Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Retro Mashup

by ajayajayaj - Jam Entry

When I saw the theme, I had no idea what to do. I saw the picture of pong on the tweet and thought of retro games. Started with snake and made it more and more complicated.

Instructions in game.

IF YOU HAVE ANY ERRORS, JUST USE DOWNLOAD VERSION. Caps so people notice.

Note: For people with security issues, on Java 8, applets are messed up. You will have to add https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com to your exception list (Found in the java config section) to get the applet to work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#245Humor(Jam)3.15
#408Fun(Jam)3.18
#432Innovation(Jam)3.14
#521Theme(Jam)3.54
#532Audio(Jam)2.61
#632Mood(Jam)2.87
#679Overall(Jam)3.00
#940Graphics(Jam)2.00

Comments

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:19am

Really fun and hard!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18pm

my java security blocked the game and I didnt know what to do

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I had alot of fun playing this, really cool mechanic with th pacman and the snake, i think you should develop that mechanic more, and make up some of your own characters

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I couldn't run it using Jar Launcher 14.9.0 on Mac (Mavericks). The music started but the screen was blank. I also tried running it from the command line with "java -jar" (java version 1.7.0_25), but I got the same result, as well as this stack trace:

Exception in thread "Thread-8" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Component must have a valid peer
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.createBuffers(Component.java:3982)
at java.awt.Component$FlipBufferStrategy.<init>(Component.java:3956)
at java.awt.Component$FlipSubRegionBufferStrategy.<init>(Component.java:4479)
at java.awt.Component.createBufferStrategy(Component.java:3833)
at java.awt.Canvas.createBufferStrategy(Canvas.java:194)
at java.awt.Component.createBufferStrategy(Component.java:3756)
at java.awt.Canvas.createBufferStrategy(Canvas.java:169)
at ajay.ld31.main.Screen.run(Screen.java:87)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:724)

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Awesome!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Graphics could be a tad better, but it's fun and quite hard at times.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Really crazy and difficult mashup. The music is too loud though.

Lovely programmer art, the "M" sure is for Masterpiece. (No offense :D) (If you don't get it, read the new LD FAQ)

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:14pm

For people with security issues, on Java 8, applets are messed up. You will have to add https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com to your exception list (Found in the java config section) to get the security to work.

@elemel I am not sure what happened. I have only tried this on Windows. This error has appeared for me before though when I had a ton of stuff open.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Wow, development must have escalated quickly :D I like the mashup but right now it's a bit hard; it's easy to get stuck in a group of enemies with no way out (that I can see.) Very ambitious project, I'd like to see it continued!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:04am

Haha, awesome idea. Love it!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:13am

The instructions o_O they were comical! The clashing information was really confusing at first, but it was pretty fun once I actually understood what to do. Sick graphics! Also, tune down the music!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

Pretty Neat

Conflei says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:32am

You are doing it hard way haha, buts ok, programmer art too.
Heads up, it's a funny game :)

eerongal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:00am

Becomes a bit of a cluster-f pretty quickly, but neat game

Zi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:20am

The web player gets blocked for me, and the download link gives an internal server error. =(

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:29pm

@Zi weird... Have you tried adding the exception for the java applet?

TriSquare says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:24am

The Instructions were really funny and made it a joy to learn ho to play this game. . . and i cant say that for most games :)

shotty456 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:17am

couldnt play, came up with an error.

Budaniel says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:07pm

could not play (error)

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:10am

If you can't play, try the download version.

rantt says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:08am

Liked the mashup concept. Fun game, nicely done :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:13pm

As others said, fun but hard game. Graphics are not "originals", but it works like that! I did a couple of tries, thanks for the experience :)

Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Really awesome idea! The graphics could be a bit better :D and the music was too loud, but the overall experience was amazing. You should really expand on this idea and make it a nice full game. 5 stars :)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:25pm

nice work

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]