a break from all these games.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:46am

That music! Sheesh, I am so nervous! Bit buggy, kinda hard to find everything, but an awesome game, nonetheless!

Red Sigma says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:58am

This was really good overall, here's a list of pros and cons:

PROS:
-Art was fantastic
-Audio work was also fantastic
-The overall concept was very cool, and executed rather well which definitely reinforced a strong tone.

CONS:
-Game was a tad buggy (Expected for a LD entry), sometimes certain things just would not work, cleaning hammer and others mentioned in comments above
-This might be a specific case problem for me alone, but I found it hard to click on certain things due to them being rather small.

Overall very good, I could definitely see this expanded upon into a really great game. Good work!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:59am

Cool concept!, I love how the map is laid down like a plan, really built the feeling of a murder scene! gameplay was intense every ticking seconds felt like it matter. Along with the audio helped create that immersion. Overall sweet entry!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:06am

Great map and concept generally!keep up!

Jaloko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:25am

Challenging game. I couldn't find everything :( The audio really helped set the mood. Nice job.

alfadur says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:04am

Incredible job, as others have said it would be even greater given proper control feedback and more content. I especially liked how the towel is a bit hidden in plain sight with this art style, seems like it would be an interesting challenge to hide around other items similarly.

lisac says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:24am

Great game, very impressed with the visual style and your interpretation of the theme. :)

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:25am

Beautiful game! I don't know if I liked the timer or not... Extremely stressful, which I guess is the point. I kind of with interactive elements were more easily identifiable. Maybe once you enter a room they highlight or something? Great idea though. Would be really cool to expand this, and have a bunch of levels set up like this!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40am

Really liked the visual style... and "Uh oh, you murdered someone!" is probably my favorite stage-setting line I've seen in a game. It reads like "it just happens sometimes, no big deal!"

Part of the challenge of the game was finding what to do with the evidence, or where to do it on the abstract floorplan. It felt a bit like a frantic race around the house, trying to think through a fog well enough to cover up your homicide, so good work! High points for style, mood, and originality from me.

The game might have benefited from maybe nixing the inventory window altogether, and just having the mouse pick up or use an item on something in the house... or even just a single-slot that requires bumping into things. I've found that the fewer systems the game has to use for control and input, the better and more intuitively it tends to play. It also leaves you more time to build and test gameplay where the players will notice most. Thanks for making this, and best of luck in your future endeavors!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:51am

Really cool art style and really nice use of the theme.
I am not a murder. Music seems to me too oppressive ++

Devark says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:03am

Aesthetic of this game is beautiful and the sound adds so much to the mood, especially towards the end of the time limit. I have a few suggestions though: I wasn't able to clearly tell which walls were solid due to everything being drawn as white lines and hence kept bumping into things I thought I could walk through. The items also didn't stand out against everything else in the background - I'd suggest maybe you could highlight them when your mouse is hovering above an item so I know I can click it - just some simply quality of life tweaks. Controls were smooth and it was a very good use of the theme. Awesome game overall!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:06am

The music is very intense, and I like your idea of using the blueprint of a house as the game scene. A problem is the character is not very obvious to player, because sometimes it's hard to distinguish it from the background, especially when I go to another floor. And maybe you can add some more hint in the game?

mmoustafa says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:18am

This is legitimately one of the coolest games I've seen all day. Yes, some stuff didn't really work as much as I wanted them to, but the concept is pretty innovative.

Zi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:56am

Really fun game! And very creative concept! Very panic inducing. I also became a hammer manufacturer. :D

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Innovative concept. I -seems like most others- didn't feel objects responded to me. I think a simple "E" to interact fits better than mouse.

I liked how the police sound started like they are coming from far away, pretty stressful.
good job.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:17pm

"All those hammers appeared out of nowhere, and fell on top of him, I swear officer!"

Really great atmosphere and soundwork.
To add to the usability complaints: not only is the inventory buggy, it's also difficult moving through the house, I'm always getting stuck around every corner.
Nevertheless, great job!

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:47am

Excellent entry. I was sadly unable to get away with murder despite a handful of tries! The countdown and sirens that get louder as time runs out makes it super intense. The panic of trying to figure it out at the same time as they were coming to get me made me anxious. I was having trouble picking up the hammer.. but if I mashed it enough eventually I could pick it up. Moving things around to interact with each other seemed to work off and on which lead me to think I was doing things improperly. Would love to see some sort of hint system built in, as well as a tutorial level to show what things you are capable of doing all around. Visuals are top notch, most of these entries that did three minutes felt like far too long but with yours it almost felt not enough. Great mechanic, would love to see this fleshed out completely.

renatopp says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:57am

Woah, the concept is so awesome, really interesting. The bugs hurts a bit and the gameplay is not very intuitive. However, the game has a great feeling and the visual is fantastic (I love blueprints haha), I wish you continue to work on it. Great Job!

Yarek says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:38am

This game is really cool and unique. Sometimes is hard to know what to do or how to do it but this looks like a really good start point for a future game :)

Lynx says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:17am

That was the most intense 3 minutes of my life! At it was all in 2D blueprints! Totally a concept that can easily be expanded upon for more "levels"

Sharky says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:58am

Solid start, Couldn't figure out what to do after cleaning the hammer, and I kept trying to drop it places and it spawned tons of hammers

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:54am

This is fantastic. The music is absolutely intense, and the blueprint crimescene is a great use of the theme. The click targets are too small for items, so it can be very hard to interact with them. Aside from that, this is a really great game!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Really neat aesthetic, nice entry. :)

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Haha, ended up with a ton of clean hammers, but still had a bloody towel in my hands! Couldn't find out where to dispose of it. Overall it was very fun and I'll have plenty of time to think about it in prison :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I really liked the art style - it was a really clever way to do a top-down game! The audio really helped set the mood.

I definitely was a little lost on what to do. I could never find anything to wipe the hammer off with and it didn't seem like the sink was going to work for that. My life as a violent criminal was rather short lived :)

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:25am

I figured I'd stop by and play your game since you played mine :)

The game's pretty cool, though a bit small and fiddly. I think the music is the best part. My only serious objection is perhaps that there's no list of things you did wrong at the end so you can rectify it on the next play; I was sort of in the dark about how to progress. Otherwise, good stuff.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:04am

Really nice concept, very original and unique.
I liked the graphic style.
Very good music, and the sound of the police arriving made me nervous haha.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:29am

Sweet game. Love the theme & art style. Audio is perfect for the theme. Excellent job.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:57am

I really like the art ... clicking on items seems a little buggy :( ... the idea is so cool ... i had fun playing it :D ... keep it this way

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Your doing a lot with a little. Your also using the sound very effectively to generate the atmosphere. It was kinda difficult to navigate, but once I figured it out I had fun! Now to explain the dead guy in the living room.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Stellar music and theme, unfortunally the controlls are a little bit of.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Lovely blueprint design. Should be released on pad devices.
Yeah, hitbox are very buggy!

Well made!

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:34am

The aesthetics of this game are fantastic. The music fits with the task at hand. It was a little difficult trying to understand what you need to do, but once you explore it a bit it makes sense. Well done1

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:12am

Nice idea, really. I finally finished the game. Even if i duplicate the hammer three times :). The concept is really cool, but that will help to increase the readability of the map.

sorlok says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:50am

Solid use of theme, and fairly fun (once you figure out the basic mechanics). The music was really well integrated, and the mood was great. Collisions were a bit strict for a floorplan view. Great job overall.

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:10am

This game really got my anxiety going. Good job!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:57am

I like your concept but its very easy to get completely lost in the game and then simply watch the clock as it runs out. The blueprint art style is impressive but the the lack of proper/clear visual distinction between more important stuff is kind of hindering the gameplay.

Otherwise, its a clever idea!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:28am

Hm, you definitely got a great atmosphere in this game. The 'blueprint' layout is great, and the music really heightens the pressure. The problem, though, is that I wasn't sure what to do...and I wasn't sure what I COULD do. First of all, it seemed like there were only two visible items, the hammer and towel; then, by walking around the house and moving up against every item, I noticed a few 'location items' like the sink and tool rack. But then I wasn't sure what to do with them. Like, it says "Travel to the labelled location, click on the inventory object you wish to use, then click the location on the map"; I tried using the towel with the sink, to wet it or something, but apparently nothing happened. So I'm left wondering, did that not work because it's not something I can do in the game, or did it not work because I don't understand the interface and I'm clicking the wrong thing? I'm inclined to think the latter.

Anyway, I dunno. Clearer instructions or...I almost want to say "tutorial" but that kind of goes against the whole concept doesn't it? ;)

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:09am

Interesting game, but bugged for me a little bit, couldn't quite use the items and ended up duplicating a hammer and a bunch of bloody towels.
The Inventory key being on "I" made me take the hand out of my mouse to press the I several times, if it was in a key closer to ASDW it would be better, maybe "E".

I recorded myself playing for the first time:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zcuPwdNQAIg

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:17am

An overall great entry!

Scam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:02am

Idea and art style were top-notch. First I was a bit confused what to do and how to play, even after reading the instructions. The UI wasn't intuitive for me. The game is intense and I'd really like to see this to be expanded to a full game.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:24am

Awesome idea, well done. Had similar problems to other reviewers - dupe items, not sure which items were intractable, click hot spots. But it's still a great game.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:40am

Managed to beat it now, but found a new bug XD at 3 minutes 29seconds of the video I managed to transform a dirty towel into a hammer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g32FdsUXPNs

davient says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:15am

Really enjoyed the way you used the theme with multiple areas in different screen locations of the blueprint. I'd like to see you expand this :) Would benefit from a different inventory key getting between wasd and i under pressure is a little frustrating. Expanding the clickable area on objects would help too. Also if you could highlight the player and interactable locations a little more that would make the game interaction more intuitive and enjoyable. Good Job!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:19am

The music and the sound effects were perfect, it made the game very tense. Those sirens at the end!

Somehow I was able to drop off/pick up multiple hammers? I did it by accident by clicking around. I don't need more murder weapons! :P

The blueprint style was very interesting, I liked it. :) It's like the murderer was planning everything out in his head. Sometimes it made things confusing whether I could click them or not, mainly because everything was white.

Awesome job! :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:09am

Great, moody piece, but it ultimately felt like battling a directionless set of UI to do something really trivial.

1. I somehow "copied" the hammer a million times. Then the tool rack won't take it.
2. There are only really 2 things to do yet it takes forever to do it.

The music is really really really good though. Definitely gets the tension thing, but other than that the game gets in its own way more than let you enjoy it... Take care of that and you might have something really interesting :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:11am

Oh and a big thing is the sense of goallessness is not awesome - everything in the house looks exactly the same, and it degenerates into a click-everything game like one of those old pixel hunting adventure games, except you're going everywhere.

Which doesn't make sense seeing as it's your house? Or maybe it's not... In which case why do you have the full blueprint? Anyway...

kipelovets says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:39am

Great art style! It's amazing to feel all that tension on a simple blueprint map. It's all about the sounds of alarms coming closer I think) I gotta say though that at first I lost my hammer in a sink) I thought I could wash it or something and I dropped it inside the sink's active area, unable to pick it up

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:20am

I just noticed in the description that you knew about the duplication bug already. Whoops! XD

I just played through the game again, gosh it is so intense, the mood set in this game is really spot on.

One idea is going with the blueprint theme, is if this game were to go onto something past LD it would be cool if you could plan out the murder (am I weird for saying that?). But it would be really cool if you could choose how to do it, where, and then after those choices you have to find out how to destroy all of the evidence. Some situations could make it easier if you make the right choices, or harder if you make the wrong ones!

Anyways, once again this was a nice entry. ^^

feiss says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:48am

Great one!! The amazing music, the countdown and the cops arriving really makes your anxious and excited, which is a really good point of the game. Graphics are very original and funny too, really nice.

The interface is a bit tricky, I missed some (auditive?) feedback when using the inventory and the objects, so I could know if what I'm doing is valid or not.

Also, I found myself very lost in the beginning, and it was a bit frustrating running around the house not knowing what to do with the hammer. But hey!!! I guess that's the point :D The music helps to that frustration, and I guess in real life I would do the same, running and spinning around all house not knowing what the heck do :D So instead of a bad thing I think this is a great achievement of the game.

I could finish the game in the 3rd play (I'm not a good murderer), and after that I missed more game :)

Great game, very funny, well done! congrats!

Teesquared says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:31am

I always fall for a good murder mystery game. It took me a few retries to finally make it through. I thought the blue print background fit the setting well but there was so much detail that it was a bit confusing. You have to lose the first time in order to search the house to find all the hot spots. In order to fit the theme, you ended up with a really small character too. Most of the background is non-interactive. Overall, I thought it was an innovative game and enjoyed the theme, sounds, and setting the most.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:40am

Hey fun weird game ! Music is very cool...
I made 2 hammers out of one, maybe inventory needs a small bugfix ;) Also a bit disapointed i thought it would deal with drugs...just kidding :x

cheers!

asobitech says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:27am

Great art style, and frantic music, set the scene perfectly.
Well done indeed.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice artstyle combined with nice puzzles

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Very pretty and sounds great but I just couldn't figure out what to do. I eventually cleaned the hammer with a cloth, although I first spent 30 seconds clicking a sink. Then I tried to put it in an incinerator but that didn't work, so i washed it and had to put it back... but I went to the basement and the attic and couldn't find any sort of place a hammer would go!

Some more help would be much appreciated in-game. It's a really great concept and super expandable, I'd love to see a full game about it, but in this level I just can't make sense of anything with my reasonably logical brain

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Real clever game design, nicely done.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:50am

I like that idea very much!
My only concern is not the bug or collisions... but the lack of feedback:
You ask the player to solve a timed challenge, but don't provide clear informations about what to do, or if/why some actions don't work.

If you want to beat the game, you would have to explore the house carefully and loose on purpose just to know which options are available to you..

My first playthrough was basically "ok... I have to hurry. Hurry to do what? wait, what was that? A sink? Oh so I can interact with it, ok. So what?"

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:05am

The concept is incredible and very innovative and the catchy music matches the game a lot. It is also a nice take on the theme.
The blueprint graphics is awesome.

In term of gameplay now:
The objects are sometimes not easy to notice and click.
Also, maybe that's just me but, I have found the collision sometimes not perfectly fitting the blueprints.

You could juice the game a bit by adding a few animations like when moving in stairs.
Anyway, the game is already very good, congrats.

yodamaster says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:09pm

No idea about what to do, except cleaning the hammer. Couldn't find any other objects.

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:14pm

It's interesting and fun, but it's just a bit too buggy to be properly playable.

greytram says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:15am

Excellent game! You can feel the tension growing while you're rushing to get rid of all the evidence :-)
Inventory is a bit buggy (used items do not disappear as they should).
Very good job!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:19am

The music made my heart race, it was really intense. Good game and overall a nice experience. Well done

nbilyk says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:36am

Well done! I got away with murder!

mahalis says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:06am

Fantastic! Loved the idea from the get-go. Music and art are stellar. Movement’s a little fiddly, especially trying to get onto the narrow stairs. Very well done.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Well, art and sound-wise it really is pretty amazing. The general concept is cool as well, the level design is good - a shame it's not really playable due to the buggy interface. Even just dropping items or doing anything with them whatsoever wasn't possible for me, even restarted the game numerous times, nothing. :( I can imagine it being very cool when it works though. And the music is just amazing.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I *think* I did it right but with a few glitches. I cleaned the hammer with the towel and then rinsed it in the sink. Unfortunately this usually gave me a clean hammer and a dirty hammer and no towel. I tried putting the clean hammer on the tool rack which spawned a dirty towel in my inventory. I tried incinerating the towel but couldn't get the incinerator to take it. Ended up getting caught with a dirty towel, a dirty hammer, and a clean hammer.

On the one hand, going to jail for murder... on the other, I invented a way to duplicate matter!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]