Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BLAZE

by taviandir - Compo Entry

Controls:
Use the arrow keys to move.

About:
You must destroy the tree in the middle! To do that, you must first find and obtain the two keys that unlocks the gates that protects the tree! Watch out for enemies and traps in the maze! You can't harm the enemies, so avoid them!

Tips: Falling down won't kill you, and decayed tiles respawn after a few seconds.
Falling twice in a row is an "endless fall" and you will instantly die (otherwise you'd just go back and forth n amount of times til you're dead).
Good luck! Hope you enjoy the game as much as I had making it :)

DONT FORGET TO POST YOUR SCORES :D

Known issues:
When colliding with an enemy, it should get removed from the game, but this isn't quite always the case.
Explosions doesn't always kill nearby enemies within range.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#89Audio3.63
#97Humor3.50
#141Mood3.49
#204Overall3.59
#247Fun3.45
#330Theme3.78
#333Innovation3.44
#363Graphics3.39

Comments

DanHayesGamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

Love the audio.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

This is an awesome game. I love the voices. The use of light/dark is super clever although sometimes super unfair :)

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

It's pretty cool. Too bad it has only 1 level

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

It's challenging, but if you fall down, it sometimes spawns you over a hole.

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:41am

Pretty cool, nice sound design :D
I like the idea, not an easy game at all. I wish the torches would give you a bit more light, as I can barely see the difference between having and not having one.

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Great game, and a nice challenge!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

Awesome game, really well made. Sound fxs just flows perfectly.

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58am

ahah
nice voice sounds ;]
and so funny style. GJ! Interesting to playing

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10am

Really interesting idea! and fun!

shotty456 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Good Job! this is a pretty fun game.

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Pretty cool :) nice art and that voice is awesome :P it was a good challange. Well done

mogwai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Actually quite fun, but a bit frustrating when spawning over already removed tiles.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Fun game! Lots of interesting pickups and enemies. Great job!

Hunter X says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51pm

An entertaining concept with nice graphics and audio to back it up. Did feel a bit awkward at times when it would either spawn me over empty space or on an island with no ways to the objectives, but that should be an easy thing to fix post-compo.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Interesting combo of falling floor puzzles and rogue like elements. I like it!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:51am

Really polished art & sounds. I found it kinda slow, but maybe it's just me :P I found a bug, in which after I had died, I respawned at an empty tile, and I fell again :( Really good job, keep it up

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55pm

I love your game, I just wish i was good at it, Its quit unforgiving (in a good way) one wrong turn and you pay!. The audio is brilliant.

Quite jealous actually haha

ElBatanony says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Really fun and funny game! Nice sound and the voice acting is hilarious! Greatjob!

taviandir says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Thanks for all the kind comments, everyone! :)
Maybe it wasn't obvious, but when you fall down into a hole in the level, you end up on the opposite side of the map. I guess I should've made that clear. Or maybe your bugs are something i havent discovered yet? :p

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Cool game, nice audio.

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:46pm

For the Compo too, gotta be my favourite game so far out of Jam and Compo - the audio flowed so well, and everything about it was really polished!

C63Industries says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:04pm

I really enjoyed the ideas behind the gameplay. What I didn't enjoy was respawning over an empty pit and instantly dying. I also didn't enjoy encountering dead ends. I think if these are fixed, you'll have a really fun little game.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:39pm

GAH! Make it stop! Make it stop! Where's the mute button! Sound quibbles aside, neat idea.

Valon says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:02am

Very fun. I liked it a lot.

taviandir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:08pm

@thenewphoenix: Thanks, mate!
@topaz: Wow, thanks for the amazing compliment! :o
@c63: Thanks. I agree the dead ends are a pain! time issues n all that. :D
@valon: Thank you!

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Interesting movement mechanic. Feels a bit like rogue like movement but with more real time pressure.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Since you can get yourself into a dead end, I don't know if I like the disappearing platforms. Music is very repetitive.

Looks good, and has some interesting pickups to look for, which makes the gameplay more interesting.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:16am

5 star audio, great music and funny sounds too. Great graphics, and great game! Good job.

dusho says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:40pm

really great game.. loved the art, loved the music and voices
had fun playing this..

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 12:35pm

I really liked this game, played it to completion, took a few tries, which is good you don't want it to be too easy. It's a fun little game and I enjoyed the humor elements and all the obstacles, it makes you think a bit. Also the game is pretty fair, if you die it's your own mistake. Kudos on that.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Very funny and quirky

baseteam says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Cool game^^

gana0 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice concept! I liked the audio clips that would play whenever something happened. The game itself, in my opinion, was very difficult. I would either run into an enemy or hop onto a negative stat effect before I could even react to seeing it. I feel like there should be a little more brightness initially to introduce you to the game before immediately jumping you into it. Nice concept, but very difficult to play.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]