Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER Market Madness

by flwns - Jam Entry

Hey there! You like unfinished things right?!

Well, Here's what I've been working on for the past 3 days, I call it SUPER MARKET MADNESS.

The game was supposed to be about a guy that is a new hire at a supermarket and has to do a good job scanning customers food as fast as possible. The better you do the more likely you are to keep your job and earn perks from your asshole manager who goes through cashiers like toilet paper.

Currently all you can do is scan butter and chuck it in the general direction of your, currently,non existent bag-boy.

Look for that bar code!
-------------
Controls

WASD - rotates held item

Left Click - Picks up item

Right Click - throws item to bag boy

ESC - quit fullscreen/end game

M - go to fullscreen


I recommend using the standalone version instead of the web player, but whatever floats your boat man.
-------------
thanks for coming to this page and reading about or playing my game.
-------------
flwns - 12/08/14





Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#135Humor(Jam)3.44
#463Audio(Jam)2.82
#481Innovation(Jam)3.07
#780Mood(Jam)2.64
#789Graphics(Jam)2.63
#814Fun(Jam)2.63
#942Overall(Jam)2.57

Comments

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Don't get it but it's unfinished game, so I won't judge.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I think you really managed to capture the soul crushing nature of the cashier job. You should definitely keep going, with a bit of work this could easily be Surgeon Simulator/Octodad type fun

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

SO MUCH BUTTER.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Seemed for a minute it was like surgery simulator but your ringing out a customer instead of cutting them open. I can see potential in this. Good work so far.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:30pm

This "simulation" is my dream!XD finaly i see .. this job is very bad .. XD.. thanks mate good game :) also check my project if you have some time x)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Hard to give any ratings - it's unfinished. Apparently buyer wants to be fat as soon as possible :D

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Haha. Nice idea. Never played something similar :)

vortex says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Nice Idea, but I am really missing a score... you should have just added like scanned per second or unscanned as mistakes...

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Needs a lot of work, but it clearly has potential! I think this could be a lot of fun once it's finished!

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:12pm

It's sad that there's not much in its current state, but I hope in a PostDare version :D

(I can only imagine the Christmas Grocery Shopping Frenzy edition!)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Lol :) My nightmare. Movement is soft and controls well done. I can't figure out what I must do, but there is a cool mood. Sounds in background are great. THX ++

Alter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18pm

This job so hard...
Fun game well done

Liam :D says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:54pm

"Taste guaranteed" :D

Ellian says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I've always wanted to see a game about scanning items (no joke, I really think you can do something with that pitch!) so I hope you'll expand the concept. :)

flwns says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Thanks for the rating and comments, everyone. I'm glad you like the idea.

panda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:18pm

This has potential! We can all relate to the poor cashier. I'd like a bit more feedback when the item scans successfully but otherwise this is off to a good start!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:30am

Had me laughing :)

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Hahaha even though it's unfinished it's always fun to throw butter! 4 in humor! :D

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:37pm

I wish I could enjoy this game more, but I've actually done this for a living. Now I need my PTSD pills.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Cool idea, I wish there was an objective or something. Some diferent items would be nice.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:31pm

10/10

Needs more butter though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]