Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

At the End

by OFF - Compo Entry

Second Ludum Dare game and first 3D game attempt.
My previous game, if you are interest ;) http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/comment-page-3/?action=preview&uid=39617

Made in 14 hours due to the usual family life + housing issues.

I recommand the PostCompo version for a real experience, there is a lot of bug and lack in the compo version, especially based on the "end".


RULES :

Avoid to look at the red spheres until the voice finish to speak. The more you get hurt, the more red the light became.


COMMENT :

I had a lot of issues to make the video feedback working, and finally it took a minor role in the game. I took also too many times on the music, and the graphics (even if i'm not good at 3D).
Using UnityPro was a blessing, because i used a lot of camera effects. I know how to do them in GLSL, but it saved me a huge amount of time, and also make loose more by playing with effects settings.
The idea of red sphere is not bad, but i think that i would pass more time on the "game side".
Actually it lack of a better visual feedback of the player life point : for now it's the red light but it had some strange behaviour.


IDEA

At the end, we all die. This game is really an experiment, i have tried to implement several hard things (for me) , and not just runaway to an easiest idea :

- a game based on video feedback, the main failure of the project, it was so hard to set and make it playable, that's why i have move to the red sphere idea.

- a game based on diminushing power, the more you progress, the less you have capacity to avoid and it makes the game harder... not really challenging but that's a thing that i always wanted to try.

- a parallel between stories and score-game, you had to stay in order to heard the stories. It lack of more event during the zoom in, to make the player react to what the voice said.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#67Audio3.75
#93Mood3.63
#293Graphics3.52
#384Innovation3.36
#850Overall2.91
#1049Theme3.00
#1166Fun2.03

Comments

molecats says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:07am

Sick game i like it :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:22pm

The audio works really well at setting the mood but did find myself getting confused with what was occurring. Impressive entry though for your first 3D attempt and colours are great.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:24pm

This audio .. o.O love IT!

ajopart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25pm

What just happened to my screen ? weird experience, great audio

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Bizarre and intriguing. Needs more story :-)

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:25am

It's kind of confusing to move the camera around like this and I wish there was more to the game. But still congrat for making a full 3D game in such a short amount of time !

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:57am

A weird experience, in a good way! Visuals are awesome.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:04am

Weird experience, great audio yeah :/

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:52pm

One of the most interesting games of this LD. Keep up the good work, I'm pretty sure you can get nice gameplay going with enough experimentation. Good luck.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:54pm

this game is trippy but neat

Louisload says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:57pm

interesting experience. i like the idea, and the way you implemented the mood though the graphics and the audio is excellent.
i do have a problem with the controls, i don't understand very well how to not look the red spheres, whatever i do i end up dying D:

Samm says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:11am

Really interesting concept and the graphics and voice work totally fit the mood you were going for. But it was a bit frustrating dodging the circles. Maybe have a reticule that takes of half the screen that you have to have avoid the circles? That way you get some notification that a circle is coming and that you can avoid it without it just popping up and you taking damage.

Great entry!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:48am

Interesting ideas here. I didn't entirely understand what was happening, I think you were pretty successful at setting the tone. I wonder if you could fluctuate the player's ability to move the camera (as if fading in and out of consciousness) rather than reducing it in a linear fashion. That might defeat the point of the game though, I suppose.

victorljs says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Hard to understand, however a good game.

garygreen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Wow! That was strange & original. I'm not sure how I could control it, but I liked where you were going with it.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]