Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Disco Kitty Nightmare

by Alendro - Jam Entry

A wonderfully insane play on a classic twin stick shooter with hardcore elements. The game is on the minimalist side with limited information. Information comes from trial runs rather than hand holding. The challenge of the game is just to survive as long as you can. Have fun! The game is fairly difficult.

How To Play
-Mines and Electricity Generators are dangerous and you should avoid them!
-Killing enemies gives you gold
-Use your gold to purchase Upgrades that will make you more powerful!
-Dance floors will heal you, slowly.
-Health packs will heal you, fast.
-Survive the nightmare as long as you can!!!


*Pro Tips*
-Use gold to buy upgrades as soon as possible.
-Don't rely on the dance floors to heal you back to full health. Use gold to buy Health Packs when you see them!
-Don't backpeddle! The fish are faster than you!!! (but everything has it's weakness)
-Your gold IS your score, so think twice when you want to purchase an upgrade late game.
-There are 4 weapon upgrades and 5 stat Upgrades. Try to purchase upgrades that will work well together.

Post your scores, any feedback, negative or positive. All are welcome!

If your up to the challenge, here is our high score.
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/09/disco-kitty-nightmare-post/

follow us on twitter! @DiscoKittyNight
Email us at discokittynightmare@gmail.com

Game created by Alejandro Remior and Max Leone

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#123Audio(Jam)3.66
#319Humor(Jam)2.95
#679Mood(Jam)2.80
#738Fun(Jam)2.73
#764Overall(Jam)2.89
#805Innovation(Jam)2.52
#855Graphics(Jam)2.46
#965Theme(Jam)2.56

Comments

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:27am

Hehe... digging the music and them. Nice work.

Rnd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:28am

nice job man.. but I think you need to rethinking the object. its a bit ambigous :-s

Topaz Studios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:31am

Really love that music hehe. Very CATchy ;)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:33am

surprisingly good. great music and mood. quite hardcore.

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:33am

nice job keeping to the theme! the music is jammin but the incentive to play is kinda lost.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:34am

Thanks for the feedback. The object is to survive the nightmare as long as you can. Try different strategies and see what works best. We want people to play a few times until they figure out the best combo for upgrades and weapon types. We plan on refining and polishing the game more in the next few weeks.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

Hah, that was a pretty funny game. Disco music was nice. I thought it was pretty difficult to tell what was going to hurt me and what wasn't.

The disco colors were great. We could all use a little more neon in our lives :)

Wampus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:37am

I love that the "quit" button doesn't work. I played about four billion times.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59am

Fun little game! Controlling the cat's movements feels a bit sluggish, though.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:06am

Appreciate the feedback everyone!

@andrewkennedy - Pretty much everything hurts you.
@Wampus - One cannot simply "Quit" a nightmare.
@WatercressStudios - Try buying the movement speed upgrades when you see them, they help. :)

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18am

Made me lol

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22am

Love the music!

C63Industries says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:16am

This game promises disco kitties, and it delivers.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:45am

Whoa this is difficult. The music and aesthetic fit together well though, I just never got very far to enjoy them further.

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:14pm

This is really fun! It's a little hard to see your shots when you are on dance floors though...

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Music is incredible :D

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:04pm

HUH. Mate.. Im feelin like a Disco Kitty.. XD nice/cute job! .. what cutejob.. ok.. XD check my projec too mate x)

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Thank you for all your feedback! For anyone who is up to the challenge try to beat our high score!

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/09/disco-kitty-nightmare-post/

Post your high scores and follow us on twitter! @DiscoKittyNight

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Haha, brilliant!

aare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Nice graphics, very stylish

dusho says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57pm

very nice music..
game really hard, also better feedback when loosing life would be nice

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:00pm

That music is fantastic!

twick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Awesome

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

We also made a Disco game, so I had to check yours out!

I'm generally bad at games like this, so I died a lot!

I love that the words were all obstacles. and the music is groovy!
-Kitty

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Bullets are nearly impossible to see and the controls are really floaty.

Shooting/hitting enemies feels really soft and unresponsive.

Rad music though.

hbocao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44pm

The music is really something haha
Good job!

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Sort of funny. Off-Theme, but that's alright. It would be better if it wasnt so hard right off the bat.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Awesome game :) love it

fil00dl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:18pm

very nice soundtrack!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Pretty funny.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:47am

I like meow-disco ! XD Just for that, you got a good rate ! :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:30am

Good Job but I had a hard time seeing just the eyes in the dark areas :) But the music and concept very good

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:58am

nice, very funny game :D love the audio

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:59am

Fantastic mood and music! The gameplay was kind of confusing and the menus are a bit unpolished but overall this is awesome

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

I liked the music, well done.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:36am

well done, establishing the game is in one screen, and the zooming in. 5 stars.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:41am

Excellent audio to my ears, fun game at the same time :)
The transition of going to the gameplay screen lags a litte for me though but the rest of it are smooth :D

Ossi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:48am

Cool disco theme with really good music! It was really challenging as you stated in your description. I found it difficult to purchase the right upgrades since the enemies are so relentless and there are obstacles randomly everywhere. I just ended up picking up the closest thing to me. Good job!

daviosmash says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24am

The music was fun. It was hard to tell what was dangerous, though.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:26am

Had a few problems with the cat rotating when my mouse was close, other than that good.

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:51am

Haha, I loved the mood, the music is really catching and I enjoyed the game, good job!

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:09am

Got 7750 after a few tries. Great music, liked the theme use!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:37am

Nice game, the music is quite funky haha!

spazzarama says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:06am

Liked it, even with my terrible dancing skills.

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:02am

Great dance music in the game. I dancing a little when playing it

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:51am

pretty funny, cool music too

raincole says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:58am

Ha, cool game. I like the disco music.
UI looks a bit crude, but it's okay.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:17am

I don't think limited information is a feature in a fast reaction, hardcore shooter. The game is hard enough as it is.

Really like the disco-cat theme and the music! :)

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice disco game :)

Alendro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! We really appreciate all your comments and were taking all of it into account. We definitely plan on polishing this game and releasing it at some point in the future.

Follow us on twitter @DiscoKittyNight to stay updated on everything Disco Kitty Related!

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:23pm

freakin crazy this game ;-)...love the music

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great music (yeah, I'm thinking of "Saturday Night Fever") and engaging gameplay :-)

Well done!

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Music is really good, but gameplay is lacking for me. I found it all very weird for the sake of being weird. Solid controls and shooting etc, but I don't have a desire to keep playing. Solid entry, but not for me. :)

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Cool music x3 I like that the fish are following the cat and not the other way round!!

It can be slightly confusing to know which are "good" or "bad" items.

atombrot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Fun game but I don't see the connection to the theme. It was somewhat hard at first but once you get used to the controls and the enemies it gets a bit easier.

realbogart says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Kick-ass soundtrack

Rupert says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Awesome music :)

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:06pm

I think it's a good interpretation of the theme + disco + kitty + shooter = strange but fun game. A little difficult to stay alive for long, but maybe I need more practice :)

Scam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Grooviest music I've encountered in this LD so far. :)

madlee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Fun and challenging! My main suggestion would be to have the 'replay' button on the game over screen immediately start a new game, and have the 'quit' button return to the main menu. Music is awesome! Good job!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:17pm

The music is good, but the gameplay could do with being a bit tighter. Also, putting it all on the player to figure out what is going on might not be the best strategy.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Played a few times and really enjoyed it even though I couldn't really figure out exactly how you upgrade. Wished it was a little more clear. The game's a little hard, I could never have time to heal as I had to keep moving and kiting the enemies.

I thought it was great that the fish were faster then you, but you could move to the side and they were not the best at turning.

I think the cat should of not been black, you completely disappear into the void of space XD

Great job guys!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Pretty interesting game.We like the music.The graphics are funny too, but you could made a larger disco floor.

SnowWars says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Quit does not work.

Mechamew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:22pm

This is awesome!

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Nice idea reminds me the 90s hehehe. congratulations on finishing LD

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:17am

I really, really like the disco. also nice job making a good game that follows the theme, and not like a game with a snowman :)

PapaCheech says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:54am

The music is great in this!

thiaguera says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:00am

Great music! But I had no idea of what was happening. I just kept moving an shooting until I died.

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:23am

Great entry, thanks for sharing this. I would add a crosshair, make it clearer how the gold mechanic works. Punishing, and thats good! Keep it up guys.

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:03am

The music was great.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:08am

Love the colours and the audio :D

Krz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:35am

Didn't really know what was going on most of the time. Also I'm not sure the screen moving around really counts as fitting on one screen, even if it did the whole zooming in thing at the start, just my opinion thought.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:26am

Aaaah I'm gone crazy :D This is cool.

yosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Wow that was so hard... but who cares cause' DISCO KITTY!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:17pm

wow that was a nice one. great job !

local minimum says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Great music! I liked the little cat too. Sometimes it felt as it had two heads when moving through the dark areas. I think those dark areas need to be much less dark so that you can see the area around you. Maybe have a light source over the cat or something.

The game was quite too hard for me, got to 1k as a record. So I think the mines and such were too many, at least in the beginning.

Never saw any recharge either, so I think the disco floors should recharge health much faster and as a counter effect they could themselves have a timeout so that they go dark after a while and you have to get to the next floor. That would also better justify the whole reason for moving around. Top that off with some killer cat dance moves if player stands still on a dance floor.

Difficulty can be successively increased with denser enemy spawns the longer the cat survives.

I think that could make for an interesting dynamics. Good start for a game though.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Well done :)

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:05am

Nice music ofc... pretty hilarious and odd.

The map / game world didnt really feel like it had any markers or ways to get a sense of where i was or what i was doing too much.

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:10am

Very good game, addictive music. Check my game too: President's bodygurad simulator.

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:58pm

gud music ..lol

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Great music! And visual is cool, good job =)

ceosol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I too think the music is amazing - obviously it is perfect for a disco kitty :)

I have absolutely no clue how to play. For me, only two direction keys seemed to work. I shot a bunch of guys and nobody seemed to die (except for me). That being said, I still really enjoyed this game... wait the music just changed while I was typing this... just awesome! :)

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Really enjoying the music selection. :D

Johnro says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:32am

Fun game! Not sure how it fits with the theme, though; the entire game isn't on one screen any more than any other scrolling shooter.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:11am

Interesting game! I feel like the cat has too much stuff coming at it on the first level, so it was a little challenging, but still fun!

brainstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:51am

Innovation n/a: The game isn't innovative.

Fun 3/5: Its too difficult.

Theme n/a: I can't find any useof the theme.

Graphics 4/5: Great disco colors.

Audio 5/5: Best aspect of the game!!!

Humor 5/5: A cat on a disco? REALLY??

Mood 5/5: FREAK OUT TIME, PEOPLE!!!

Overall 3/5: Not a bad game, but it needs to be easier.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:05am

The music is funny, and also the idea. When playing is quite difficult to understand the things you have to avoid and the objects you need to collect for upgrades, I think you should make that visually more clear.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:47pm

jeje, i had fun playing it ... i love the music and it is quiet playable ... it has all things needed to be a solid entry .... then, solid entry :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Disco Kitties? Mew've cat to be kitten me right meow.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:24am

Dah mew-sic is groovy, man. My kitty likes to dance.

drilltail says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:24am

I like that there's quite a variety in the songs. Fun game! Pretty difficult, and it's cool that you can aim for completely different upgrade paths in different play sessions.

I felt that speed upgrades were a bit too necessary though, and I never could figure out what exactly the "FPS" upgrade did.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Man I loved this very innovative and fun. Fits the theme very well. Didn't notice it after playing a while the whole game in the start screen haha :D. Good job.

Riocide says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:09am

wayyy too hard!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Not going to lie. As a logo designer I was expecting this game to be a train wreck based on that alone. Was pleasantly surprised. Fun game.

scias says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Damn, that's some groovy music, well done!
If you were to continue with the game I'd recommend that you up the graphics and take some time making the enemies behave differently. I'm all for this, so send me a message or something if you are gonna continue : )

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:10am

70s Disco-tastic!!!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:51am

Good music.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:47am

LOL ))

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Well, gotta say this is a pretty fun game! Nice mood and music, challenging but fun and last but not least: UPGRADES! gotta love upgrades.
Only minor critique: black cat on black background, little hard to see^^

mrhill says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:28pm

such sexy music, wow

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Odd little game, but I had fun with it. :) Love the disco tiles. The wobbly movements of the cat made me laugh. Good job!

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:29pm

good audio, very difficult game. good work!

gana0 says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Excellent music, keeps well with the disco theme. I also liked how the blocks changed color to the beat of the music; it was a nice touch. The cat was very hard to see against the black background, and it was hard to maneuver around obstacles while still shooting the enemies. I think I found items and health up, but for some reason couldn't use them. Some directions on this could have been more clear. All in all, loved the disco theme and music, but gameplay could have been tightened up to make a better overall experience.

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:01am

Very nice ;)

eskivor says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 10:05pm

A button to quit the game is useless for a web version of your game.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Very interesting take on the genre, and very challenging!

Dunric says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Great!!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Quite the confusing game, but I like the music! I Included it in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/hTIxzyGfxwg

Xanjos says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:51am

Pretty fun and addictive game plus I'm really digging the disco music (sometimes I like to move backwards and pretend the kitty is moonwalking :D).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]