Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Detective vs Killers

by tmpxyz - Jam Entry

Detective vs Killers is a logical game derived from the table game "Killers" with extra spice of "Minesweep".
You will play as the Detective, and your task is to find out the Killer hiding among the Citizens.

***Player Action***
0. Arrest: Arrest this guy, reduce credit if it turns out to be a Citizen;
1. Inquire: a citizen will mark possible cells if the killer is near him; Killer will not mark any cells;
2. Trace: Color a person, so you could still distinguish him in next turn;

***Rules***
1. The Citizen and Killer could move1-tile at Night;
2. The Killer kills after moves, and could only kill 1-tile nearby citizens, so check around the corpse closely.
3. The point is to deduce and guess where the killer is as soon as possible. Don’t need to be 100% sure to issue an arrest order.
4. You lose when your credit is not enough to issue arrest.



P.S.: Also try my current WIP project which is based on my LD #30 entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#97Innovation(Jam)3.81
#315Overall(Jam)3.42
#319Audio(Jam)3.18
#377Mood(Jam)3.21
#478Humor(Jam)2.63
#555Fun(Jam)2.98
#659Graphics(Jam)2.94
#711Theme(Jam)3.30

Comments

Wilson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I like the idea, but couldn't really get my head around how the inquiring worked, so it was a bit too difficult.

Esaucm98 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Very interesting game! The music and Sfx are very good, and the idea of the game is nice too, i found a little bit hard to arrest the killer after the population increases. Good game.

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I'm into the idea of this, gets quite hard though. As a concept, it's something to consider expanding on

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Hi @wilson,
A marked cell means where the killer *could* be.
If you inquire a killer, he will not mark any cell for you.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

I like the idea a lot, but I don't think it's balanced super-well. It gets quite confusing very quickly.

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38am

The game is very confusing.

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

Great!

silentsea says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

Impressive, the author must be handsome.

peculiarhu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01am

very interesting, the author must be a smart guy

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:50am

Unique concept! But a bit difficult and confusing

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08am

Amazing! Logic game. Good idea and easy to play.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:59pm

нравится идея! хорошая игра

RadStar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:36pm

really good game, but really difficult too... 3 actions per day, with so many options, it's barely impossible

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:40pm

I didn't get it at first, but it's a nice concept. =]

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Nice little game. I love logic puzzles. However I did not like that you always hat to wait so long and move so far to trigger the next action. It distracted me from my thinking process. It could have been nicer if you would have used the different mouse buttons for the three actions as a short cut. The dialog window for witnesses is also not really necessary.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:07pm

@RadStar: Hi, indeed if you observe it a little more closely, 3 actions are usually enough to make a guess, sometimes enough to 100% determine killer position =)

@gebirgsbaerbel: I agree that those elements could slower player a little, but without these things, there will be no mood and be just like minesweep. :)

Zi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:38am

This is a very innovative and well-designed game. It proved to be way too complex for me to handle personally, but that is not a flaw of the game, just me. Very impressive, congrats! =)

Zi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:41am

May I just say that this would make a FANTASTIC party board game. The real-time element just made it really difficult for someone like myself. Perhaps consider adding an "easy mode" which removes the time flow, and you just continue when you're ready.

jachepe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:06am

Very interesting idea :D

Backterria says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:09am

Nice game!Loved the music and sound effects!

marsermd says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:51pm

nice game! I love the mafia style puzzles.

ljdp says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:19pm

I really dig this idea, and can see potential to develop it further. I'd actually rather play are more logical minesweeper like game than it is now. At least this isn't as abstract as minesweeper and a lot more compelling.

If you were to continue working on this the difficulty needs work, also I wasn't sure if the killer murders and then moves or moves and then murders and the majority of citizens were not helpful. Really innovative entry though!

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:25pm

@ljdp, yeah, killers move first then kill, so they're guaranteed to position near the corpse. I'll update the rules description.

thristhart says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:44pm

In desperate need of a mute button!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice concept, I'll play this more

klianc09 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Woah, really love the concept. Although you praise it's logic aspect, there are many situations where it comes down to pure luck (and the penalty for guessing wrong is really high). And the short time-limit also feels extra stressing, especially in the later levels. And 3 actions I felt like are too few, the latter levels with 4 actions are a lot better.
The last level felt especially unfair, far too few lives with the murderers killing people every turn, while I can only watch. I only managed to beat it after lucking two fifty/fifty chance arrests.
The tracing mechanic is what makes this game really great. It gives it a lot more depth. It's just difficult keeping track of all the colors after tracing many people. Really wish I could sort the traced people into two categories: "possible murderers" and "clearly not murderers".
Also understanding the rules is vital to playing the game (especially rule 2), they should be better explained and maybe even visualized in-game.

But still, I really dig this game, and if you expand/improve/polish it a bit, I would really like to see more of it.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:47am

@klianc09, thanks for your valuable feedback,according to the feedbacks, I'll update the game to adjust the starting action from 3 to 4. And after player clearing the game, they could play hardcore mode with only 3 actions.

There're many expandable/improvable places, I'll see if I can make it more interesting later.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:01am

updated, available actions in one turn is adjusted from 3=>4, now it feels easier, I think;

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:52am

This a great game, very innovative, fun and atmospheric! I enjoyed it much.

dunin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:37am

cool. I love logic game. just one question: I always waited the first kill to start my search, is it the good way? (if yes, why don't start with a corpse somewhere...)

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:14am

@dunin, you have a good chance to find out the killer before any victim appears in small map, if you have good luck, you can catch it in the first or second turn. :)

lemmily says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 11:35am

Why is there a timer AND a cost for actions, I feel it should be one or the other. The cost is also not understandable, it says cost 2 for inquire, but the number goes down by 1! However I really like the idea, though it's a bit hard in its current state because you mostly get nothing from the inquiries in the second sized map, and with such limited actions eep!

t4u says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Like the idea but I dont understnad how to play in efficient way.

mortus says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:45pm

I've played until I've got killers moving 2 tiles and killing 2 tiles away and it was lots of fun. After that it became too random for me to enjoy. I was always feeling like I'm guessing though, but I was always right, so either I'm extremely lucky today, or I was choosing less randomly than I thought.

Anyway, fun game, will play it more later, the only complaint I have is that it's hard to tell that you have limited actions in the beginning, not sure if I've read about it anywhere in the game. I was thinking the timer is glitched and the night starts too early my first few turns, so I've had to restart the game and start playing properly from beginning.

FlipskiZ says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I really liked this! Everything is well done and polished. One of the few games I played to completion, good job!

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:20am

@lemmily Thanks for your feedback, though I don't find such situation of "1 for inquire"; the cost is mainly used to prevent people doing "crazy arrest test"; as for timer, 40sec is usually quite enough, it just keeps people from going absent minded.

@Flipskiz Thank you!

@mortus guessing is a valid strategy! As for the action counter, I should add some dynamic effect to make it more noticable.

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:46am

Yeah, reached 53 votes! Thank you all for that, people.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]