Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Do You Want to Build a Snowman?

by Schwiggy - Compo Entry

Of course you do, unless you're harboring a fear of your immense snow-bending powers. The real question is CAN you? You'll be limited to one screen and limited resources. There is a hidden hat someeewheerrree.

Use your mouse in this physics sandbox which actually simulates the building process for a snowman. Unfortunately I haven't had time to detect how well you did, so that's up to you. However, to make up for this you can post your snowman in the comments and I will rate it on a scale of 0-10 or doge like remarks.

To restart you can press "R". I usually consider it when a snow centipede creature is staring back at me.

Made with GameMaker: Studio ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Humor3.52
#237Fun3.46
#400Graphics3.33
#446Mood3.05
#553Innovation3.13
#749Overall3.00
#784Theme3.42
#1896Coolness33%

Comments

SnoutUp says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19pm

That was really fun! Could've had more random and weird items to spice things up.

Also, I couldn't get eyes to their positions... Here's my lovely creation: http://i.imgur.com/tfIguTW.png

bofink says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:42pm

My creation looked like anything except a snowman :) Nice, clean design! I liked how the snowballs grew as you rolled them in the snow.

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Much eyes, so vision! Wow. Snow bug yum.

Translation: Ah yes, the solidity (in Box2D this is the sensor attribute of a fixture) of the buttons and carrot are supposed to change when clicked but for some reason it works on about 50% of them for me and 0% for you. Thanks a lot! Nice job on that large base snowball too.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Cute. Fun. Clever. Theme fail, but nice game anyway.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Simple but silly. I liked it.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Was fun, here is mine: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/60856620/Screenshot%202014-12-08%2021.05.39.png

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

What an excellent game!

I made a terrible job of making a snowman. He looked like the creature from the pit, but at least he stood upright.

My wife made a "Mum plays..." of this game: http://youtu.be/WHu4VKqlFcg

(and it was one of her favourites so far)

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54pm

@Absor, woah, 10/10 for the super smart snowman, I've never even managed such a big snowball myself. Must be because you're Finnish :P

@badlydrawnrod thank you both! I watched and clicked the thumbs up :P

Forge says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Nice unique game, realy fun if not frustrating to play!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:57pm

I had fun building a snowman, even if it looked nothing like one. Good job :)

Hammers says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Simple, nice idea done really well. I love the fact that you have to roll up the balls first :)

TheGreenTie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:31pm

It lives!
http://puu.sh/dqIyr/37f69e1b1b.jpg

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:55am

So much fun! I love sandbox stuff like this; dynamic environments can make for some satisfying and/or hilarious results.
Here's one of my creations, in two stages of life: imgur.com/bejEFuc

Schwiggy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Thank you all for the kind words, and screenshots :) I'm planning on doing a little collage for Instagram & Twitter with your creations. Also just "ported" the game to be mobile friendly. You can now open the web link on your tablet/smartphone/iPod and it will resize and re-orient for just about any case. I also fixed some bugs and replaced the particles from shape to sprite as that's a major mobility issue in GameMaker.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:34am

This was fun and cute, nice job!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:18am

Definitely a fun little toy box! The physics are pretty fun, and who doesn't love snowmen? One thing I noticed is that the hats appear to respond to physics impulses backwards when they're upside-down. i.e., pull up on the right side and the hat spins clockwise. Maybe I'm missing something though.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Very simple but fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]