Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Runaway

by kothead - Jam Entry

I wanted to build a maze which would be infinite but small enough to fit the screen. I was able to make transitions between two generated mazes in one side. But due to the limited amount of time there is no way back to the previous maze.

You are the white square, and your goal is simple: get out of the maze. Avoid strange black squares. They are quite clumsy, but deadly. And it seems, they are cheating sometimes.

There is a text field on the menu screen with a seed value for generating mazes. So you can experiment.

It's my first LD and I'm happy to have something with gameplay in the end =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Mood(Jam)3.72
#430Fun(Jam)3.15
#448Overall(Jam)3.26
#582Innovation(Jam)2.92
#589Theme(Jam)3.46
#634Humor(Jam)2.33
#793Graphics(Jam)2.62
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

MonoS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:45pm

OH MY GOD!
The music make me felt uncomfortable and almost make me puke [in a good way, i had so much anxiety in me that my body almost fell apart].

Good idea and presentation

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Loved to played your game.
It's a bit confusing when level changed only at exit of the tile. Well done!

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:26am

The music, darkness mechanic and black enemies game a great atmosphere. I'm not sure what the point of the experience and levels was, since the enemies got stronger as you cleared floors anyway. Gameplay wore thin after the second floor, but overall, good job.

magnontobi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Wow. Like really, wow. This has to be the best game I have played so far this LD. It really manages to pull off the "creepy" theme! The black squares were quite annoying though... :D

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:05am

I love the movement controls and the audio. The audio really makes the game, well done :)

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:20am

I like this game, I played it for at least 20 minutes, the audio while sounding odd at first added a huge amount of ambience, and the janky movement of the enemies somehow managed to make a black square frightening. A very good idea and high mood, also a pretty sweet use of the theme.

DrHahn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:30am

Dude, if you had audio I'd give you a 5. It really makes this intensely cool.

dkilford says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:43am

I played through this game initially not knowing how to shoot, and it still was an extremely fun definite far more intense. The music makes this game, it's a shame you didn't put audio as something we could vote on, because it would definitely earn 5 stars from me. Really good work, it's a simple concept executed really well.

OniiRam says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:15am

Why you didn't include audio in the rating? I'd gave it 5 stars

kothead says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:17am

Thanks for your comments! I'm so glad you like it =)

@DrHahn @dkilford @OniiRam I used third party audio, so I had to opt-out of the audio voting category. Hope, I'll have enough time to make my own for the next LD

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:13am

Great concept!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Fun game! I Included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/hTIxzyGfxwg

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]