Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

MAN vs TWITCH

by KittyMac - Compo Entry

WELCOME TO THE ARENA NOOBS!

Man vs Twitch is an run-and-gun arcade shooter (think Smash TV) where the entire game is played on one screen. While Man vs Twitch can be played solo (which you will likely do to judge for the contest ), it was actually created and designed to be played by streamers on Twitch.tv! It provides a welcome distraction for streamers to engage with their viewers between their normal activities, by playing a game where their audience can participate in the fun.

Here's how it works (don't worry, if you're playing solo we will simulate a viewer audience for you :) ):

Launch Man vs Twitch. If you are playing on a Twitch stream, you will need to use the Mac or PC build, NOT the web player build. Enter your Twitch channel's name, then press play under STREAMER ARENA.

Once you are inside the arena, it will be a lonely place. That is, it will be a lonely place until your viewers fill it with flying knives, deadly spike traps, rampaging boulders, or chickens (yes, CHICKENS!). Your audience can spawn whatever they like by chatting specific keywords in the chat ( !chicken, !trap, etc ). All of the key works are on the screen while you play, and some can only be unlocked after certain progress into the game. To keep you (the streamer) connected with your audience the Twitch chat will be displayed on the right of the stream.

What's that you say? You don't stream on Twitch? Simply click PLAY under SOLO ARENA and we will simulate the experience for you. Strafe, dodge, fire, and run as your simulated audience throws calamity after catastrophe at you!


Man vs Twitch is a 48 hour compo entry; I crammed in there what I could manage :) If you like what you see and want more, make sure to let me know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#58Humor3.70
#72Fun3.78
#134Audio3.47
#152Theme4.00
#180Mood3.42
#182Overall3.63
#283Innovation3.53
#301Graphics3.51

Comments

sharpie656 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Made me laugh soo hard. I love the chat menu and the power-ups, overall a awesome very funny game.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Lots of fun! Gets pretty crazy pretty quick lol. Art is well done, and controls are solid. Great job!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Great idea, super clever. I love the idea of games with viewer interaction that we've been seeing a lot of lately. The visuals and controls would be a little tighter.

furriKira says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Wow that was intense!

Tosic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Addictive, nice little game.

MikeTheWayne says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Absolutely brilliant game, very well made. The controls are smooth, and the whole game is humorous, especially with the twitch chat at the side. Overall, a brilliant game!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Great idea! It would actually be on 'many screens'... but I think you hit the spirit of the theme anyway. Love the music and it's super polished. Awesome stuff. I didn't play it over Twitch, but I'll have to give it a try.

bofink says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Rockin' game! (pun intended)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:33pm

haha. wonderful. Very cool!

I was also expecting some ridiculous popups on screen with something like "you have a new follower" or "chickenkiller subscribed to your channel".

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Great idea !!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

I had no idea why I was shooting chickens, but it was fun.

DrHahn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:15am

This is a pretty cool idea for larger twitch streamers, and the music genuinely lifted the mood of the game.

SilentNight says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

Interesting concept. The game lags me to death though since after you die stuff still spawns. Had to restart my browser to exit. Would like to see it with an active, actual twitch chat. Nice job!

Switch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18am

wow, that was perfect in so many ways. I request a Twitch plays Man vs Twitch channel XD

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

lots of fun dude, awesome!!

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:14am

This game made me laugh, but why do we have to kill the chickens. Great game!

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:28am

Very funny and addictive!Cool job!

gmaker says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:11am

haha!! Really fun game!!! Thank you very much! fun 5 stars!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Neat idea, nice job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:44am

Lol, win. c:

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:31am

super clever and innovative - great job

Riocide says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:56am

Rad!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:22am

Love the concept, just need to get a more popular stream!
:-(

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Good, but I see here one bug that I've seen in other games this type> player doest shoot to the place where the cursor is but above it whichmakes the targeting PITA in higher difficulty. He shoud shoot to where the cursor is pointing or there sould be a crosshair that shows where the bullets will go.

gana0 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very solid gameplay! I can imagine that this would be fun if you had a busy Twitch channel. I played Solo Arena, and it got pretty crazy very quickly. The game was very fun. I had some type of audio bug though, which multiple instances of the background music would be playing at once which sounded like a cacophony of guitars and drums (maybe caused by going to the menu multiple times).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]