Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Floor is Lava

by sepharoth213 - Compo Entry

The floor is lava! Jump around utilizing walls and the ever changing, random platforms to avoid falling to your doom, and collect rings to help keep the lava away and to keep yourself alive!

Unfortunately, I did not have time to work around the seamless looping issue in HTML5, so there isn't any sound.

I've ported the game to Kongregate, but the source link is the game hosted directly on my website. This link is very friendly to view source, etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#316Graphics3.49
#365Innovation3.39
#405Fun3.24
#512Overall3.24
#539Humor2.50
#549Mood2.94
#626Theme3.55
#1385Coolness49%

Comments

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

I like the moving environment and visual design. Platforming controls felt unresponsive, made it difficult to really have a go at it.

Jhandsy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:27am

I really like the visuals, but for some reason the platforms were hard for me to track. The little sprite animation was great! I think his air drag is a little high, though

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:34am

I like the art and the style. The perspective makes it a little harder to judge jumps than it should be though. I love the animation on the little guy!

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

Very challenging gameplay, I had a hard type learning the controls, but once I did I had a lot of fun. I liked that you could see the level coming towards you, but too often tried to jump on sections that weren't quite there yet. I would suggest making them more faded out or something. Great job, a challenging visual effect to achieve in HTML5 in a limited time.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16am

Graphics are nice, though as has been mentioned, the controls are a bit unresponsive and the perspective can make it hard to tell what is a solid surface.

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38am

Nice gameplay overall but it feels like the character has too much inertia and the cirlces are too many while not providing enough of a respite. My best runs were spent jumping mostly vertically, not chasing the circles around.

hd_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:39am

Buy this guy a pair of shoes, this ain't no time to be wearing socks, slipping and sliding around !

The game is both too difficult and too easy at the same time. Too many platforms make it too easy but too much sliding around makes it hard to be precise -- meeting somewhere in the middle would be good.

dekart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:25am

Starting the game is kinda hard, especially when you don't know what to do (and when you know it's still hard). I'd love to hear some sounds, it would make the experience much better. Overall, I love the art and smoothness of the gameplay, as well as randomization.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Cool game. Unfortunately I really suck at it.

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I sucked bad at that, the controls were a bit of a challenge as I couldn't jump through the start ring. Fun game otherwise.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Pretty fun, but it takes a while to get used to the controls. Which, depending on what you're aiming for, might be a good thing.

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:43pm

I really enjoyed this. The concept and overall execution were great, but the controls really made it difficult to get into. I LOVED the little person's animations, they were fantastic. Would have loved to hear it with sound.

lokijki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

Pretty neat; I think you overdid it on the player's slidiness. There also may have been too many platforms; I think with the amount you were spawning (in tandem with the slidy controls), it ends up being less about planning out where to go next, and more about jumping and hoping there would be a platform.

I think if you honed in the controls and the platform spawning, this could be a great little game. The way you visualized when the platforms will appear and disappear is incredibly cool.

ponk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:32am

WooOOOoow ! Impressive html5 game ... !
Those perspective platforms are beautiful and smart

Shivur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:18am

Interesting concept. The 3D effect even though it's cool, it make it a little bit confusing. The controllability of the character can be better augmenting the jump speed and gravity.

Alter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:44pm

It look great!

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Loved it, and was very challenging

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Hard to play but good idea and good design.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Great animation, with a lot of character to it. It's difficult to differentiate whether a platform has collision yet or is still moving, since the platform's color is gray regardless of its state. Highlighting platforms you can land on would make this a lot easier to play. Great work!

ceosol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I really like the direction that this is going. I too think that the controls were a little "floaty". The circles were sometimes right above the lava, maybe make the y center at minimum halfway up the screen. What you could do is lower the jumping height and make more platforms appear in the upper areas of the screen. This should alleviate difficulties with being trapped at the bottom and requiring lofty jumps. :)

Nice take on an infinite runner/platformer!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:43pm

simple but cool game, very trippy visuals, took some time to dominate the controls, well done

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]