Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pipe Quest

by HotBoxGames - Jam Entry

Join Jez on a quest to retrieve his stolen pipe in this precision platformer.

During his pursuit of the stolen pipe, Jez uses his amazing fire punching skills in an attempt to stop the pipe thief in his tracks - but accidentally blasts through a computer monitor and is forced to make his way through the deadly video game world that awaits.

What on earth was Jez smoking in that pipe?

FEATURES
- 10 challenging levels
- Avoid deadly spike traps to stay alive!
- Use fire punch to blast through wooden blocks in your way!
- Collect keys to unlock doors blocking your path.
- Wall jump to help you reach high ledges & other areas.
- Combine jump, double jump & fire punch for max jump distance.
- Personal highscore tracker (time, attempts, global rank).
- Online leaderboards (top 10 best times/attempts per level).
- Storyboard intro and ending! (if only we had time to animate)
- Original ~5 minute soundtrack

--
This was our first attempt at creating a platformer style 2D game.
Our aim for this Ludum Dare was to submit a complete game, with an intro, multiple levels & an ending.
We originally wanted 12 levels in total, but due to time restrictions had to limit this to 10.
Partial controller support is added for in-game - however keyboard is recommended for best experience.

Enjoy,

Josh, Sean & Sam,
Hot Box Games

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#176Audio(Jam)3.48
#274Overall(Jam)3.48
#313Fun(Jam)3.30
#375Humor(Jam)2.83
#383Graphics(Jam)3.52
#456Mood(Jam)3.10
#683Innovation(Jam)2.76
#1002Theme(Jam)2.11

Comments

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30am

I don't know if it is the keyboard controls, an issue with the mechanic or if I suck, but the wall jump was really hard to use, especially with instant death spikes punishing you when trying to practice it. Wall jump is one of those mechanics that is very hard to get right, especially where input timing is concerned.

Sadly, since this blocked my progress early, I can't really judge the rest of the game, but it looked nice and I enjoyed the feel of the punching mechanic.

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37am

Very strong! I loved almost everything about this game. It's well polished wit very fun game play.

To be straightforward, I absolutely hated the momentum easing for starting and stopping. It ultimately caused me to stop playing because the controls felt so sluggish. I never wanted to stop because it felt so gross to start moving again.

That sounds negative, but overall I thought it was one of the best games I've seen so far. I loved the story, art, sound, and level design. Good work!

MaddeStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:06am

Very fun, but feels like a bit of a rage game. Instant death spikes are VERY unforgiving

Jayson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:24am

Spikes! Spikes everywhere. I hate spikes! :D

Wow, great look and feel. How on earth did you get a game so polished and to do this in only 72h?

Congrats, just maybe the best looking and playing game in the jam.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Very cool, really liked the graphics style. Was a bit too difficult for me though.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I had major issues with the controls. Trying to wall jump was next to impossible, so I didn't get to see the rest of the game. I think I tried for 5 minutes before giving up.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I have the same controle probleme, but the game was fun.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Hey everyone, thanks for all the feedback so far! It's great to hear other people's thoughts on games we try to create - both positive & constructive.

When designing the game, we decided to go for a more "floaty"/momentum-based movement mechanic over the instant left/right movement you see in many platformer games. Perhaps if we had more time we could have revised and looked to really refine this mechanic and the controls, but overall we're happy with how it turned out.

Sorry to hear about those of you having issues with wall jumping. I can't say we've noticed any issues with it ourselves (holding movement towards a wall and continuously pressing space should jump up the wall, pressing the movement key in the opposite direction and pressing space should jump off the wall) - but it's entirely possible that we're just more accustomed to the controls.

Thanks again for the feedback, it really is appreciated.

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Lovely presentation, solid platforming design.

mpath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Controls are extremely spongy. Momentum needs to drop off much more sharply to really kick it up a notch.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Hoof! That's a tough game. Wall jumping was a little challenging, as others have said. Good stuff though! Very polished.

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Cool game. Like it

flyingbear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Hey, gimme back my pipe!

The game taught you the mechanics in an good way (I especially liked those curves you drew to illustrate how I should use the double jump)

The first time I did the rocket punch it felt awesome!

The level where you first encounter ice is a bit of a difficulty spike

Iak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Very smooth controls. I like it.

Pastry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Solid game! Controls feel a little stiff, the starting walk speed is a bit slow, but I like the speed build up and momentum of the punch.

alfadur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Very impressive level design! Especially the last level which is pure frustration in a good sense. :)
I must say the controls felt unusual at first, but after a while they became pretty natural.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Really funny and polished. One of the games I enjoyed the most. Love the 'disappearing-character' when you move right and left idea :P One thing I would change though, is adding checkpoints, as losing in the end of a level and having to start it all again is pretty frustrating

C63Industries says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:19am

Blaze it. ☃

Manoloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:22am

Looks promising, but the controls are hard, got to level 3 and gave up on the wall jumping. Also , I don't think it fits the theme of Entire Game in One Screen?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:32am

Cool sprites for running, slowing down, and teetering on an edge. Unfortunately I didn't like the character's movement very much - moving sideways felt very slow and unresponsive. I also didn't really like the way the character went completely 2D when changing direction, Paper Mario style. Felt a bit out of place with the rest of the nice animations.

The game is very difficult, and I didn't manage to finish the game either. A nice entry nonetheless. Who knows what happened to the pipe?

Rothens says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:36am

WHOA! SPIKES! >_< I love the game otherwise :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39am

Its a good platformer game, with high difficulty curve. a few things that i felt wrong,
-1. using quaternion or whatever to turn your character in real 3d space was a bad decision. if i die while i am turning, i can see myself from side, half turned, and when i revive, i stay that way for a few seconds before i move and then i am back in side view.
-2. Pressing escape kills the character ( bug !? or testing mechanic forgot to take out before build?)
-3. The game doesn't really go into the theme, except for the philosophical fact that the game was "shown" in one screen. (seems like an innovative fix for the theme?) (P.S. we thought of doing the same thing, but discarded the thought though)
-Starting up the movement should be less sluggish, the end slide is fine though. the increment while starting the movement should be much larger. (why? because player likes the game to feel responsive to the controls).

Okay, apart from the really long review for the game, which i think can be used to improve the game in future as part of constructive criticism, if i have to say about the game itself, i would say its a job well done. The game looks polished and the look and feel is awesome. its really fun to play and engages players for a long time, if they get used to wall jumping. Overall, really like the game itself. Cheers!
P.S. i did play through the whole game and managed to finish it. and it makes me wanna say " where ever you are, i will find you, and i will ask you, what WAS he smoking the pipe!?" since even the ending doesnt tell that :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:59pm

While the punching mechanic was cool and worked well, the gameplay was otherwise super sluggish, why he needs to move so slowly? or make such a tiny jumps? It's huge hassle to get anywhere, and dying sends you back to beginning.

bobombe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Too hard !! But i really like the graphics, in particular the character.

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I liked the mood and feel of this one. The controls are a little weird (something I can relate to, ha) but it works out eventually. Music and sound are good, art is good. Can't tell if you guys decided to ignore the theme, or if it's just not super obvious. Either way, awesome game!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:33pm

We've done some work on a tricky platformer ourselves. It's easy for devs to get too used to the controls of their own game, and so opinions from unbiased playtesters are good.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:44am

Haha that damn spikes. Very cool game. Love the look and feel :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:07am

Hey guys, thanks again for the awesome feedback!

Level 4 really does kick it up a notch - sorry about that! We planned to originally have a couple more easy levels, but due to time had to release as-is. It's worth noting that the restart on death is intended - we're a big fan of hard games that take time to master :)

Pressing ESC (or Y on controller) will kill the character and restart the level. This was enabled in case you want to get a good time for the leaderboards to quickly restart. In the future we'll look to make it press & hold, this should prevent accidental presses causing any issues.

We're already in the process of setting up a more user friendly control set for future games. Just making this game over a few days has convinced us to make more platformers & expand on a bunch of ideas we have! :D

For those of you interested in what happens to the pipe, all you have to do is complete level 10 ;) Does Jez recover his beloved pipe & escape the video game world to smoke another day? Or has his prized possession been lost along with his soul in the magical screen?

Thanks again for all the comments, we've made sure to check out and rate each of your games - great job to everyone for creating some great content for LD31!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:21am

Cute art style and nice graphics in general. The tutorial levels are also well thought-through. But the other levels are reeeeally hard, and I'm not a very patient person. ;)

(By the way, you got the LD number wrong on the game page, it's LD 31, not LD 30 ;) )

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:04am

@ZYXer Thanks for the heads up, looks like I missed that one in my sleep deprived state :D Should all display correctly on the website now.

Kim Sjöberg says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Looks really good and you really managed to put out a lot. 10 levels :O and all these different movements. Really good job.

ceosol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I think this was a really cool entry. There are many things you can do with the super punch. Right when I saw the top and bottom long line of spikes (that I assume you have to punch through), I just gave up without trying. I agree that the controls feel very slow, but I hope you continue post-comp :)

I did not see the theme represented. I don't know how others felt about it, but you might want to opt out of theme so it does not affect your overall score.

madmaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Too difficult for me, but hey, some people like that kind of thing. Maybe a personal gripe, but I always feel that physics engines and my expectations of how the character should move are at odds with each other, always too much momentum/inertia. Anyway, big effort, looking forward to big things from you guys.

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:13am

Very funny and polished!great job!keep up!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Bloody spikes !! Lovely game though :) Nice soundtrack and art !

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Haha, pretty fun game. But really hard. I rage quit, sorry. The graphics are nice! I love the music too, did you make that?

alabebop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I made it to level 5, it was fun^^

jhice says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:25pm

I liked the firepunch. For the rest, I'm much more skeptic although the overall game is consistent ;)

The theme IMHO is not respected, the controls need to be refined and the innovation is not there (apart the firepunch).

As you said your goal was to finish a game from start to end so, from this point of view, you succeed :)

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Hard and fun. I really like that you guys managed to squeeze lighting effects into such a short turn-around time. Keep working on it, I want to see the whole game. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Pretty difficult but still it's a very fun entry (although the jump height is ridiculously low unless it's like that on purpose) plus I really enjoyed the soundtrack.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:47pm

After more than a dozen attempts to make it through level 2, I finally beat that second jump, only to be foiled by the wall jumping on level three. The intro sequence is a nice touch, I like the lighting, the graphics, and the sound, but the controls drive me batty.

victorljs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Nice. Funny Game.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Nice entry! I Included it in part 14 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/3dnkCRJktbw

Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

The theme is missing but other than that it's a great game!

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I had problems with the controls (Web version). The theme is not respected. It is a good platformer.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]